We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charm and ambience abound in this classy classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #16 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“charm and ambience abound in this classy classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

Beautiful surroundings, relaxed and friendly service, excellent breakfasts, knowledgable and helpful inn keepers. Hey, what's not to like about this vintage victorian bed and breakfast located in an oasis of a vintage neighborhood, just minutes from downtown Asheville!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    53
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
70
391
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
W. Palm Beach, FL:
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

Hospitality and food both excellent! Bob & Barbara make guests feel completely comfortable.

Only caveat - - - If you have any physical problems, avoid the third floor. Although its rooms are lovely, the staircase is narrow and steep.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenBikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

This Historic Inn provided a great getaway for the weekend with lovely touches such as chocolates in your room, breakfast served at a reasonable time with special touches (the owners have a secret to brewing a delicious cup of coffee) and convenience to downtown Asheville.

The "Green Room" on the front of the home had access to an outside upstairs porch with chairs for a private conversation and a glass of wine to toast a great weekend to!

We are already planning our next trip to the Wright Inn.

Book well in advance, the Inn is popular and gets full, fast.

The only thing we didn't like was leaving!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

This has been our second weekend stay at the Wright Inn and its Celebration Suite. We can't say enough about this B&B and its owners, everything about it makes us feel welcomed and truly taken care of. The Celebration Suite may be a little smaller than the other rooms, but we love the privacy and the incredible cozy feel (the bed is wonderful and the jacuzzi tub is a lot of fun). Our first stay we ate two breakfasts at the inn and WOW! We were so impressed by the owners' culinary skills on top of their friendly nature. It was very filling and very delectable! Our second stay we ventured out to have breakfast in town but next time I think we will have it at the inn again. The rest of the house is amazing to look at and truly transports you back to the Victorian era. You can tell how much pride is taken in the upkeep of the home and grounds. We really could go on & on about this lovely getaway and the owners, we feel very valued as guests and will be back as often as we can. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice chance to relax.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Mindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

Last minute called Wright Inn, drove by and checked in. Liked the location to downtown. Rooms are excellent. Stayed on the second floor. Shirley cooks a great 2 course breakfast. Thaks for a memorable experience in Asheville. Kari and Dan

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Schlimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

I have been meaning to write this review for a long time, and in planning my anniversary trip with my wife for this year, we thought longingly about our trip last year.

We have stayed at many BnBs of all types all over the US, so we know they run the gamut of types, sizes, and experience.

We stayed at this BnB for over a week, and visited Asheville and all the surrounding area. In the shadow of the Biltmore, grand old houses like this have a lot to live up to, and this house delivers. The furnishings, the wood floors, ceilings, and trim, the fireplaces, and the special "Biltmore" window add a lot of charm to this place. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were large enough for lounging. But, Bob and Barbara don't leave you on your own. They are fountains of knowledge about the sites in and around Asheville, and they are very knowledgeable about local places with lots of charm. You can tell they love their town and the people that make it special.

While we were there, we wanted to see the local Shakespeare troupe, and they helped us with every detail from directions, to picnic baskets, to blankets. They also made sure that we had activities each day, and dinner reservations every night at some great local places.

I highly recommend Asheville, these innkeepers, and this BnB.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank historytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We were absolutely thrilled with how beautiful the inn was upon arrival. The home and grounds are breathtaking as is the entryway and common areas. We were lead to our suite and the private entryway was nice. The hall leading to our room was darling with a mural on the wall and mirrors on the ceiling reflecting the picture. When the door to the suite opened our hearts sank a bit.
The positives are that the bed was beautiful, surrounded by "clouds" on the walls. It was quiet at night because there's only one little window way up high on the wall. No noise from feet above either:) However, the negatives outweighted the positives. One little window meant no view of the beautiful neighborhood or grounds. Garden level meant the basement. The drop ceilings were low and not put in well. No hardwood floors like the rest of the house, which we overlooked in the pictures from the website. The jacuzzi tub was an odd shape and uncomfortable so we didn't even use it. There were two pair of dirty panties under the bed, and in the bathroom the baseboards, part of the floor, as well as the fans had layers of dirt on them.
When we told the owners about the lack of cleanliness, they quickly cleaned the baseboards, removed the dirty undies and apologized profusely. They left the dirt on the floor and fans and said they'd give it a thorough cleaning upon our departure. It would have been nice had it been done immediately. We did not feel this room was worth the price we paid, and they did not offer to compensate us for the problems we experienced.
Breakfast was delicious but wasn't three courses as mentioned on their brochure. The dining room was gorgeous and the candlelight was a nice touch.
The owners seem to be wonderful people and I'm guessing this wasn't the status quo. I'd say stay at the Wright Inn, but pick a room in the main part of the house and don't celebrate in the Celebration Suite:)

  • Liked — The woodwork and antiques in the commnon areas
  • Disliked — the Celebration Suite--our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OhitikaWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Property: The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Address: 235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing