We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #15 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

We recently planned a last minute getaway trip to Asheville (first timers) and were fortunate enough to have found this lovely B & B! Bob and Barbara greeted us with a warm welcome and gave us all the information we needed to find our way around town. The old Inn is nestled in a quiet historic neighborhood but is also conveniently within minutes from great scenery, great shopping and great food! The Wright Inn is beautiful, warm and inviting, and it didn't take long to feel like home away from home. The breakfasts were amazing (thanks for the coffee and biscuit tips!). We have found that once you experience all a B & B has to offer you'll never want to stay at a chain hotel again! We definitely hope to return and have already recommended this charming Inn to our friends!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ga_peach077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    53
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
389
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reiser1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

Was in Asheville on business- usually I stay in chain hotels. But this time did something different.

I am so glad that I did!!!!!!

What a wonderful place to stay. Had a super breakfast served to me both mornings. What a relief not to have to go to some resturant.

And the Inn itself is so grand and beautiful. I recommend it so anyone- also very very reasonable for the price!

It is also very close to downtown, which is very quaint and enjoyable. I walked there a few times.

  • Liked — The Inn itself is so beautiful- over 100 years old. But bathrooms modern- felt like a real home.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

The Wright Inn is beautiful. It looks just like the pictures on line. However, much to our surprise and complete dismay, the bed was EXCRUCIATINGLY uncomfortable. The bed was HARD and if you were close to the side it began to droop and you felt as if you would roll off. I had a backache after my first sleepless night. I asked if something could be done and the answer was "Sorry". Because of the cancellation policy, if we left, we would have been out 50% of a 3 night stay and so that was not a realistic option. As a result, we had to go out and buy a mattress topper for their bed!!! I also bought a pillow because only one of the pillows on our bed was not hard.

Additionally, my husband had to leave for a meeting each morning before the 9AM breakfast. Once this was expressed, their answer was a sweet "Sorry". So, he had to buy himself breakfast each morning. We didn't expect a hot breakfast, but, I do not think it would have been difficult to put out a muffin or a bagel for him. This seemed very inflexible to me, especially considering the price for the stay.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
This issue confuses me greatly. Guests before and after this one constantly ask about the brand of mattress in this room so they can purchase one for themselves. Not only is it one of the best that money can buy, it also has a memory foam topper that makes it feel heavenly. We also do not understand the breakfast issue because we routinely make a "To Go Breakfast" for those folks that must leave and begin their day early (with advance notice).

We did not get the opportunity to speak with this guest (due to our being out of town) and an "Innsitter" was managing the Inn for us. We had used this particular innsitter previously and have used their services since, always with high praise from other guests.

We do not know what really caused this concern and we wish that we had heard of the issue before finding it on this review. We now can only SINCERELY apologize, and do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanGerman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed in the Wright Inn for our wedding night and the night after. The room was beautiful, but a little small. We loved the balcony, but agreed if we stayed longer, we’d want a larger room. Our friend checked us in earlier in the day and kindly bought us a bottle of champagne. When we arrived at 1am, we found it on ice in our room with plate of chocolate covered strawberries next to it – a nice surprise. We were late for breakfast both days, but they held our meals for us. The first day, I thought we were only having muffins, but they brought us a tasty egg casserole dish as well. We had stuffed French toast the second day. Both meals were delicious.

Since we had family in town, we didn’t ask them for directions or even spend much time at the inn, but the time we were there was pleasant. We were left alone at breakfast except for food service. It was clear we were too exhausted to chat, and they respected that. Overall, our experience was good and we felt well-taken care of.

  • Liked — comfortable room, good food, service
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericanGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

I was visiting the Ashville area/Biltmore Estates for the first time and wanted to stay at a B&B that was old & historic but clean, comfortable, and warm. The Wright Inn was perfect. The owners, Barbara & Bob Gilmore, were very friendly and hospitable. The house was charming! I feltl like I had stepped back in time, but yet had all the comforts of a modern-day home. The location of the Inn is ideal....it was so easy to get to downtown Ashville and to the Biltmore Estates. The breakfasts were scrumptious! I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience. I will return someday and I would recommend this B&B to anybody wanting to visit the Ashville area and stay in an Inn that is "just right"!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank DHKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

My fiancé and I stayed at the Wright Inn during a sweet weekend tour of Asheville and the Biltmore Estates. The Inn is lovely, correction; the Inn is strikingly beautiful and just as pictured in their website. It’s situated in an older tree-lined neighborhood mostly consisting of other Victorian-styled homes and B&B’s, a few miles from downtown Asheville.

The Celebration Suite: This suite is unique compared to the others mostly because of its location. All of the other rooms are located in the actual house, whereas the Celebration Suite is below. I don’t want to call it a basement per se, but that’s where it is. The (private) entrance to this suite is located on the right side of the house, then one step down into the suite.

Pros:
This suite has ‘some’ vintage furnishings, but has a slight modern twist compared to the others. We thought that the painted clouds on the walls gave the room a fresh look actually. It’s also the only unit w/ a Jacuzzi tub (large square style tub w/ brass fixtures), which was a pleasant treat to step into after walking 6-7 hours through the Biltmore Estates… wearing cutsie sandals. The suite has a convenient mini-fridge, coffee maker, gourmet coffees & teas, and an (electric) fireplace, which made our stay even cozier.

Cons:
1) Part of me liked the seclusion of the Celebration, but part of me would have liked to enjoy the Victorian style interior of the upstairs suites. 2) the ceilings in this Celebration Suite are low and there’s only one small window, so if you’re claustrophobic (or exceptionally tall) then this might not be a good choice for you. 3) If you have any dietary requests please let the staff know when you check in or call them in the morning to remind them. I don’t eat pork and my fiancé alerted the hosts of this when he made the reservation, but they served me pork anyway. The hosts were so gracious that I didn’t say anything about it at the table. I felt as if I was an actual guest in their home, and not a paying customer (Not sure if that’s a good or bad thing though.)

  • Liked — The building itself – it is so beautiful. There’s an aura about this house that made us feel comfortable as soon as we pulled up the driveway
  • Disliked — The customary group breakfast common to most B&B’s. The dinning room is exquisite with silk napkins and fine china, however next time I’ll probably ask our hosts if we could enjoy b-fast in the comfort of our room and forgo having to exchange awkward chit-chat with strangers over coffee
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Blusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

My wife & I were very fortunate to find a last minute weekend reservation available with Bob & Barbara at their wonderful B & B.

We found the Wright Inn to be superior in many ways:

• Barbara's recipes were far beyond anything we had experienced at other B&Bs. Absolutely 5 stars! (Watch for her cookbook...)
• The accomodations were excellent & just as represented by their web site.
• Above all, they went out of their way to be helpful & ensure that we had everything we needed—including advice, directions and suggestions about what to avoid. They could not have been better hosts!

  • Liked — The most gracious hosts!
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bulletsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Property: The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Address: 235 Pearson Drive, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing