We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #13 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House. Bob and Barbara greeted us upon arrival and made us feel welcome. Bob helped us select restaurants and plan our time, including directions to each destination. Breakfast was great and very generous. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and found that we lingered at the table over conversation. Our room had a tiny balcony overlooking the street -- we enjoyed reading there.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different -- review them on the website or discuss with the Innkeepers so that it...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 610 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just arrived back in Raleigh after our three days at the wonderful Wright Inn. We are a group of attorneys who wanted some place away from the Grove Park or other hotels. I made contact with Bob and everything was perfect from that point. Bob worked so well with my office manager, Michele to make sure everything was just right. When we had to leave early for our conference on Friday morning, Tom was so accommodating and arranged for us to have breakfast at 8:00 although regular service time is 9:00. Tom was there for everything we needed. Barbara was there to make sure everything we needed was available. When I told her to not worry about it, she said "I do worry". There is no need to worry--we will all be back to Asheville and we will be back at Wright Inn. I can't say enough good about the owners. As to the house, it is beautiful. My friend, Lisa and I so enjoy Victorian homes and all of the beautiful antiques. I felt so at home. I simply did not want to leave.

Room Tip: The Wright Room and the Green Room were our favorites. The Green Room has a little balcony. The Wr...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Beautiful building and very nice accommodations. Hosts were quite pleasant and made some accommodation to my dietary needs. Requested early (7:30) coffee due to an early departure flight but no one was up at that time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Wright_Inn, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Robert is correct in his review where he stated that he made if very clear that he would not be joining us for breakfast the final day of his stay. He had to be at the airport early. We immediately volunteered to provide a "To Go" breakfast for him and told him where to find it in the guest refrigerator on the morning of departure. As Robert stated in his review, he did request very early coffee so he could enjoy it at the airport.

We prepared the coffee pot for this, had the water in a pot ready, and notes on the pot as to where to add the water. A note to this effect was also placed on the side of his breakfast bag explaining the coffee pot functions and telling him where his travel cup (with lid) was located. We thought everything was covered.

We should have placed a reminder note on his bed because he forgot the location of his "To Go" breakfast bag which meant that he never saw the other directions either. We missed each other by approximtely 1 minute in he am.

Our lesson in this is to remind every guest of special arrangements which effect them. We will also place a written reminder in their room where it can not Be missed. We felt really bad that this occurred. Robert was/is a great guest and we wanted everything to go properly.

All we could do at this point was to call and remind Robert of the conversations we had relating to his early departure and his breakfast location. He seemed rather embarrassed by this memory lapse and we had a good laugh about it. I honestly expected him to correct the errors in his review but the main point was that he had a good time while he was here and he stated that he would return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Wright Inn on April 14th-17th. Bob & Barbara were both kind and friendly. Breakfast was at 9 a.m. - a perfect time for casual vacationers! We also enjoyed meeting the other guests over a beautiful plated breakfast and discussing our plans for the day. The room was very clean & cozy. The location is quiet and is within 1 mile of the downtown - we enjoyed walking past all the flowering trees in the neighborhood on our way to visit the downtown!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Wright Inn in Ashville. Barbara and Bob were consummate hosts and made our visit to North Carolina a memorable one. We stayed in the Celebration Suite which was superbly appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our hosts were a mine of local information and thanks to their maps and directions we were able to make the most of our limited time there. The breakfasts were excellent and their advice on choosing local restaurants was invaluable. We hope to return to the Wright Inn for a longer visit sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Celebration Suite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have stayed, literally, in dozens of Bed and Breakfasts in both Canada and the U.S. We stayed in 6 on a recent trip to the southern U.S. Wright Inn is located in a very nice section of the city, walking distance to downtown. It is quaint, but has its shortcomings: The breakfast is at 9 AM, no other option. That's simply too late to start on the road or sightsee. By the time we got to the Biltmore Estate, it was crazy busy at 10:10 AM. The breakfast portions were so small you almost needed a magnifying glass. This is the smallest breakfast we have ever encountered in a B&B. Our room was small and the bathroom was a converted closet. Two people could not be in the bathroom at the same time. The shower head barely operated. In short, this is an average B&B at best.

Room Tip: Be sure you book one of their larger rooms on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Wright_Inn, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

For readers of this review, I need to add some clarity to this evaluation. First, The general breakfast time of 9AM is clearly stated on our website and should be taken into consideration and discussed before booking; however if it does not meet your plans, speak up while you're here and we can handle it as there are breakfast options. This past weekend we had a guest with a conflict and their breakfast was served at 8:30. Another guest was on the road at 5 AM with a travel bag breakfast. Ruth and Samuel, did you even ask for another option?
Let me also give readers the menus for the two days you were here so they can determine if indeed a magnifying glass was needed or not. Previously all our online reviews praise our selections and no one has ever said they left hungry.
Menu April 3, 2013: Tropical fruit with amaretto sauce and a muffin, Pineapple French toast (two slices) and two slices of smoked kielbasa, fresh fruit garnish (orange slice, strawberry and blueberries.)
April 4th: Fresh Strawberries Romanoff with orange sauce and a whole slice of banana bread, egg strata (in 8 oz. ramekin ) two slices of bacon and a homemade biscuit.
We are truly sorry you felt this inadequate.
In regards to the room, there were no closets in this original Barber home. The room you stayed in has a queen size bed, armoire, dresser, night stand and two wing back chairs, plus the small stairs that lead out to the private porch. Sorry that both of you could not be in the bathroom at the same time. Victorian homes have smaller rooms than say Arts and Craft homes.
Had you said something, we could have changed your room with one that has a larger bathroom, breakfast time could easily have been handled and I honestly think amount of food served is not an issue as attested to by hundreds of others.
You never gave us the opportunity to assist with any of these issues but instead, you left angry and write what most people consider an anonymous post. All you had to do during your days here was to tell us about what didn't meet your expectations and we would have diligently worked to correct anything that we could to make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent two nights in the Wright Suite this week. What a delightful experience. Everything worked, the place is clean, very well maintained and is in a convenient location in Asheville. The breakfasts are truly gourmet - some of the best I have had anywhere. The owners, Bob and Barbara, are a delight, always right there to serve, help, provide information and directions. I recommend this Inn very highly and look forward to our next visit. Gene & Kamila.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
777 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
758 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $168 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing