We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found this on Tripadvisor late at night, and stayed one night. Central location, very clean, very well appointed, quiet and comfortable. Great breakfast, served on real crockery with real cutlery. Friendly and efficient staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    418
    99
    29
    18
See reviews for
467
496
47
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sewell
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were in Asheville for a wedding. We stayed at this hotel because of the group rate. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was for the money. Great Location, room was very clean and large. Beds were comfortable. Water pressure was great and the water was hot. The common areas were also very clean and nicely decorated. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an early flight and arrived at the hotel a little early and they were able to let us check in. The free breakfast was decent and the staff in the dinning room was very attentive. They have great coffee,tea and cookies all day in the lobby. We would definitely stay in this hotel next time we go to Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent location, room was clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast (free) had different options for adults and kids. I'd recommend staying on this hotel based on the price and comfort. We raced the 2 days before as part of the Blue Ridge Relay competition and taking a hot shower felt so good (we didn't have a chance to use the Jacuzzi and pool but my wife used the gym early in the morning)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We travel to Asheville at least monthly and always stay at this Country Inn and Suites. Property is very clean. Breakfast is always hot and has a wide selection. The only thing I did not like is that the staff, would be getting breakfast also at the same time as guests. Otherwise, everything was good and we will continue to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location of the hotel is very convenient to downtown and the staff of the hotel were helpful during our stay. The room quality was disappointing. We moved rooms due to our first room having a musty smell to it. It seemed clean but was not comfortable. The second room was marginally better than the first. We had planned on staying two nights and decided to leave after one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Gita Patel
Hotel Management
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
828-254-4311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I spent one night of our recent trip to Asheville Prior to going we had read reviews and we were expecting a great hotel The hotel was nice but our room was in a corner and had an odd smell when we first entered it. The smell never really went away That said the room itself was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The elevator in the hotel also had a distinct odor which made riding it unpleasant. The hotel did have a great free hot breakfast. The selection of food was great and everything tasted great. I am not sure if I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nillas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_aatr, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), responded to this review, August 25, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family of four recently stayed here while visiting Asheville for a soccer tournament. This hotel is in a great location for easy access to downtown, food, mall/"big box" shopping. The hotel met our expectations. Check-in was fast and easy and the always available chocolate chip cookies were right there. The room was clean. My only isssue here is that we did take advantage of an offer to "upgrade" to a King Suite. We did but wish we hadn't. The suite was really just a regular room cut in half with a wall to create a separate bedroom. The separate bedroom was not enough to make up for the dark almost "tomb" like feel created in the sitting area because it had no windows and was very "enclosed" feeling. As one might expect the sofa bed was not comfortable, even for the kids. The positives were the two TV's for separate adult and kid's shows and the microwave and refrigerator for leftovers. The pool area with hot tub was nice and clean with tables and even lounge chairs to enjoy. Small workout room was adequate. Breakfast was quite good with hot items (oatmeal, waffles, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy), other muffins/bagels/toast, fruit, cereals, coffee/tea/juice. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, we would just choose a regular room and avoid the "upgrade" option if offered again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Address: 199 Tunnel Road, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC 28805-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Asheville
#8 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd
Country Inn & Suites Asheville i-240-Tunnel Rd Hotel Asheville
Country Inn Asheville
Asheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing