We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a show”

Mikado Japanese Steak House
Ranked #465 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not much of a show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We took our kids there for the typical hibachi show. Let's just say the show was less than par. My kids still thought it was neat, but they don't have any prior experiences to compare it to. The staff was very friendly, and it was more than enough food. After the chef left, My husband and I both made the comment that the grill was too hot. My medium rare steak had no pink center at all. It was still good just not how I prefer it. My kids didn't eat some of the veggies either, commenting that they were overcooked.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmcclure08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cheap Japanese-American Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just finished lunch takeout. What can I say about cheap Japanese food except that I wish they would raise their prices and improve the quality. I would compare this to the Chinese to-go places, you know the ones with the stock photos above the counter? If you're satsified with that kind of thing, you'll be just fine here. By the way, I asked for no mushrooms, it was written on the package lid, take a guess on the first ingredient I saw when I opened the styrofoam container... With this kind of food, you just pick through it and accept the waste of calories.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst japanese habatchi ever!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

House salad dressing was good. Good soup. Gross rice. Soggy zucchini and piece of black grill scrapings in my plate of filet :(
Worst part is they said only 1 cook tonight so we didn't see them cool in front of us. Mushrooms undercooked. Steak overlooked. Honestly didn't look like it was all cooked at same time. Very disappointing. Also they brought wrong bottle of beer and messed up one of the 4 dinner plates. Walked out fast and bloated feeling although I ate very little.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TtavelingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
257 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The lunch specials were reasonably priced, and plenty of delicious food, prepared Japanese style. The wait staff was friendly and efficient.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese to go - in a blizzard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Very few places were open due to heavy snow, so I chose Mikado because the lights were on. I was very satisfied. The food and service were great. It's a simple place with friendly staff and tasty food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado Japanese Steak House also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mikado Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing