We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable, always good and always busy!”
Review of Papas & Beer

Papas & Beer
Ranked #88 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Always reliable, always good and always busy!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Some Mexican restaurants are variable on quality, service or cleanliness - but not this place. The P&B near Biltmore Square Mall is always excellent and usually crowded because of it. It is pretty much without question the best Mexican food on the east coast and would hold its own with any good Texas Mexican restaurant! It is amazing to find something of this quality in western North Carolina. The table side guacamole is superb and is the only appetizer you need. They make it right there in front of you from all fresh ingredients. They have been expanding their pescado menu, which is my favorite, but you cannot go wrong with any traditional meal or house specialty. Try the local Gaelic Ale on tap (Asheville is now famous for microbreweries). Salud!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ras828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    180
    51
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Real Mexican”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good food and service. They claim their food Is truly Mexican but never having been to Mexico I couldn't say. They have a number of restaurants in the Asheville area. Some of them look a little dumpy on the outside but don't let that bother you. The food is worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK place to eat”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fajitas are probably best thing to get. All in our party loved them. I had enchiladas, just average. Everything else was just OK. Salsa bar and bean dip was just OK. Very busy place. Crowded for 2 days we saw, so had to try. Not floored by the selection. Just OK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it, Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A local actually recommended Papa's and Beer to us. We went there twice during our 4 week stay in Asheville, NC. Both times we had excellent service and food. We were also surprised at the cost. It was actually much cheaper than most of our other meals during out stay so this was a win, win, win!! Again, food and service were excellent and when in the Asheville area, we will definitely go again, ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonnapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Fare”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped for a quick meal before leaving Asheville. Wish we had more time to sit and have a few Dos Equis. Good food and quick service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas & Beer also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Papas & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing