We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaufort House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #10 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was our second time at the Beaufort House Inn and was even more pleasant than the first. The Inn is in a great location, within walking distance to town. The house and grounds are lovely and well maintained. All of the staff go above and beyond to make your visit as comfortable as possible. Owners, Chris and Jim, are perfect Inn keepers, who put their hearts and souls into making everyone's experience a memorable one. That being said, it is best to remember that this is a B&B and not a hotel. The experience is going to be much more social and intimate . . . socializing with other guests, closer quarters, sharing breakfast, quirky bathrooms, etc. But, it's what makes it special!

Room Tip: If you wish to have more privacy, then choose a cabin. The website provides pictures of each room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    52
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
581
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Beaufort House Inn for a quick 5 day vacation. It was an extremely friendly atmosphere and wonderful experience. I would recommend this Inn for anyone that was looking for charm and close proximity to downtown Asheville. It only took us 5 minutes to drive and 15 minutes to walk. Breakfast was also amazing every single morning!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had stayed here two years ago in October (2011) so as we were traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway we decided to stay here again in October of 2013. It is a large house in a residential section of Asheville, NC. This year we stayed in the Ivy Terrace (last time we stayed in a sister room next to Ivy as we were traveling with friends). Both rooms are small but cozy; the Ivy had a large tub with a shower but it was difficult for my wife to get in and out of the shower; I am 6'2" and I found it tough to get in and out. I would recommend other rooms if you like to shower without the hassle of getting in our out of the tub. We especially liked the social hour in the main house, where they serve wine and soft drinks with a few appetizers. It was a nice time to get to know a few other guests. The owners were nice and paid attention to their guests but seemed to be attentive to a particular group, which is to be expected if those people go back year after year. The breakfast the next morning was enjoyable. The pluses of this place were the staff and the social hour. All in all, we had a much better experience at this place in 2011 than we did in 2013, but it is a place I would recommend if you are staying a night or two in Asheville.

Room Tip: Stay in a main room of the place or one of the outlying rooms, not in the Ivy Terrace or the one nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and I truly believe we started with the best place. Jim and Chris were above and beyond accommodating. They were like our "family" taking care of us and talking with us. The house/room was perfect and the breakfast was outstanding. By mere luck, we found what I think is the best place in Asheville. I would recommend them to anyone and would look to stay there again, given the opportunity. I just can't say enough about our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Jim and Chris were the perfect hosts, filling every wish we could ask for. Breakfasts were wonderful and interesting. The accommodations were what we expected cozy and relaxing. Outdoors on the porches were a nice resting retreat. Leaving on our last day early before breakfast Jim made sure we had a nice bag of fruit, yogurt, nutritional bars and water for the road. Interesting note, this was the home of Charlton Heston as a young aspiring actor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DALE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very pretty place and nicely furnished room. The hosts were very nice and accommodating. All the other staff we met were also nice but Stephanie was the best. She was friendly, helpful and always smiling! The place was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious.

There were only two minor negatives:

1) Breakfast was only served in one seating - 9:00am. It would have been nice if it were say between 9:00 and 10:00 and,

2) The price was a bit high compared to other areas and other similar accommodations.

Otherwise, we loved the place, the staff, the breakfasts and our cozy room. We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhelp4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The innkeepers and the staff were great at their jobs and made a lot of effort to help me feel welcome. Food at breakfast was pretty amazing -- especially knowing that they cooked it themselves!

Short walk to downtown -- under 15 minutes. Couple of grocery stores very close (although the intersection to get to them is hard to get across on foot).

Nice old Queen Anne Victorian house. Lots of chairs on a big front porch for sitting. Wine in the evenings was appreciated.

I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Haseltine Room -- note that the shower and toilet are in one shared space. The bath...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Beaufort House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing