We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biltmore Village Location Not for Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

After researching many Asheville properties both downtown and in the Biltmore Village area, we chose this hotel based on the overall price and positive reviews. It was easy to find, conveniently located near the interstate and within walking distance of Biltmore Village. The check-in staff was friendly and welcoming. We found our room easily. The room itself was a fourth floor executive tower king room with a balcony. The view overlooked the back of the property, which included the back parking lot and a very lush wooded setting. Not the greatest, but not the worst either! Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed, but a teeny tiny closet. The furnishings seemed in good repair. There was a microwave and coffee maker, and an empty space where a refrigerator might have sat at one point or another. We had some issues getting the television to work properly, but we were able to get it to operate by choosing a different input on the TV itself. The AC unit was also a little loud when it came on as noted by previous reviewers too. The bathroom was a good size with a generous walk-in shower but poor lighting, in my opinion. Most hotel rooms have pretty awful lighting these days though. We did not take advantage of the amenities like the pool, fitness center or breakfast. Overall, our stay was fine - quiet and comfortable, but not especially remarkable. If you travel with pets, this is a good option and a nice balance between the super pricey, but more chic and elegant properties in town, and the budget travel motels. It was clean and familiar.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again - that choice isn't really because of the hotel itself, but we found the rates to be rather high for what it was, and the Village location was kinda underwhelming - the Biltmore Village is mostly chain stores I can find at home and very few restaurants. It also turns into a ghost town after 6 pm. We found downtown Asheville to be better suited to our travel style with a vibrant, lively downtown scene, tons of restaurants and lots of friendly people milling around.

Room Tip: Executive Tower rooms facing the back of the property are quiet with wooded views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank blondeinabmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Blondeinabmw -

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. It was nice to see that you found your accommodations comfortable. Our guests remark that our DoubleTree is befitting of the overall Asheville experience since we provide a unique hotel environment in close proximity to Biltmore Estate and Biltmore Village. As each of our visitors gets to know Asheville, we realize that they all gravitate to their favorite parts of our city.

I will make a note about the missing refrigerator to our management team. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again the next time you travel to Asheville, NC.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Based on our stay I don't consider this hotel a value and can't say I'd recommend staying here. I wish there was a 2.5 rating because that is what I would give this property. On the service end, if it wasn't for our experience with the excellent staff serving breakfast, I'd give the service rating a solid 1.5.

I should have spend the extra money to stay at "The Inn at the Biltmore Estate".

Positives
Clean Living Area and Breakfast Staff

Negatives
Room Layout - The room is somewhat cramped. For example, good luck trying to maneuver the luggage cart into the room while bringing in small children. A second example is the bathroom. While the bathroom is somewhat clean the bathroom door nearly hits the toilet seat as it travels across it's arc.
Dirty Bathrooms - While the bathroom in our room was functionally clean, the vanity is a piece of furniture with areas for dirt and grime to collect. There is no way you can clean that piece effectively as quickly as they need to turn those rooms. Bad choice of decor there. The lobby area men's room was filthly at 11 AM! Disgraceful.
Service - The night we checked in my wife asked the front desk attendant if breakfast was included. She asked her about our membership level. She remarked "Oh, you're only a Blue. Breakfast is not included." So sorry for being the equivalent of a serf in your customer loyalty program lady. Maybe that is why we are still a Blue with you? On top of that, I saw a bald headed man who worked there berating younger staff. No guest wants or needs to see you trying to make yourself seem more important than you really are buddy.
Breakfast Serving Area - This facility is a catacomb. The breakfast serving area is all the way in the back of the hotel. You may possibly need a map or GPS to navigate getting there.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EagleDad70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear EagleDad70 -

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. I'm sorry that you experienced a less than satisfactory experience with the guest room cleanliness and service at the Front Desk.

I have forwarded your feedback to our management staff. They will use this information to train the individuals that were part of this negative experience to be certain these items are corrected for our future guests, which we hope will include you.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

this hotel was so wonderful. The food was great the pool was so relaxing with the whirlpool. Also i could not believe it one of the people on the waiter staff named Wendy waited on us and she was a wonderful nice person and was great at her job.

Room Tip: get the dream it gives you free breakfast for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Maddie 101 -

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. It was nice to see that you found your accommodations comfortable, and our hotel in a great location in Biltmore Village. I will be sure to notify our management of Wendy's excellence in the food service area.

Our staff prides itself on congeniality and the cleanliness of our hotel, and we are glad you got to enjoy that aspect of our guest service. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon the next time you travel to Asheville, NC.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is welcoming, efficient, and very close to Biltmore attractions. Beds are quite comfortable, and decor is pleasant. Our room was quiet and restful. Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful and tried to meet our needs. We appreciated the large closet and in-room safe. The flat screen TV did not offer a good picture, and there was no mini-fridge in the room. The bathroom was spotless and well-equipped, but it was so small, only one person could be in there at a time. There is no fee to park in the large parking garage. Our only real complaint other than the tiny bathroom is that this hotel allows pets in the rooms. My back was covered with cat hair after I sat in the upholstered chair, and my eyes were itchy and red the next morning. The front desk offered to move my room, though, and sent housekeeping to clean. The warm cookies or apples upon check-in are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for pet-free room if you are allergic to cats or dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indians65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Margaret P -

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. It was nice to see that you found your accommodations comfortable, and our hotel in a great location in Biltmore Village. I will pass on the information on the TV to our Engineering team to address.

Our staff prides itself on congeniality and the cleanliness of our hotel, and we are glad you got to enjoy that aspect of our guest service. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon the next time you travel to Asheville, NC.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I unfortunately ran into a couple booking related issues during my recent visit. The premium room I booked for 4 nights was not available the night I checked in because they had overbooked the premium rooms. I was downgraded rather than upgraded for my first night and then moved to the premium room for the remainder of my stay. The person who checked me in was very apologetic and promised to reduce my rate for the first night by $50. Then when I received my bill, the $50 discount was not shown AND the nightly rate for the entire stay was $10 higher per night than what I was quoted when I booked the room. The bill was corrected and they were again apologetic, but dealing with errors like this during a relaxing vacation is frustrating.
I ordered room service twice during our stay. Breakfast room service was perfect and right on time. However, the BLT & fries I ordered the night I checked in was delivered cold and was rather unappetizing.
Even with these slips in service, I would still stay at this hotel again. The location is great for Biltmore visits and is within a short drive to lots of great restaurants and wine bars. The hotel is very easy to get to from the highway. The hotel was clean and very nice. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and updated. The standard king room I stayed in my first night was a bit small, but the premium king room with the balcony was fantastic and definitely worth the upgraded price.

Room Tip: The premium room with the balcony is worth the higher rate for the extra space in the room as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Holly J -

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. It was nice to see that you found your accommodations comfortable, and our hotel in a great location in Biltmore Village. I'm glad that your billing was corrected since we want your stay to always be a relaxing one. I'm glad that you enjoyed breakfast, and I will make sure that evening room service maintains the appropriate temperature for your food in the future.

Our staff prides itself on congeniality and the cleanliness of our hotel, and we are glad you got to enjoy that aspect of our guest service. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon the next time you travel to Asheville, NC.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you plan to visit the Biltmore Estate, then this is a great hotel to stay in. It is also an easy drive to downtown Asheville and the River Arts District.

Rooms are standard Doubletree. Great beds, small bathrooms.

Make sure you take advantage of the courtyard. It's filled with wonderful plants and flowers and is a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee. I mention the coffee because instead of having a hotel restaurant, there is a TGI Friday's where the hotel restaurant should be.

At breakfast, there is a small room that has a buffet. It was good and if it gets crowded, there is outdoor seating, too.

One small complaint...the elevators. This is a 5 story property, but the elevators are single ones placed at opposite ends of the sections of the hotels. We decided we'd walk down and ride up.

So, there you have it. It's the nicest of the chains in this part of town, parking is free, and Biltmore village is just steps away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DanCohen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Dan Cohen55 -

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. It was nice to see that you found your accommodations comfortable, and our hotel in a great location in Biltmore Village.

Our staff prides itself on congeniality and the cleanliness of our hotel, and we are glad you got to enjoy that aspect of our guest service. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon the next time you travel to Asheville, NC.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The grounds were beautiful, rooms were comfortable, and the staff was very nice. The location of the ice machines was inconvenient and should have on each floor. Food for breakfast was good and the definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Deanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Deannne O-

We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at our DoubleTree Asheville during your recent stay to our area. I'm sorry that there was not a convenient ice machine near your guest room. I will forward this information to our management team for review.

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon the next time you travel to Asheville, NC.

Sincerely,

Herb R Arnold
Director of Sales
DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,241 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville Biltmore Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville

Address: 115 Hendersonville Road, Asheville, NC 28803-2868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $117 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville-Biltmore, an Asheville-based Biltmore Farms Hotels property, is a full-service hotel located one block from The Biltmore Estate and within walking distance of the historic Biltmore Village’s quaint shopping and restaurant district. This newly renovated 197-room hotel offers guests a distinctive upscale ambience in a relaxing atmosphere, and a complimentary warm fresh-baked DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. The DoubleTree’s recently completed renovations include improvements to its Cecil Wing Guest Rooms, lobby, public and meeting space, as well as the additions of a state-of-the-art e-Lounge Business Center and Market Place. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet, an ultra-modern fitness facility and more. Our in-house DoubleTree Catering offers a variety of culinary and event options, ranging from small corporate meetings to full-scale weddings. The DoubleTree by Hilton Asheville Biltmore is a drop-off and pick up point for the Historic Asheville Trolley Tours and is only minutes from downtown Asheville, major interstates, the Blue Ridge Parkway and Asheville airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore Asheville
Doubletree Asheville
Asheville Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing