We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Angier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for the money!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here to tour the Biltmore and to get down town. The location is perfect because you have the mall (which we did not go to) less than a mile, down town is a straight shot and conveniently located to any restaurant you will want. The staff was extremely friendly and I was impressed with the breakfast crew. They keep the area clean and are SUPER friendly! Our room was right at the main corridor and all traffic had to go by it to get to their rooms and it was very quiet! I was concerned about that, but no problems at all! This was my first, but not last time in a Country Inn!

Room Tip: They all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello valued guest!

Thanks for the great comments about our hotel and staff! We do strive for extra friendly service in a very clean environment, so I am glad we met the mark for you. I am also so pleased with your feedback about the noise levels on the first floor. One would expect to be disturbed as other guests pass by, so I am thrilled that you did not notice anything! I am glad you decided to give our brand a try and have decided to continue with our brand in the future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    412
    96
    28
    17
See reviews for
453
479
47
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

No complaints at all. Kids enjoyed the pool and breakfast, beds were comfortable, and it was convenient to restaurants and Interstate. Hotel was booked full, so others had the same good idea! We stayed two nights and were glad we chose this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank KellyH025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello and many thanks!

It is always such a pleasure to read a review that states "no complaints!". I am happy we met and exceeded your expectations with our convenience and comfort. I hope you will continue to choose Country Inns and Suites whenever you travel! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was a convenient location to Biltmore (3mi) and to downtown. It was clean and quiet with comfortable beds. great indoor pool and hot tub. We had a king studio that was quite spacious. My only concern was that guests smoked right at the front entrance so we had to enter thru the smoke.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello and thank you for the feedback !

We do appreciate you taking time to give us your thoughts about your recent stay with us here at Country Inn and Suites Downtown Asheville. I am so pleased you enjoyed the convenient, quiet and clean aspects of our property. I am also pleased you found the room to be spacious and the pool enjoyable. I am sorry that you had to walk thru a cloud of smoke to access the lobby. North Carolina law specifies smokers must be 10-15 feet from the building. I am not sure we can go much further with prohibiting that activity. We will try to continue to encourage folks to use our smokers patio on the side of the building.

Thanks again, and please return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

You could easily drive past this hotel and that would be a mistake. Situated well back from Tunnel Road (so there is zero traffic noise) the property offers extremely comfortable suites, great facilities, friendly staff and is well situated close to the downtown area by a short drive. It's the ideal place to base yourself for all the surrounding Asheville and mountain attractions.

I came for one night and stayed for four. I think that says it all.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilHume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello valued guest!

Thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you for pointing out how quiet our location is .We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Please stay in Country Inns wherever your travels take you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you're looking for a great hotel, very clean, quiet, and comfortable, and do not want to get ripped off by the "better location" hotels in town, then this is the place to stay.
Very reasonable price, 5-10 min ride to town ($8 cab ride), and nice staff.
Just doesn't make sense to us to pay an add'l $400 for 2 nights in similar hotel right in downtown Asheville.

Room Tip: higher room away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWCCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello and many thanks!

We appreciate your nice comments about our property. We are so glad you found out that you can get a clean,quiet comfy room, covenient to everything for a great price! Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I ended up staying at the Country Inn and Suites in Asheville on Tunnel Road through Priceline. While it's not in the middle of downtown, it is very convenient to everything that downtown Asheville has to offer. The true surprise was how nice the hotel was. It was very clean, the rooms were spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful. I had to do a few business meetings before I left and used the convenient "community room" with free wireless access. The free breakfast was delicious with healthy options such as oatmeal and fruit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eysavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello valued guest!

We appreciate your kind words about our property and staff! I am so glad we met your needs and exceeded your expectations! We do hope you will stay with Country Inns wherever your travels take you! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. It was a five minute drive to downtown Asheville, which was a great place to stroll. We had a suite with a king bed in one room, which also had a TV, dresser and two nightstands. The decor was unremarkable. The bed was comfortable. The room was on the first floor and eye level with the parking lot, but still pretty quiet. The living room had a foldout couch and TV too. I debated between an excellent and a very good because both rooms were a bit small, and since the living room had no windows it was a bit dark, but there was plenty of space for the two of us, breakfast was included, it was clean and reasonably priced, and in a very convenient location. The pool and hot tub area was also a plus, and the staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello valued guest!

We appreciate your feedback of our property. We are so glad you found the room comfortable, clean and quiet. I am pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary full breakfast and that our staff served you well. We are only 3 minutes from downtown, so indeed it is a convenient spot! Please stay with us again when you return to beautiful Asheville, NC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing