We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Value hotel in Asheville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend when a lot of Asheville hotels seem to jack up their rates exponentially beyond reason and this hotel's price was in the ballpark of where it should be. This hotel is much like a business traveler hotel in the amenities, so my ratings are in that genre. It's close to the loop and maybe 5 minutes from downtown (just take a left on Tunnel and it'll take you right there), making it easy enough to get around. Seemingly built around 1974, as others have pointed out they are renovating it and making things new again with new carpet, furniture and bedding. We got an updated room on the 4th floor and slept well. It's very quiet due to location and has a little odd layout where the elevator for the 5-story property is at the very back of the building. Breakfast is as you'd expect with the surprise breakfast burritos instead of scrambled eggs. It's not a resort property but is clean, quiet and comfortable. Wifi internet speeds tested in around 2Mbs both up and down, which is okay, not awesome. Totally a safe bet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    340
    78
    26
    14
See reviews for
374
400
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was recently renovated. It was clean, beds were comfortable, and staff was great! Stayed on the 3rd floor, which just got new carpets. Mini fridge in room. Has an indoor pool with a hot tub, fitness center, tables in the pool area and outside, and even coin washing machine and dryer. Hot breakfast included. 5 min drive from downtown and restaurants within walking distance. I checked out hotels nearby and this was the best value for the money while still being clean and safe. Would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aplatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were disappointed in this hotel. It began with the very tricky entrance off Tunnel Rd. The sign was obscured by a tree and we missed the driveway the 1st time. Exiting, we discovered, is much easier and safer if one drives through the Waffle House parking lot than up the steep hill. The hotel itself is tired. While there is some renovation in progress (4th floor carpeting) our room on the 5th floor was tired. The staff was doing their best to be customer friendly and supportive but it's hard to overcome the physical limitations of the facilities. Additionally, using regular dishes rather than paper goods could not make up for the lack luster breakfast food. The burritos had been sitting a little to long in the warming tray and the other offerings were just so so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFB897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, June 22, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed overnight on a trip to the biltmore estate. Room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and all amenities were present. Staff was very friendly and check in /check out was effortless. Breakfast provided typical fare in clean and adequate space. Overall we were very satisfied and will use this hotel again if in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very clean, large rooms, comfortable beds, and an incredibly friendly staff. The continental breakfast was delicious as well. The pool and fitness area looked awesome as well, though I didn't get to try them out. I'll definitely be booking here again next time I visit Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks to other strong reviews on TripAdvisor, we chose this little hotel for a one-night stay while passing through the area. The hotel is very modern already, and it appears to be under slight renovation for upgrading again. Our bathroom and room was very clean with lots of extra blankets and pillows provided in the storage area. The layout of the hotel is very visitor-friendly with the pool being in an unobtrusive area that doesn't create too much noise and traffic for those who are not using it. The breakfast was very good with lots of tableware available and the food stations being well-stocked (if you've ever been to a hotel breakfast that wasn't like this, you'll appreciate how important it is). The staff is very friendly and helpful. My spouse liked the cookies in the lobby, and I appreciated the hot coffee when we came in from a rainy night. The location of the hotel is great for travelers and provides quick access to the interstate. Moreover, it is within a five-minute drive of many of the top-rated downtown restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
445 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recent Sanitation Score 96.
If this is the 6th-best hotel in Asheville, I wouldn't want to go too much further down the rankings.
Seriously, it's not bad but for the most part it doesn't stand out. While I'm OK giving it a VG rating, it falls in the lower end of the rating.
In it's favor is the relatively quite location below the busy main road, also it's convenience to downtown. As others have noted, the hotel is undergoing renovation (they were working on the 3rd floor when we were there). The public areas appear to have already been finished, as they were very clean and bright.
Our room (511) was clean and acceptable. The small bathroom was the weak link, especially the tub shower with poor nozzle height for a guy who's 6-3.
The breakfast was typical of the County Inns chain.
A big drawback was having only one elevator. I'd hate to be waiting on it when this place is full.
Recommended because I generally like Country Inns, but, when we return to Asheville, we might try their other location.

Room Tip: Very quite up on the 5th floor, especially facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#14 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing