We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home in Asheville - Wright Inn & Carriage House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #12 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Asheville, and staying at the Wright Inn greatly enhanced our experience. The house stands in all its vintage glory in the middle of an old residential neighborhood surrounded by magnificent trees, but also affords easy access to downtown, Biltmore estate and village, and other areas of interest. The owners and manager were hospitable and knowledgeable hosts in true "southern style." The formal breakfast served in the warm surroundings of the antique filled inn was fresh and hearty and prepared one for a day of sightseeing. Our sleeping room was on the third floor, and while requiring some climbing, added to the charm of staying in an inn rather than traditional hotel. From our dormer windows we looked out onto the canopy of trees that offered a hint of the glorious Fall colors yet to be enjoyed. Thank you Bob, Barbara and Shirley. We look forward to our next visit, Joan & Margaret

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretS203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 640 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose this Inn because of its inviting web-site and reviews; however, we were disappointed with several things. Our room was on the third floor, which was extremely difficult to get to. Getting to the second floor was easy, but in order to get to the third floor, one had to go up steep narrow stairs that turned half way up. Although there were railings, they only accommodated part of the stairs. It was not fun taking suitcases up, then down these scary stairs, much less traversing them hands free. Our room was nicely appointed, but it had a separate bath in a common hallway. We knew this, but were surprised by the condition of the bathroom. On first appearance, it looked clean; however, numerous long dark hairs were noted all over the floor (we have short hair), and it looked generally dirty. The first breakfast was terrible and consisted of an egg pie?, filled with mysterious ingredients, poor taste, along with an overly sweet cobbler. No toast or bread product was served, or offered. No juices were seen. Apparently, there was yogurt and soft drinks in a refrigerator outside the kitchen, but we did not know this until we were getting ready to leave. The Innkeepers and an older staff member were friendly, helpful with directions and ideas, which was good. Overall, the experience was a disappointment, and not what we were used to.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Since you have decided to air your dissatisfaction in such a public forum, I feel I must address some of these issues as others reading them may question our integrity.
Whenever anyone books a third floor room, we make sure they understand that they must go up another floor which is accessed by a "servants' backstairs." Guest are also apprised that two of the rooms on this floor have detached, private baths across the small sitting area as there is no hallway on this floor. As stated in your review, you knew this and booked the room anyway yet seem somehow surprised.
We try to keep our rooms spotless as most guests have attested to. Our housekeepers do the cleaning and then it's inspected by Bob or myself, or an assistant innkeeper. If some hairs escaped detection, all you had to do was say something and the issue would have been addressed. To say that the bathroom was generally dirty is totally untrue.
Egg pie? The dish you had was a creamy egg strata and has been on our guests' favorites list for over eight years. Mysterious ingredients? All recipes sit out in the parlor for your perusal. Or you could have asked. Actually the strata is made with bread in it and doesn't require a side of "toast." The fruit that day was a peach cobbler which has no added sugar in the recipe. We serve breakfast breads or muffins only on the days it suits the menu. Had you asked for more bread you would have been accommodated. I trust breakfast on the other days you thought more suitable since you did not list them as terrible.
EVERY morning, the dining room side board has water, juice, teas, regular and decaf coffee. I'm not sure how you managed to miss it. Did you ask for assistance?
We go through a very standard, practiced, check in procedure which is designed to give our guests all the necessary information about the house. When you are taken into the dining room, the breakfast procedure is discussed, dietary restrictions checked and on the side board is the menu of the next morning's breakfast, coffee times are mentioned as is the fact that there is a guest refrigerator with ice and other goodies. I don't know how you only found out about the fridge when you were getting ready to leave.
Had any of these issues come to our attention at the time, they would have been handled immediately. Voicing frustration after the fact is like closing the door after the horse has escaped.
In closing, I would like to thank this reviewer for giving us the identical rating that she gave the Biltmore Estate. At least we are ranked equally alongside the largest, most opulent private residence in the United States where hospitality was built into its cornerstone also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came with a houseful of women and stayed at the Carriage House behind the Inn. Full patio with furniture, and a gorgeous cottage, considerably more spacious than the Inn. The kitchen was fully stocked, although small, it had coffee and bagels and yogurt waiting for us each morning. The Innkeeper who stays next door always asks after our comfort and ensures his help has completed their duties each day. We came back from a wedding one night plastered creating quite a ruckus before turning in, yet no complaints. Like any vacation home, there's not necessarily ample supplies like silverware or sizeable towels. Can't really complain.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASUgringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Shirley, the innkeeper, was especially friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and their presentation was attractive. We loved the freshly baked cookies in the evening. On the weekends there were extras like wine and cheese on Saturday and snacks in the evening. The inn was in a beautiful historic district, close to downtown. The inn itself is on the national historic registry. Beautiful gardens surround the house.

Room Tip: We had the "maid's quarters" on the third floor. It was a lovely room and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flnative2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Carriage House was a perfect place for a gal's getaway with all the comforts of home. The house is withing walking distance to downtown for a day of shopping and dining. The staff and owner are very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a great time and really enjoyed our visit. Everythng was perfect and the staff is very friendly & helpful. This was our second stay and we will be back. Rooms were clean and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Every bed and breakfast owner in Asheville, especially us, feels like we are "Doing it right" when guests return to see us. It was great to see you folks again and we are also glad that you had a Great Time. Hope to see you again soon.

Bob and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 36th Anniversary. We stayed in many B&B's but found this one particularly warm and inviting. And the other guests were some of the friendliest people that we've ever met. We would return from our day trips to find our room thoughtfully tidied up, bed made and clean thick towels. We stayed in the Green Room and enjoyed our own little balcony. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room was on the small side, but we managed. And as I said enjoyed our won little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Doris,
Meeting wonderful people is another of the reasons to stay in our Asheville Bed and Breakfast inn. The atmosphere is much better than going downstairs for a "Bun on the Run" before you checkout. We congratulate you on your milestone of 36 years. That is really impressive.
Hurry back to see us. We enjoyed you company and also the breakfast suggestion we received via email. We agree on the sweet issue and are already working on it.

Thanks again,
Barbara and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
717 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
257 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $151 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing