We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and plesant stay in the Great Smoky Mountains”
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A relaxing and plesant stay in the Great Smoky Mountains”
Reviewed September 18, 2008

My wife and I recently spent 8 days exploring the western mountains of North Carolina and had the pleasure of a 3 day stay at the Beaufort House in Asheville. This is a very meticulously and nicely restored 19th century house that is outfitted with very fine antique furnishings yet has all the comforts of a modern home. The updates included in-room flat screen TV's with cable, and large whirlpool tubs in the bathrooms. The home has a very large front porch, nice grounds to take walks in, and is situated in a residential neighborhood with simlar period houses. It is very conveniently located very closely to the heart of downtown Asheville, which has become a revitalized and very hip city center, with lots of upscale shops and restaurants. The Beaufort house only has less than a dozen rooms, so it was a very quiet and friendly environment. You could come and go as you please, without the scrutiny of hotel desk clerks, valets, bellmen, etc.

The Beaufort House also provides a delicious gourmet breakfast every day, that is home cooked by either one of the owners or by their very competent chef. The food was all very fresh and the offerings were very original and tasty.

We enjoyed our stay very much. It is not a 5 star luxury accomodation, but it was a very comfortable and 'homey' accomodation that offered the opportunity to escape the hassles that large hotels often put in your way, and to maintain a high degree of privacy and personailization. It gave us the chance to truely experience the mountains of North Carolina in a localized and 'down home' way. if you are looking for a true taste of Asheville type experience, then the Beaufort House is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, location, friendliness
  • Disliked — Smallish room with little closet space
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hshapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
606
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our stay at the Beaufort House Inn was everything we expected, and more. The Inn is beautiful and historic, every comfort is provided, and the breakfasts are gourmet! Friendly and helpful hosts and staff helped to make our first visit to Asheville a great experience.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WesthamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, NC
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2008

What a treat. We stayed at the Beaufort House Inn for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The two course breakfasts were the best we have had anywhere. Jim and Chris are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home. They also seem to anticipate what you need - offering ideas for things to do and directions to get there. The staff is well trained, friendly, and helpful. The huge front porch offers a wonderful place to relax and to visit with other guests.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank LouiseOriental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The Experience
The inn owners Jim and Christina went through every effort to make our visit the best possible. I personally went in with an introverted attitude much like I do when visiting hotels on Business. Instead we were immediately introduced around to the other visitors staying at the inn during the Friday and Saturday night Wine and Cheese events. This turned out to be a very relaxing way to spend the evening pre-Dinner hours, just meeting other busy Career people looking for a weekend escape. Jim, Christina and the rest of the friendly staff were always available to recommend and book restaurant reservations (somehow when they call and say Beaufort House Inn you end up getting the best seat in the House). The Owners also give a very detailed and interesting history to the house including stories of previous residents like Chartlon Heston. The essence of our stay at the Beaufort House was that we could have had just as relaxing and enjoyable a trip if we had done nothing but read and napped never leaving the house and its gorgeous gardens. For us we did plan a more active weekend, and due to the location, you are a comfortable 10 minute scenic walk downhill to the center of town. We walked back from downtown later at night (11pm) and never once felt unsafe. We did have a moment where we passed a group of Hippies on an empty dark and narrow street and was personally ridiculed for my madras shorts, being told that they looked "hostile". Hostile shorts....ha.....I can deal with that.
The Breakfast
Both my Wife and I thought that getting up at 9am for breakfast on our vacation was going to be difficult to wake up for. However, the smell of freshly brewed coffee and fresh Pear Dumplings at 8:30 in the morning is quite the incentive to roll out of bed and walk downstairs to a welcoming porch swing for a morning cup of Joe. I will for the sake of future guests stay, not list the other entrees on the Breakfast Menu as it was a surprise we looked forward to hearing about each morning.
The Bed!!!!!!
Ridiculously comfortable, we fell asleep each night to the smell of fresh mountain air, a gentle ceiling fan breeze and the drowsing sound of Cicadas.
Advice:
You can get to the Biltmore and the Grove Park Inn within 7 minutes of the Beaufort House and I encourage anyone new to Asheville to visit both. Just don't spend the night there.
Beaufort House Inn is the most well rounded accommodation in all of Asheville. It offers the friendliest and most down to earth inn keepers you will ever meet and has the best Breakfast (the 9am breakfast won't leave you hungry for lunch until at least 2pm).

  • Liked — Everything, being able to truly relax in the fresh mountain air, Breakfast....
  • Disliked — nothing. It was perfect.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TybeeLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantville ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I traveled from NY to a reunion of former colleagues, and was blown away with the property, accommodations, and most importantly, the hospitality of Chris and Jim. They provided the careful attention to all details, the breakfasts were fantastic, and the rooms were all carefully appointed, with wonderful beds! The public areas allowed for solitary time as well as great conversations, and the inn is surrounded by beautiful gardens, full of flowers and herbs. Everything was perfect, we plan to return next year Highly recommended
Egarger Pleasantville NY

  • Liked — class, comfort, location, gracious hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eileen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, CT
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My visit to the Beaufort House was my first time in a US bed and breakfast and the Beaufort House will be incredibly hard to beat! Driving up to the beautiful Victorian home, surrounded by lovely gardens, was just the beginning. The hosts, the Muths, are charming, warm and friendly, and only too pleased to share the history of the home or the Ashville community or to set up reservations and interesting things for one to do . And I could easily walk to downtown Ashville. I had a wonderfully decorated room with antique furnishings and a very comfortablle bed and bath. Each room is different and you will fall in love with the magnificent central staircase. The home is spacious, filled with marvelous antiques, and best of all-a grand southern porch with rockers to lazily enjoy the view or to visit with the other interesting guests. Breakfast was fabulous-both the gourmet food and the exquisite presentation!
I really felt like I had stepped back in time in terms of the relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and yet, I had all the latest, top of the line amenties and conveniences-the very best of all worlds!
You will love a visit to the Beaufort House.

  • Liked — The beautiful porch, closeness to town, charming hosts, food, general ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiMadison_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton MD
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We saw the reviews on the Beaufort House Inn online, and booked online...what a wonderful place to stay! Chris and Jim, and Amy and Ryanna were all wonderful hosts and reps of this beautiful B&B ...very welcoming, lovely accommodations (we stayed in the Savannah Room -- the "Carriage House"). Our breakfasts were fabulous (Chris can really whip up a wonderful breakfast!!). It was almost like visiting family! Thanks again and hope to visit again soon! Deb & Don

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Downbythemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,089 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
769 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
224 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#24 of 39 in Asheville
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing