We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lodi, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay! Good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here as a stop over for our final leg of our vacation. We visited the Biltmore and downtown Asheville and we enjoyed it very much. We traveled around town checking out the shops and this hotel was a great location to get to everything. We had a quick and easy check in (I used my points for a free stay) and the staff was very quick and painless. The rooms were very nice and clean and modern. It was one of the best Country Inn's I have stayed in and it sure beat most hotels are the area. It was very close to the Biltmore so it was easy to stop and view the Biltmore.

Very pleased! Good job!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAsRae24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    408
    95
    27
    15
See reviews for
444
474
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel itself is clean, the room well maintained, the free breakfast above average and a great location if you're not staying in the city proper. Just two things: first, if you don't like climbing stairs then get a room on the first or 2nd floors because there is only one elevator for a five floor hotel and the wait can be lengthy. Our room was on 5 but my wife and I didn't mind the exercise, especially going downstairs. Second is use the Waffle House entrance to get to the hotel as the hotel's entrance is easy to miss and a much tighter turn than WH's.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first or 2nd floor and use the stairs if you hate waiting for an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retrograde613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank-you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the elevator being slow. During high occupancy this is a problem. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just stayed here for the weekend and enjoyed the hotel.

The good - very comfortable bed (yay) with many fluffy pillows. Slept very well. Hotel was clean and check in and out was very easy. It was very close to downtown where we were spending all of our time, as well as being very close to the interstate. (It was about a mile on the other side of the 'tunnel'. Many chain restaurants and a grocery store in the area. On the other side of the tunnel is downtown with many great local restaurants, bars and shops) It was the best deal in the area.

The not so great- The view out our window (We saw the roof of level 1), and we were right next to the stairwell so there was a lot of coming and going starting fairly early in the morning. (I think we had room 216) The comforter had a couple dried stains (!?) on it which made me not want to use it. No hand soap provided in bathroom, but we just used the facial bar instead. Oh and the coffee in room was very weak, it was like brown water. (But we just hit Starbucks at the Ingles down the road on our way out and about) Parking was limited in the front. So we would have to park in the back, not that big of a deal though. It actually got us closer to our room as that entrance led you to the stairwell.
Overall we were pleased.

We did not partake of the breakfast. The hotel also had a fitness room and pool which was very nice to see, though we didn't use.

Room Tip: They are currently doing a renovation on level 1. We were on level 2, which I believe has already be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyNhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is clean and welcoming. The staff was knowledgable about the area and gave us great directions to the Biltmore. The room was nice & extra pillows. They had a good variety of hot and cold items on their menu for breakfast. We also enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. we would definitely stay here again when we return to Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
We hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This Was A Very Nice Country Inn,The Lobby was Nice and Breakfast Was Great ! The Room Was Very Nice and Very Close To The Biltmore House,The Beds Were Super Comfortable it Was One of The Best Country Inns I Have Ever Stayed in While on Vacation with my Family in NC I Highly Recommend This Country Inn, It Was Comfortable.

Room Tip: The Rooms Facing The Front of The Hotel has Less Noiser of A/C than The Back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here over the past weekend and were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms are in the process of being updated so it was very nice overall. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem,NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and loved every part of this hotel! Clean rooms, plenty of clean towels, soaps, shampoos, extra pillows and wonderful breakfasts. The night auditor, Bill, was fantastic. Anything we needed-he found for us. Very professional, neat, and informative. WE will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for Bill, the night auditor. He will answer all your needs in a professional and prompt manner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing