We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Looks good on the surface"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Bogart, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Looks good on the surface"”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked this hotel because of all the amenities that were offered. Indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, pillow top beds, arcade, buffet breakfast, etc, etc... While the hotel was very fresh and modern looking, looks can be deceiving. The hallways are very dark at the end of the corridors leading up to the elevators. Did I mention that you had to walk all the way to the end of the hallway for an elevator because the one in the middle was out of order. We were mistakenly put in a smoking room to start with and it reeked of cigarettes and cheap deodorizor. After some grumbling with the front desk, they finally put us in another room. Beds were comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: If you book a standard room, make sure you specify NON SMOKING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    182
    101
    36
    21
See reviews for
178
153
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I definitely rely on the reviews of others when chosing a hotel, but I am extremely confused as to how this hotel has a high overall rating. Here are the highlights:
1. Arrived at hotel and waited over 15 minutes to be checked in.
2. Main elevator broken, other two slow (walked the stairs most of the time)
3. Placed in a smoking room (booked through Priceline) on the 6th floor. The room smelled overwhemingly like smoke. It was clean though, which saved this from being a "Terrible" review.
4. Hotel situated in a not-great area of town
5. When checking out, had to finally grabbed a waiter from the restaurant to retrieve a front desk worker. When she finally appeared, she was talking on her cellphone.
6. And last but not least, another patron in the hotel informed me that a portion of the ceiling FELL ON HIS FRIEND'S HEAD WHILE SWIMMING IN THE POOL. Yikes.

I stayed here for two nights and dreaded going back to the hotel each night. It is worth the extra money to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: All sixth floor rooms are smoking. Some inward facing rooms have balconies overlooking the lobby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Picked out this Holiday Inn online for a night's stay on the way to the NC shore not knowing what we would find. We were very pleased with the property, the room and the restaurant. Eating on the road is always spotty at best. We were pleased with the simple but good selection available in the restaurant. The room was completely redone and very clean, great internet, good breakfast buffet, and an excellent value.. Staff were excellent and helpful. I recommend this property to those looking for a good value hotel in the Asheville, NC area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, FL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Wonderful location on the top of the hill. Beautiful lobby and very clean room. Hot breakfast buffet was a bargain, especially for kids under 12. The kids were amazed by the indoor/outdoor pool. Very close to many restaurants and the Biltmore. A high-end hotel for a budget price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We've stayed here the past 3 times we've been to Asheville, but this time was terrible. The hotel, which looks fairly new on the outside, seems to have gone downhill quickly from our last visit. The lights in the room flickered & buzzed, the curtains had some rips, & worst of all, our room reeked of what to me smelled zoo-like, or really bad B.O. We called the front desk to complain & were told all the rooms were full so they couldn't move us but would send someone up with a deodorizing spray. The guy that brought that to us suggested spraying the curtains & bed skirts, but all it really did was make it smell like we had sprayed deodorant all over a stinky room. Unfortunately we got to our room pretty late (after a concert in Asheville), and it was too late to really move to another hotel since we were leaving in the morning anyway. The bedding was not too comfortable & the whole room just seemed dirty. Don't think we'll be staying here next time we come to Asheville. The location isn't that great & the only reason we had been staying there was because Holiday Inns are usually consistent & comfortable. If they take that away there is no reason to stay here at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogueit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West on a trip to visit Biltmore Estates. We were looking for a cost effective option with an indoor & outdoor pool and didn't mind the 10 minute drive to Biltmore. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The door and entry area within our room were a bit banged up and in need of some paint, but both the room itself and bathroom were clean, nicely updated, and nicely appointed. The a/c unit was a bit on the noisy side, but luckily it didn't come on that often. Despite reviews from others regarding noise from the pool, we heard very little - almost none - from our 4th floor interior lobby view room. We ate twice at the breakfast buffet which was reasonably priced and had your standard breakfast buffet foods - let's just say we got our money's worth. Additionally, a Shoney's and McDonald's are next door within walking distance. Our only disappointments to note were 1) lumpy pillows and 2) each day we were short a towel and had to retrieve one from the front desk. Overall it was a good hotel at a good price within a short drive to Biltmore. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit Grandfather Mountain about 70 miles NE of Asheville
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doin_a_travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I made reservations for 2 nights while visiting the Biltmore. The internet was spotty at best, and finally failed completely. Front desk was no help and advised calling the provider, which only gave voicemail message stating to call back again during the day. The fan on the AC is SOOOOO loud one can't hear anything below a shout, so conversing normally was hard. Sleeping? Unless you're deaf, it's really hard. When you finally get to sleep, you'll find that the sheets come off the corners of the bed and wrap around you since they're too shallow to fit properly. Front desk's comment--"The manager is aware of the problem". I canceled the next night, insisted on an adjustment and got an insulting 10%. Bear in mind they charge according to occupancy. Does McDonald's charge more when the line is longer? I left and drove 1 mile to the Country Inns Carlson on Haywood Road and had a great second nite's stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dencat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear dencat59,

Thank you for your candid review about our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the problems with the internet service as well as the air conditioning in your room. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. I am also pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing renovations and this is of course to ensure our facilities and service are superior.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Asheville.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
305 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
942 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West

Property: Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Address: 435 Smokey Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Mountains at Our Asheville, NC Hotel Come stay at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West and rediscover yourself in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel in Asheville is a place of relaxation and rejuvenation near the popular downtown area and just 11 miles from the Asheville Regional Airport (AVL). While lodging in Asheville, hotel guests will find many attractions nearby, such as the lovely Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum and the arts district of downtown Asheville. Our hotel is also located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Chimney Rock State Park, so you can experience the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains and discover waterfalls, hiking trails and rustic stops beyond the city limits of Asheville. Lodging in our hotel also provides business travelers with an ideal location near Thermo Fisher Scientific, First Step Farms, Slosman Corporation and other businesses in Asheville. Our accommodations offer over 4,700 square feet of flexible meeting space and a convenient on-site business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer premium services like guaranteed wake-up calls, a breakfast bar, a fitness center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can take a dip in our heated, indoor/outdoor pool and unwind with dinner and drinks at 435 Grill. We invite you to discover exceptional comfort at the Holiday Inn Hotel Asheville - Biltmore West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West Hotel Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing