We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience in Ashville”
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #10 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, CT
1 review
“Fabulous Experience in Ashville”
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My visit to the Beaufort House was my first time in a US bed and breakfast and the Beaufort House will be incredibly hard to beat! Driving up to the beautiful Victorian home, surrounded by lovely gardens, was just the beginning. The hosts, the Muths, are charming, warm and friendly, and only too pleased to share the history of the home or the Ashville community or to set up reservations and interesting things for one to do . And I could easily walk to downtown Ashville. I had a wonderfully decorated room with antique furnishings and a very comfortablle bed and bath. Each room is different and you will fall in love with the magnificent central staircase. The home is spacious, filled with marvelous antiques, and best of all-a grand southern porch with rockers to lazily enjoy the view or to visit with the other interesting guests. Breakfast was fabulous-both the gourmet food and the exquisite presentation!
I really felt like I had stepped back in time in terms of the relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and yet, I had all the latest, top of the line amenties and conveniences-the very best of all worlds!
You will love a visit to the Beaufort House.

  • Liked — The beautiful porch, closeness to town, charming hosts, food, general ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiMadison_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
590
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton MD
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We saw the reviews on the Beaufort House Inn online, and booked online...what a wonderful place to stay! Chris and Jim, and Amy and Ryanna were all wonderful hosts and reps of this beautiful B&B ...very welcoming, lovely accommodations (we stayed in the Savannah Room -- the "Carriage House"). Our breakfasts were fabulous (Chris can really whip up a wonderful breakfast!!). It was almost like visiting family! Thanks again and hope to visit again soon! Deb & Don

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Downbythemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Beautiful gounds and stylish victorian interior. Well prepared and tasty breakfast. Friendly staff concerned about the quality of your stay. Well worth the money.

  • Liked — The Victorian style house and gounds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nelson28173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

From the moment we saw the house from the street, we knew we were in for a treat. The grounds and the house are meticulousy taken care of and the both the owners and their staff worked to make sure all the little amenities were taken care of for all their guests. From the front porch gatherings where houseguests could meet and mingle at a wine and cheese gathering complete with plentiful rocking chairs and ceiling fans to the beautiful rooms both in the house and in the guest cottages behind the main house...the visit was made memorable in accomodations alone. Each room is themed and decorated in a way to make you feel like you are at home- a guest but a "family" member all at the same time. Each is beautifully decorated and upon our entrance we were given a grand tour of the house and got a peek at other rooms before the guests arrived. The history of the house shown through and the upgrades were well executed. The grounds were beauifully landscaped and a badmitton net was set up on the grounds along with a swing and a nice sized hammock. There were lots of nooks and crannies where guests could sit undisturbed with running water and trellis's covered in lush greenery. I would highly recommend this B&B to any and to all based on accomodations alone BUT then the breakfast that was served each morning rivaled the elegance of the accomodations ! Each breakfast was themed as well. We had a pear pastry drizzled with raspberry sauce the first morning and a delicious quiche ! The second morning we had organic yogurt with fruit and granola topping and bacon curls along with french toast with wet walnuts and bananas...and warm syrup.. It was a culinary dream and both the taste and the presentation did NOT disappoint!

If I could rate the visit on a scale of 1-10 ..I would rate it a 10 !
A MUST if you visit Asheville !

This B&B Is also within walking distance of downtown Asheville so you can park your car there on the premises and stroll through the neighborhood and then on the sidewalks to downtown Asheville to get some exercise and work off your breakfast !!

  • Liked — The setting, the house , the people, the food ! LOL
  • Disliked — Nothing...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wannabeatraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Beaufort House is one of the most beautiful and well run B&Bs in Asheville. We've stayed in several and this is our favorite. Owners Chris and Jim are fabulous hosts and create a warm and friendly environment. The food is excellent, and afternoon wine and cheese gatherings were very fun. We walked to downtown in about 10 minutes and felt very safe in the area. Everything about this inn is "best in class". We shall return.

  • Liked — The beauty and history of the house; the owners/hosts
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Coach_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This was really a perfect place for our girl's getaway weekend. When we could drag ourselves away from the front porch rockers we explored the interesting corners of Asheville and ate till we couldn't eat any more. Innkeepers Chris and Jim had such an attention to detail that we always found something interesting about the inn to learn and talk about - the inn's native plant species project, the herb garden, the focus on local, seasonal FOOD (oh my, the glorious breakfasts), the scrumptious linens, etc. etc. etc. I can't wait to go back with my husband. The hammock is still calling me. I'd even like to figure out a way to do my next business meeting there.

  • Liked — The rockers on the front porch, the breakfast, the grounds.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dmcoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter, fl
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at the Beaufort House for four days and were totally spoiled. Each morning there was a two course breakfast ranging from fresh fruit and yogurt to scrambled eggs in filo pastry, a sweet lemon custard, French toast made with croissants with bananas and wet walnuts stuffed inside. Incredible!

The library has a great assortment of books, something for every taste, and huge leather chairs reminiscent of a men's club lounge. The front porch with white rockers is a other lazy place to read.

There's a great grocery/market down the street for sandwiches or snacks, imaginative restuarants "downtown," which is in walking distance, and a funky bookstore/magazine/newspaper place in which to browse when you're not at the Biltmore or hiking.

The garden is truly an arboretum attracting dozens of birds and butterflies. Jim and Chris are the perfect innkeepers, interesting, and totally involved in their enterprise as is the rest of their staff. Who could ask for more?

  • Liked — It's an authentic B&B with great decor and amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jupitertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing