We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just passing through-ok, if long stay- keep looking”
Review of Motel 6 Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Asheville
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed June 14, 2009

very courteous staff, no real problems with the room or accomodations, however, if was old and just plain funky. stayed 5 days with another friend and we both had a lot of respiratory problems. i wonder if there was a mold problem?? the first night, it was obvious our roomed had been tidied but not really cleaned. we left a note for housekeeping and the issues were addressed. however, the rest of the stay, we had spotty housekeeping servic, at best. most days we just received clean towels--no one emptied the trash or made the beds. the motel is not really close to anything. there are a few other hotel/motels located nearby and a grocery store up the way, but you are not within walking distance of anything. asheville is an somewhat small town, so it is easy to navigate, but you have to drive everywhere if you stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulip-reba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 166 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stay in many Motel 6 properties so I can compare good and bad from the same franchise. This is not one of the better ones.

As soon as I walked into the room I smelled something musty, either old cigarette smoke or mold/mildew. Since the windows can't be opened, I figured it was mold/mildew from running the A/C unit and not giving the room time to air out. I stopped noticing it after about 10 minutes. It was late and I was tired, otherwise I might have asked for a different room that didn't smell.

The rooms seemed clean, although dingy. I found an old sock on the carpet that the housekeeping staff had missed. It was a dark color and the carpet was dark, but still, how do you miss something like that? I hope it was just there from the last guest and not there for a long time.

I usually have no problems with the beds in a Motel 6 property. These beds felt pretty firm and not very comfortable.

Finally, the wireless wasn't working when I stayed there. When I reported it the next morning the clerk just kind of shrugged his shoulders and said "yea, it hasn't been working for a few days". It would have been nice to post a sign telling guests that the wireless was not available. Seeing as it's one of Motel 6's selling points, it seems reasonable.

This property is just too far below the standard of a typical Motel 6 property. I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We are here as part of our vacation in the South. When we got to our room (114) tonight, we were dismayed at how run down it is. The bathroom door does not latch, the tub is stained, the sink has a very 3rd rate caulk job, the beds were covered in hair, and the linoleum is bubbled up. I had to request new sheets for the very uncomfortable bed. I will never stay here again.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Im_Eruditer_Than_You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Stayed at this Motel 6 for the Bristol Race. At check in there was a nice front desk clerk who was nice enough to assign me a room in an area where I could park a 24 passenger bus. Got a non smoking room with a light whiff of cigs. I got out the citrus air freshner and it worked.
Air Conditioner in my room was okay at night and so so during the day.
Hot water was quick to come on.
This hotel has no fridge or microwave in room. Microwave is available next to front desk that you can use.
Note that this property is animal friendly. If you are allergic to animals, stay elsewhere.
There is a Waffle House across the street. Not bad at all. No sidewalks in that area. Also, there is a bus stop where you can get to downtown Asheville across the street from Motel.
The mattresses could use a replacement. I was in a room with 2 Queen beds and one of them was shot. Luckily the other one was no problem. Might want to get room with 2 beds in case one of them is shot.
The TV has very few channels. Would like to see this property get local weather channel, PBS station and local independent TV stations. Good thing there is HBO, Discovery, TLC, CNN ESPN etc. etc. Have to agree with another reviewer about tv volumes being hard to get in the middle.

Overall this is a conveniently located property off of I 40 with EZ access and good for a quick overnight with a pet. Just understand Motel 6 is a bare bones Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I usually keep my expectations low when staying at a budget motel. All I needed for that particular evening was simply a place to sleep for about 7 hours, and nothing more. This motel did not meet my needs.

Everything about this room was simply uncomfortable! I didn't realize how little things mattered so much until they weren't there:
- I had no bedside table or lamp, and had to keep reaching down to the floor for my glasses or drink.
- The mattress was so hard, it was miserable.
- The room came with only 2 very flat pillows.
- Paper-thin walls. I could hear one neighbor's TV and another neighbor's snoring. The next morning I was awakened at 6:30 am by 2 women outside engrossed in a conversation about their relationship troubles. I assumed these women were sitting directly outside our door until I looked out the window and saw that they were 4 rooms down!
- The volume control on the TV offered two choices: loud, or too quiet to hear. Nothing in between. Watching TV while someone else is trying to sleep was not an option.

The only good thing I can say about this motel is that it was clean.

There are bound to be better options for the budget traveler in Asheville. Skip the Motel 6!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dpladyreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I am normally a laid-back person and don't complain much about anything. But.... let me say this. Avoid Motel 6 in Asheville, NC, at all cost. If you have to, then, bring your own mattress pad... preferably, a memory foam pad or something.

Here's why.
At first glance, the room looked OK. A typical budget motel with a good-size TV, a small bathtub, and a bit of cigarette smell (though it was a non-smoking room.) The front staffers were all pleasant .

The railroad is close by so you have to put up with occasional big noises. But not a big deal.

I really thought I save a lot of money by staying at Motel 6 and I was happy about it until...

Until I went to bed. I was unable to sleep and just tossed around in bed all night. My back started to hurt b/c of the mattress was too "metallic."

Oh, yes, the mattress. The metallic coils/springs directly hits your back. That mattress in my room (I don't want to identify the room number) should have gone about 5-10 years ago. It's already dead. It sags and no matter how you try to avoid, you are practically lying on the metallic coils/springs. The mattress pad is about one tenth of an inch and it does not alleviate your back pains. That mattress looked at least 15 years old. I folded the bedspread several times and put it under my back. Still hard to sleep.

I strongly recommend the Motel 6 staffer to try that bed. I don't think anybody can have a good night sleep.

The next morning, I checked out a day earlier than scheduled and went to Red Rood Inn. I had a great sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mariaorohctga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights and saved so much money. We went to a concert at Grove Park. We spent the day at Chimney Rock Mountain. Everything was extremely close. Walmart was but 5 minutes away. They did not have wireless internet but it was in the works. Great place for the price. Great staff. SUPER CLEAN! Built much like the Motel 6 in Bloomington, IN. Really neat!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jms2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#40 of 66 in Asheville
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#50 of 66 in Asheville
1,191 reviews
3.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
2.7 mi away
Ramada Asheville Southeast
Ramada Asheville Southeast
#56 of 66 in Asheville
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Asheville

Address: 1415 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-2803
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Asheville 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is conveniently located off of I-40 in the Smokey Mountains of East Ashville. This location is 5 minutes from the beautiful Biltmore. WiFi available in all modern rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Asheville Hotel Asheville
Motel Six Asheville
Asheville Motel Six
Asheville Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing