We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican Meal !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papas & Beer

Papas & Beer
Ranked #79 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Level Contributor
347 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Meal !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch (2:30pm). I had a chili relleno with rice & beans - $4.99. It filled me up & was one of the best chili rellenos I have ever had !!! Good sweet tea & chips/salsa, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wabjr705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    179
    49
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
228 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Friendly Service & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stopped in while down in the Asheville area for work. Of the two Papas & Beer in the area this is the better one. The staff are friendly and service is good. There is a nice selection of salsa for the chips along with a bean dip. I enjoyed the avocado tacos - very tasty. The refried beans are ok but I prefer black beans and wish that they had an option on the bean selection. My co-workers enjoyed their selections and we all left satisfied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Packed and I know why.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We are staying near "Papas & Beer" in Asheville and we decided to try it out. the first time we tried was a Saturday night and the overflow, packed crowd wound out deep into the chilly January Asheville night. Those waiting were more dedicated than we were and they stayed and we didn't. We tried again on Monday and this time we did mangae to get a table. Lots of staff. Lots of authenticity. Great quality food. Great night. Sincere staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDI_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We love Papa's & Beer. The food is great and the service is fast. I recommend the Arroz con Pollo and any of the Burritos. The margaritas are yummy and the salsa bar is great!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“PAPAS AND BEER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have eaten at Papas and Beer often since it opened. On scale of 1-10, the food is 81/2. Today, we went and my husband got the Mexico City Tacos and they were absolutely terrible. The meat was dry and tasted old. He did not eat any of it after tasting it, but the waitress did not ask about what was wrong with it and he doesn't complain. I doubt that we will go back. I had the avocado burrito and it was wonderful. It would have been good if the beer glasses had been iced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWright-Barron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas & Beer also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Papas & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing