We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asheville Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #16 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Asheville Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We felt like we were on a movie set in that gracious and ambient victorian home. Bob and Barbara made us feel at home, fed us beautifully, and gave us helpful information which contributed to our full enjoyment Asheville. We're grateful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    53
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
70
391
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nokesville, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great place to stay - one of the best B&B's we've been to. Barbara and Bob were very friendly and hospitable - offering to help with suggestions and directions to places in the area. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious. We also enjoyed the wine and appetizers in the afternoon. We noticed lots of little "extra touches" throughout the inn which made our stay even more enjoyable. If we ever return to Asheville, we will definitely go back! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My fiance and I have been to Asheville probably 7 times in the last year. We love all aspects of the city. In planning our last visit we found that the B&Bs are almost priced the same as the hotels. We chose the Wright Inn for its great prices and perfect location. The house is decorated beautifully, the staff is on their "A" game during breakfast making sure you have everything you need, and we were able to walk to all of our weekend activities. Why would we stay in a hotel ever again?! We will definitely be checking the availability at Wright Inn and Carriage House when we plan our next Asheville trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed while visiting Asheville with friends. Barbara and Bob run an outstanding place to spend a few days. We enjoyed the wine and cheese time in the evening and got to know some of the other guests. Breakfast was really terrific. The Inn is well located for spending time in the Asheville area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocBRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was one of the nicest bed and breakfasts we’ve stayed at. The breakfasts are delicious, and they even sell a book containing their recipes, something I was thrilled to discover. They also provide written directions to a number of places, such as the Blue Ridge Parkway, which work better than your GPS. Every day they have complimentary cookies and soft drinks available, and complimentary wine and cheese are served late in the afternoon on weekends. We stayed in the Wright Suite, a spacious room located on the first floor with a very comfortable king-size bed. This suite has its own breakfast room opening onto the wrap-around porch. Our breakfast was delivered right to our room. The advantage to this is that you can eat even if you haven’t gotten up early enough to make yourself presentable to others. The disadvantage is that you can hear all the other guests talking in the dining room, located just outside this suite, and you may feel as if there’s a party going on to which you weren’t invited. This lovely B&B is one of the places discussed on the local Gray Line historic trolley tour, and, since the trolley goes right by this Inn, you can make arrangements to catch it at the Inn instead of at the Visitor Center downtown. The owners and staff at the Inn were helpful and attentive to our needs. I would recommend this
B&B to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paciano, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

All-in-all a nice place to stay. The owners and staff were all extremely courteous and helpful with local information. Walking into the historic district is mostly a pleasant 1 mile stroll, the exception being a short leg over Interstate 240.

Our room was on the third floor. We had a private bathroom but had to cross the hall to use it. This was no problem since they provided luxurious robes. Be aware that the shower can suddenly switch from hot to cold if someone downstairs turns on their water.

There are also numerous "public" areas around the house where you can read or hang with friends.

Breakfast is at 0900 sharp. They have good, hot coffee ready by 0730.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location of Wright Inn was very convenient and you could walk to downtown Asheville. The owners and staff were helpful and the house was nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good although it was only served at 9:00 so you can't leave early. The biggest issue we had was payment. Since you pay as a deposit beforehand, you are already paid when you arrive. We got our credit card statement and realized we had been charged three separate times for just one night. The excess charges were around $500. We called and they did immediately refund the larger of the excess charges. But, we had to call two more times and wait about a week to get the second excess charge removed. So just be sure to check your statement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaSeesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We owe this guest a sincere apology. Even though the action was caused by a simple administrative error, the result was the same. We were available for the first notification call and corrected the error immediately. The second concern was called in while we were out of town for a week of much needed R&R. Immediately upon our return (the same day) the problem was corrected and the money was refunded. We also contacted our credit card processing company to ensure that there were no additional errors of this type. This process was made much more difficult by the guest processing a "Stop Pay" on the credit card transaction and not informing us of that action. This was processed by the Credit Card processing company AFTER our immediate refunds took place.
We sincerely apologize for this error. Please rest assured that this is not our normal practice and in fact, in the 8+ years we have owned this inn, this has never happened previously. This comedy of errors was used as a training tool for our staff members and this type of failure will never happen again.
Even though this immediately corrected issue caused a very severe rating of "3"out of "5" (we are confused by the severity), we are glad that the other aspects of your trip were enjoyable and hope you will return as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Property: The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Address: 235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing