We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Motel, Rooms Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good value for what we paid ($60 on Expedia). Motel design with all rooms opening to exterior. We had 2 rooms and found them nicer than expected for the price and exterior apperance of property. Microwave and fridge were bonus. Location was fully booked (mostly families) so breakfast was extremely crowded but good. Don't plan on getting a workout in the fitness room - it was a joke. Good access to I-40. Would stay there again, but remember it is nothing fancy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 545 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I took several students to Asheville to see the town and play in the snow for the first time and needless to say this was the worste experience I have ever had with a hotel room. We contacted the hotel about coming in a couple of hours early and that we would pay for our stay they said it wouldn't be a problem. What they did do is charge us a different amount without telling us. When asked they said we book the room on line and they were not going to give us that price. Needless to say their were bugs in our room, doors did not close all they way, and one of the student's got their brand new galaxy three phone stolen from their bag. Police were notified and hotel incident report done. When asked what the next step was the Manager (Sherrie) informed me nothing. She stated that she has worked with her staff for several years and that they did not take anything.

I would say stay away from this place and if this is the kind of hotel with the Choice name then my family and the clients I serve will also stay away.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothappywithchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although the title of this property leads you to image a very different type of hotel, it is in fact an updated motel property with almost all room doors opening to the elements. Makes for close parking for those on the first floor who park before the lot fills. We have stayed at this property twice in the past six months in one of the suites each time. The suites have been reasonably priced, very clean, with excellent bedding and we did not experience any issues with the roos whatsoever. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was above average, however with the exterior walk to get to the breakfast, the potential for slick spots on the walkways could be an issue in the early hours of the day.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Psrman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Upon check-in, I inquired about upgrading to a suite. The man (name withheld) working the desk cut me off in a very dismissive way and told me all suites were booked. I asked if it was just for the night and he replied "all weekend" - this was a Wednesday!

I went back to my room and checked the choicehotels.com site and it showed multiple suites available for our 3-night stay. Just in case this was a glitch, I called the main reservation line and they also showed there were multiple suites available. This really bothered me that I had been dismissed by the front desk clerk so I called customer relations. Elizabeth was patient and understanding and also showed multiple suites available, so she called the hotel and asked for a manager. The guy who checked us in was the only person there and he did admit that there were suites available and tried to cover his butt by saying that he thought I was only interested in a specific suite. (Maybe if he hadn't been so quick to dismiss me he might have understood my request!) It was suggested that I speak with the GM in the morning. We went to see the GM about 11:30 am the next day and were told she had already left for the day.

In the meantime, I discovered the following problems:
**the chair at the desk was covered in some oily residue and a rip in the seat
**a cigarette burn hole in the bedding of this "non-smoking" room
**the bed skirt was askew and dirty
**the shower head holder was broken and very leaky - spraying water in every direction
**found a large bug crawling down the wall in the bathroom

**photos showing these issues will be uploaded if possible.

The next day of our stay, I was able to catch the manager as she was leaving for the day at 10:20 AM. (Said she was on vacation, but shouldn't there ALWAYS BE at least a shift manager on duty?). I shared with her the experience we had at check-in and at first she seemed somewhat argumentative and told me all suites had been booked for some time. I then showed her the screen shots from my phone and offered to play the recording of my conversation that confirmed they had unreserved suites at the time I had tried to upgrade. I should also say I was totally wiling to PAY FOR THE UPGRADE and it wasn't as if I was looking for anything for free. She ended up checking to see if they could move us for our last night, but had nothing available. She did however adjust our total bill by 15% and said she would speak with the man who had been so rude. All things considered, I don't think we'll be returning to this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoINtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Well, if you don't mind a 10 minute drive, which can be frustrating when navigating the number of highways, freeways, and interchanges that clog the Asheville area. Overall, for the money this was a pretty nice place to spend a few nights while visiting Biltmore and the city.

The breakfast was average though it can get crowded quickly. There are shops nearby if you need supplies including a nice looking bakery/cafe named Filo. If you're looking to dine near the hotel, there are a couple of chain restaurants and some local Tex-Mex looking places. An extra bonus is the local arts guild museum/gallery about four minutes away off the Blue Ridge Parkway near the hotel. Nice way to spend an hour or so before other things open up.

The room was mostly comfortable; we arrived on a Thursday night and it was very peaceful. Saturday night though we heard people outside yelling at their kids, or walking around in the rooms above ours. Sunday morning I heard people coughing and hacking.

Bed was clean; the room smelled clean; the bathroom fixtures were a little worn, but overall acceptable.

The check-in was easy though the agent didn't realize the room was pre-paid and it required providing my printed confirmation to avoid having to hand my card over. Check-out was over in 60 seconds.

If being removed from the center of downtown doesn't bother you, for the money this is a very good place to stay when in Asheville.

Room Tip: There are two buildings; make sure you ask the clerk to advise which building you're in to save...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleGroucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a surprise, we did not plan to stay but it was late, we found a coupon and was a little afraid to use it, but the room and service was great we even upgraded for a fee but it was worth it. The only draw back would be the breakfast, but I don't eat breakfast. :-)

Room Tip: They will let you see the room before checking in.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bavassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We showed up to check in at about 10 pm. There are a couple of buildings and the way they are numbered is very confusing. Once we found our room we barely managed to park in a very tight space and lumbered up to the second floor with our luggage. Once there we saw that our room was totally trashed with empty beer bottles and crap everywhere. There was an indian guy cleaning rooms a few doors down and we tried to tell him, but he was just a jerk or just didn't understand our frustration. Then a young guy showed up and offered to clean the dirty room while we stood in the cold. We declined and so he offered us the room the indian guy was cleaning. We accepted but ONLY because all of Asheville seemed booked up at the time. The room wasn't terrible and the sink and mirror we're actually in the bathroom, which I consider an accomplishment for most hotels. The young guy was helpful and very apologetic- not his fault and he did as he had to. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again because of the layout and the issue we had on a one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EldaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
2.9 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
956 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
314 reviews
9.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East

Address: 1430 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-2802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#21 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $71 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East Hotel Asheville
Quality Inn And Suites Biltmore East
Quality Inn Biltmore East
Quality Inn Asheville
Asheville Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing