We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great inn with wonderful innkeepers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great inn with wonderful innkeepers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beaufort House was 2 nights of our 6 night motorcycle tour around the Blue Ridge Parkway. We opted for the Dogwood Suite while our friends were in the main house. Everything was great and the owners and staff couldn't have been nicer. Our only suggestion is to improve the shower in the jacuzzi tub. If you want to have a traditional stand up shower, you have to hold the shower head/hose. The location was perfect, the breakfasts outstanding and the wine in the evening was a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed the front porch in the evening with our glass of wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
578
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's in both the US and the UK and I have to say that The Beaufort House is by far one of the best.....on par with our favourite B&B in the Lake District in England. The staff was friendly and both Jim and Chris very hospitable. Appreciated the wine in the evenings out on the lovely winding veranda. The Rose room was large, clean and comfy. Efforts were made to accomodate my food sensitivies and infact enjoyed the best gluten free waffles ever. Such easy access to the fantastic main area of Asheville......just a 10 min walk thru the leafy streets. Even enjoyed hanging around the B&B on the veranda all day Sunday in the rain Definately recommend and will most definately be back. Linda and Bill (Ontario)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Asheville for the first time and were very fortunate to have chosen the Beaufort House Inn out of all the beautiful B&B's in the city. The Inn was both beautiful and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, andlate afternoons on the porch were delightful. Jim and Chris, the owners, and their staff person Erica, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. After five days, we really felt like members of the family (except we didn't have any chores!)
We stayed in the Savannah cottage for the first three days and then in the Arbor Room for the last two. Both were lovely. We especially liked the private outdoor area in the Arbor Room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently stayed a night at the Beaufort House for our babymoon and were delighted with the experience. The grounds are immaculate and immediatly tranport you to a place of relaxation. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the breakfast was amazing - two delicious courses and mimosas for Mother's Day. My husband enjoyed the complimnetary wine happy hour as well. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiggsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I vistited the Beaufort House Inn last week for a romantic weekend away. This was our first time at a B&B and we were very happy with our experience. The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly and we felt very comfortable. My husband called ahead and ordered flowers - they were absolutely gorgeous and thoughtfully placed in our room.
The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of modern amenities. We enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evening and despite the unfortunate weather, enjoyed the lovely yard and swing built for two under a huge tree.
Breakfast was fabulous and varied both mornings.
Proximity to downtown was terrific.
Thank you for a truly relaxing and enjoyable weekend away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for six nights as the last part of our holiday (vacation) in America.
All of the other positive reviews have said it all and we agree.
From booking through e mail to checking in and greeting, everything was handled perfectly by the wonderful Erica.
The house is beautiful inside and out and sits amid gorgeous gardens. There is a parking lot which is very useful for those days and evenings you may choose to walk into town which is an easy, pleasant and safe 15-20 minute stroll. We loved doing that although the weather during our visit meant we could not do it every night. In those cases Erica or lovely Stephanie arranged for a taxi.
We stayed in The Rose Room which was spacious with a large bath and immaculately clean. The ultra soft sheets and pillowslips made for a comfortable bed. The breakfasts are substantial. delicious and beautifully presented.
The evening wine and snacks sessions...er..I mean interludes, were an excellent oportunity to meet other guests who when we were there, were lovely people, and such a joy to chat with. Worth noting the wine available was very pleasant and obviously not selected as the cheapest available.
It really is a lovely Inn in all aspects but what made it for us was the people. Professionalism and genuine friendliness and graciousness do not always rub along perfectly together. It's a fact of life that a surfeit of one may slightly impact the others especially in the hospitality field. In the case of Jim and Chris we found them absolutely professional and yet just as absolutely friendly and gracious hosts; not an easy achievement. The ever smiling and patient Erica fixes everything you may need and the delightful Stephanie lends wonderful support and remains cheery no matter what you throw at her, even strange Scottish humour. The breakfast support staff and Nikki who took care of the rooms are also polite, friendly and efficient.
Finally, we inadvertently left with a wonderful book on NC Waterfalls belonging to the Inn which we were using to guide a frantic last day photo session trip (Lost camera, another story) Upon e mailing Chris to inform of this we were invited to keep the book. Now that is gracious...and generous!
We want to go back to Asheville soon and we will look no further than Jim and Chris and the Beaufort House Inn when we do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for our anniversary. This was our first time trying a B&B versus a hotel. We were very pleased with the Beaufort house. It is very close to downtown, my husband and I walked downtown each day during our 3 day visit. It is also close to hiking trails. We drove to Craggy gardens our first day and went on a 4 hour hike. We stayed in the Savannah Cottage. It was behind the main house and was comfortable and private. The jacuzzi tub was fantastic! We made good use of that. the room was a perfect size and the bed was very comfortable. I especially liked all of the windows. It was a beautiful room. When we got there we were greeted by Erica. She was super awesome and nice! They make you feel very welcome, they show you around the house and give you a little history too. They tell you what is downtown and make suggestions and will make dinner reservations for you. There is a wine social at the main house from 4-6. Even if you are not a social person, it is worth it to grab a glass of wine and sit on the front porch or hang out in the sitting room. They have different types of coffee and tea with breakfast. Breakfast was amazing! they put a lot of time and attention into the food and it really shows. it was quite filling. The grounds are beautiful too. I hope to visit Asheville again someday and stay at Beaufort again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaTurtle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing