We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Southwest Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papas & Beer

Papas & Beer
Ranked #79 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Southwest Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Love this place and go weekly. They have healthy dishes and also some gastronomic blowouts if you like the heavy burritos. I love their salmon salad and also their fish tacos---couldn't be better. If you like fajitas, this is it! Try their carnitas (pork) dishes--the best.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    179
    49
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
small town
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loads of Flavor at this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Salsa bar with mild to HOT! The pumpkin jalapeño salsa is incredible. The chips will keep coming so you can try out each salsa on the bar. My favorite food is the Papa's Fajitas...they are the chicken, steak and shrimp and of course a plate of sides to fill your fajita...but my husband and I can easily SHARE this order. We both leave full! They serve you a heaping portion and you don't need to skimp. Another favorite here is the Margarita, it is huge!! You will NOT be disappointed with this one. It is an excellent addition to cool off the flavors you will experience. Every time I visit this place I am determined about making plans to come again! A few other things I have enjoyed here are the fish taco's= A+ , and the chimichanga. They have mastered the art Mexican food, no boring foods served here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannabecruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food in town--multiple locations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is something about the rice there that is magic. I love the Mexico City tacos. Street tacos. Good margaritas. Always busy, so beware.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WacoWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Food was great.Service was good.Especially liked the salsa bar and the bean dip.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Six of us were jammed into a small table. It was very busy. Staff was nice. Food came out really fast...almost too fast. Reminded me of Chi Chi's quality. Have heard people ranting and raving about how good this place is, so finally went. Not impressed. Maybe I'll give it another try soon...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MountainGirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas & Beer also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Papas & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing