We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaufort House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #10 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
“Romantic get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I were looking the perfect place for a two day romantic get away while our sons were off at camp. We found the answer with Beaufort House Inn. We stayed in the Dogwood cottage and loved sitting out on the private deck in the back even during the light rain and sipping on a glass of wine. Chris, Jim and all of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing. Thanks again for a great visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaschieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    52
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
582
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our first time staying at a B&B. We had a great time. Nice location and it was a short walk to downtown. Both the Inn Keepers and Erica were very helpful and provided great service. The Inn felt historic, clean, and had lots of light. Lots of outdoor areas on the property to hang out. They also had a parking lot in the back so you don't have to park on the street. The breakfasts were served every morning at 9am and were wonderful. Many very unique and tasty combinations and kept you feeling very full until lunch. They have someone available everyday until 9pm and they are available after that if it is an emergency.

We stayed in the Ivy Terrance Room. Private entrance in the back of the house so it felt very private. The room is a nice size and the tub in the bathroom is huge. We ended up picking this room because it had a stand up shower which was a must for my SO. Loved the sheets - super soft and silky. The only problem we had with the room was it was a bit difficult getting the french doors to the bathroom to shut completely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCSUfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

What an incredible three days we just spent with Chrisitna and Jim Muth at their wonderful B&B, The Beaufort House in Asheville, NC. They are warm, kind, friendly and funny. These qualities make them outstanding innkeepers. The Inn (and our room) was fantastic, their hospitality excellent, and Christina's home cooked breakfasts were out of this world. Free wine and munchies are served at 5 p.m. daily, and this was a great way to really meet the innkeepers and other guests. Our only regret is that we didn't plan a trip to their B&B and Asheville sooner. We have stayed in more than 80 B&B's and this one is at the top of the list. We will go back!

Room Tip: When you call describe your needs, likes, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joenadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were greeted by the wonderful manager, Erica, who gave us an excellent tour with fun historical facts about the house. There was unlimited delicious brownie treats, along with tea and coffee. You never go without, even at night you were allowed to go into the Kitchen and help yourself. There was fantastic two course breakfast with a sweet start followed by a hearty dish (example one day was Croissant French Toast with Bananas and walnuts). There was a wine or champagne social each night from around 5 - 7pm, which was a nice time to relax in one of the many areas inside or out. Jim and Christina were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area, answering any questions or even giving suggestions. Erica also did a great job supplying us with amply information, maps and even 'tips on parking' etc. each day. It was very quiet and in a nice residential neighborhood with only a 15 min walk (or couple minutes drive) to downtown. We stayed in the Haseltine Room, though a bit small and the bathroom (as mentioned on the website) is literally a tiled water closet with a shower was perfect for the two of us. Beaufort House would definitely be our first choice for any Asheville stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarriesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I planned on staying just one night, but we loved the Beaufort House so much we stayed another (we were lucky-they had only one available). The B&B itself is wonderful, but the owners, Chris and Jim, really make the experience outstanding. As another reviewer said, our weekend was originally about the Biltmore Estate, but ended up being about our stay at Beaufort House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Three friends and I reserved the Beaufort House Inn just hoping to find a place that might combine easy access to sightseeing with an atmosphere for casual conversation. The Beaufort House Inn far exceeded our expectations! We were amazed by the gourmet breakfasts, enjoyed the serenity of the gardens, made new friends during the wine socials in the parlor, relaxed on the porch in our rocking chairs, and shared laughter and tears in the privacy of a comfy bedroom sitting area. The owners, Jim and Chris, have perfected the B&B experience by mastering that fine balance of genuine hospitality with just enough privacy to feel truly pampered while comfortably at home. Our trip started as an adventure to visit the famous Biltmore Estate, but it quickly became evident that George Vanderbilt’s “little” house has some serious competition. The Beaufort House Inn will unquestionably remain the highlight of our trip to Asheville!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countries47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very nice B&B - fabulous breakfast and lots of rich history that you love to see at a B&B! We stayed in the Savannah Cottage - not in the main house. The cottages are nice and this one is very private with a balcony off the back. It doesn't have a shower - only a bath tub, so keep that in mind if your man must have a shower! The front porch is simply wonderful to sit and sip wine or tea! The grounds are beautiful. We had a really, restful stay - we would return and try a room in the main house!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giza24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Beaufort House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing