We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asheville Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
“Asheville Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Beaufort Inn was an amazing place to get away from the "Real World". The Inn was very well appointed and every comfort was attended too.
The staff was friendly, courteous and full of information about Asheville and the surrounding area.
Breakfast is a serious business there and we were not disappointed. Food and conversation were top notch.
We will definitely go back and enjoy the Beaufort Inn the next time we head to Ashevillr.

Room Tip: Lovely Room behind the kitchen has a private terrace and access to the back door. This is the Arbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    51
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
578
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is one of the best B &B's I have experienced. Wonderful hospitality, accommodations and food, and superb customer service in a meticulously restored victorian home. The owners and staff could not have been more gracious with our every need anticipated. Suggestions for restaurants and other experiences in the Ashville area were among the added perks the staff so graciously helped us with as well as directions that made our daily travels stress free. Can;t wait to return on our next visit to Ashville!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Within minutes of walking through the door and meeting Chris and Jim you will feel like you are visiting your friends. The staff will treat you like royalty. The gourmet breakfasts were tasty and they always exceeded our expectations. The home is old, comfortably decorated, and we never felt that there were other guests around. We were in town for a wedding but now have Made new friends and have a great place that is tugging at us for several return visits. The home is conveniently located close to downtown. We could have walked but opted for a cab, which allowed us to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine on the wrap around covered porch. We plan to return with friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room and would happily stay in it again. However, we will probably try another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was my first ever visit to a B&B and I would have to say that I couldn't have chosen a more superb accomodation. The Beaufort House Inn was amazing. The staff was welcoming and helpful with great hints about where to go, dine, and experience Asheville. Have a glass of wine on the front porch and then take the advice of the staff on dinner reservations. Breakfasts were yummy and huge servings! The owners were so friendly and welcoming, you can tell they are passionate about their Inn. Overall my first foray into the B&B world will not be my last!

Room Tip: The Ivy Terrace room was sweet and private. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend in Asheville celebrating our 10-year-wedding anniversary and my wife's 40th birthday. Beaufort House Inn was the perfect place to do this. Our experience...

- When we arrived Jim met us on the large wrap-around porch and knew us by name even though we'd never been there before. Moreover, he knew our business (from my email signature) and had taken the time to learn about it. He is a wonderful conversationalist and genuinely interested in his guests.

- We each held a glass of wine in our hands within 10 minutes of arriving, and had a map of the city with arrows and circles guiding us to the places we wanted to see and, of course, eat at!

- Downtown Asheville is a short walk or run (as I did our two mornings there) away. It's so convenient to park in downtown Asheville that there is no reason not to drive into town -- it'll take all of 2 minutes.

- Staying at the Beaufort House Inn is like being at home. More than any other B&B we've stayed at, Beaufort felt like it belonged to us...we came "home" late (for us, that means 9:30/10PM), walked into the world-class kitchen, and poured ourselves a glass of wine (me) and a cup of tea (my wife). We stayed in The Arbor Room, which means we had our own private porch and private entrance -- so much fun and such a beautiful setting for breakfast!

- Speaking of breakfast...AMAZING. Most good B&Bs serve a great breakfast, Beaufort's was better. Saturday morning we had a first course of a pear inside a hot, crunchy pastry sitting in a hot blueberry sauce with fresh blueberries -- second course was a vegetable quiche with potatoes. Sunday morning started off with a delicious yogurt with grains and fresh fruit followed by the BEST homemade waffle with strawberries -- even the butter and syrup were fabulous. And I must have had 4 glasses of orange juice because it was so fresh.

- We received great advice to eat at Curate for lunch and they helped us make reservations -- nothing, including this, ever had to be requested. It felt like everything we needed was done or available at just the right time in the perfect way. It made the entire trip so comfortable.

- Our room was just the right size and the bed + linens were perfect for a great night's sleep. The home is beautiful in every way. There is absolutely no reason to stay in any other B&B in Asheville.

As for Asheville, we recommend Curate (bread with olive oil and tomato, shrimp, spinach), French Broad Chocolate (Chinese Jasmine Green tea, pecan pie with extra homemade whipped cream), Cedric's at Antler Village if you are headed to Biltmore (chicken & spinach soup and deviled eggs), and the best is, of course, Chris' cooking! The city comes alive at night -- one of our favorite things to do was walk for a few hours listening to the street performers and pop in and out of fun stores.

Thanks to Jim and Chris for being such wonderful hosts. We will be back!

Billy and Yen Ling

Room Tip: The Arbor Room is great because you have your own private porch and entrance. And you can have break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Rucker, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled for the first time to Asheville NC and stayed at this excellent B&B. The home itself is beautiful and has all of the charm you could ask for with a beautiful wraparound porch, detailed woodwork inside, and elegant decorations throughout the house. Jim and Chris were such great hosts, and made us feel as though we were visiting close friends by the time we left. The entire staff was wonderful and ensures that you have all the information you need to make the most of your stay in Asheville. The breakfast experience was 5 star dining, and it is cooked by Chris and Jim the owners. Made with the freshest ingredients it was a great way to start off your day in Asheville. Upon arrival we were greeted by Donna who has a wealth of knowledge about the area and was a pleasure to talk to throughout the week. The evening wine social hour was a great way to interact with the other guests who were enjoying the Beaufort house as much as we were. We will definitely be visiting the Beaufort House Inn again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-Kali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We now have stayed at the Beaufort House Inn on three visits to Asheville. This beautiful old home is the epitome of style and grace, and innkeepers Jim and Chris Muth offer much warmth, wit and good humor. The breakfasts are delicious. The late afternoon/early evening wine offerings on the large, wraparound front porch add a touch of class. Staff members are knowledgeable and helpful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing