We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Good value, great location and good value”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed at this Country Inn about 10 times over the last 18 months. I have always found the Staff to be friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the breakfast to be a good way to start the day. The location is very convenient to the Asheville Mall and downtown is 5 minutes away. Connections to I-240 are close by yet the hotel is quiet. I will keep using this hotel in the future. Overall this hotel is a good value.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a rear facing room.....however I find the front facing rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    412
    96
    28
    17
See reviews for
453
479
47
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisa, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed overnite on a longer trip with my family of six. Very pleased all around, polite efficient staff, nice rooms, our pre-requested rollaway already in the room when we arrived. If we need a place to stay in Asheville again I expect we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We all hope to see you in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading several reviews on this website and I was so glad I did. It was a romantic, overnight trip for just my hubby and I. I was able to get a room with a king sized bed, and it was on the third floor facing away from traffic so it was quiet and peaceful. The room was so clean, the bathroom immaculate with plenty of towels, and it smelled fresh and clean...just like you would want. The breakfast had most anything you could want and in a nice setting. I especially love the fact that they have coffeemate Vanilla creamer, not just the plain half and half.
We will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovechristmas1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have always enjoyed staying at Country Inn & Suites but this has been the best so far. The facility is very clean and the staff is not only friendly but helpful also. I found a deal on line for a King Suite and was very pleased with the room and the price quoted. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were nice and soft, not the usual run of the mill “motel pillows”. The staff provided us with a map and written directions for a shortcut to the Biltmore Estate, which is only a couple of miles away. The breakfast offered was also above average. If you’re in the Ashville area try this place, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
258 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have stopped at several country inn & suites over the past several years, although this one the rooms are in need of updating. When we arrived our room smelt as though the vacuum needed to be emptied, apart from that the room was clean, the staff were friendly and the hot tub was great after a day site seeing, we stopped for three nights and found the breakfast to be up to standard for these hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are in the process of renovating .We hope to see you soon.!!! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the second time my family and i stayed here and as far as i am concerned this is the only hotel we will stay at in Asheville. We had a problem with overbooking at another hotel chain the first time and we were very fortunate to have chosen this hotel. The level of service was above exceptional. During check-in i experienced friendly, knowledgeable and fast service. The hotel has exceptionally clean rooms and facilities and smells fresh. There is an indoor pool and a heated whirlpool, which is a favorite with my 2 young daughters. There is also workout facilities to enjoy. The complimentary breakfast also extensive with choices of both hot and cold items (eggs, a meat, potatoes, waffles, oatmeal, biscuits, sausage gravy, cereals, coffee and juices just to name a few of the items for example). The location also offers meeting rooms and is physically located very close to a prime shopping area. For all the amenities this hotel offers the rates offer exceptional value. My family and I will ALWAYS stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor and above offer a better view of the complex, surrounding area and are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and found the place to be very clean, comfortable beds, and clean, crisp sheets-the free breakfast had a great variety of hot and cold items and the breakfast area was very clean. The staff was friendly. It's a good location if you plan to go the Biltmore Estate, it's off of Rt 240, and close to downtown also.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back- the front faces Tunnel Rd which can be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#21 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing