We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super little stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks to other strong reviews on TripAdvisor, we chose this little hotel for a one-night stay while passing through the area. The hotel is very modern already, and it appears to be under slight renovation for upgrading again. Our bathroom and room was very clean with lots of extra blankets and pillows provided in the storage area. The layout of the hotel is very visitor-friendly with the pool being in an unobtrusive area that doesn't create too much noise and traffic for those who are not using it. The breakfast was very good with lots of tableware available and the food stations being well-stocked (if you've ever been to a hotel breakfast that wasn't like this, you'll appreciate how important it is). The staff is very friendly and helpful. My spouse liked the cookies in the lobby, and I appreciated the hot coffee when we came in from a rainy night. The location of the hotel is great for travelers and provides quick access to the interstate. Moreover, it is within a five-minute drive of many of the top-rated downtown restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    397
    92
    27
    15
See reviews for
435
463
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recent Sanitation Score 96.
If this is the 6th-best hotel in Asheville, I wouldn't want to go too much further down the rankings.
Seriously, it's not bad but for the most part it doesn't stand out. While I'm OK giving it a VG rating, it falls in the lower end of the rating.
In it's favor is the relatively quite location below the busy main road, also it's convenience to downtown. As others have noted, the hotel is undergoing renovation (they were working on the 3rd floor when we were there). The public areas appear to have already been finished, as they were very clean and bright.
Our room (511) was clean and acceptable. The small bathroom was the weak link, especially the tub shower with poor nozzle height for a guy who's 6-3.
The breakfast was typical of the County Inns chain.
A big drawback was having only one elevator. I'd hate to be waiting on it when this place is full.
Recommended because I generally like Country Inns, but, when we return to Asheville, we might try their other location.

Room Tip: Very quite up on the 5th floor, especially facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant, comfortable stay at the Country Inn & Suites on Tunnel Road in Asheville. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was good. We can always rely on Country Inn & Suites for a pleasant stay. The only negative aspect was that we wished the bathroom had double sinks, and that the lighting in the livingroom was a little brighter. But overall, it was a good value.
P.S. It is easier to get in and out through the Waffle House parking lot to the west of the hotel -- the hotel's driveway is at the top of a hill and is a bit tricky.

Room Tip: We had a 1-bedroom suite, which separated the bedroom from the livingroom area. We were on the 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Best value for location near downtown. I usually stay at Country Inn and suites or Holiday Inn when visiting downtown Asheville. The location is near downtown. The rooms are clean and nice. They have an indoor pool with a nice jacuzzi. The continental breakfast was nice. The breakfast included yogurt, apples, bananas, eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles, apple and orange juice, various cereals, etc. The workout room included elliptical (1) and treadmill machines (2). It also has a resistant exercise machine. Overall my stay was enjoyable
and would recommend. I have stayed at this property 3 times.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Facility is clean and well ordered. Staff not only polite, but appropriately friendly. Complementary breakfast is more extensive than those found in most motels. Conveniently located near restaurants and local sites. A very good bargain for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I selected this hotel because of its proximity to the downtown area of Asheviile. We were very pleased with our choice. The location was perfect and the pool/hot tub allowed my wife to exercise her recent knee replacement. But what was most impressive, was the breakfast with, believe it or not, real silverware, plates, coffee mugs and juice glasses. We were told this was the first hotel in Asheville to go Eco-friendly. no more Styrofoam to fill the landfills. I would also add that the staff at the front desk was very helpful with several of our requests and questions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, May 21, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! We hope you made it safe back home.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked this hotel for a wedding in the area and couldn't have been more pleased. The location is a convenient 10 minutes from downtown and less then 5 minutes from the highway. The staff was welcoming and accommodating, making us feel right at home from the minute we checked in. The entire hotel was incredibly clean and tidy. Our room was a king suite and was absolutely huge! The bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent, and there were plenty of spare towels, pillows, and linens in the room. We spent time in the indoor pool and spa while we were there and really enjoyed ourselves. The pool was clean and cool and the spa was relaxing. Breakfast (included!) was phenomenal! Everything tasted great and there was never a shortage of food items while we were there. Definitely a highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzustarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review!!!. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Have a safe summer and we hope to see back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.8 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing