We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe too many rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Ranked #15 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe too many rooms”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Powell suite. Beautiful room and furnishings. Unfortunately the room was on the second floor right at the top of the stairs. House is quite creaky especially as other guests go up and down to third floor. Have stayed at other Victorian BB and were not as noisy. Our first morning we went down for breakfast but all the space at the tables were taken so we forgo breakfast. The early morning coffee ran out quickly as the inn was full and only a small carafe was put out. . Maybe with so many guests a larger carafe or two should of been left out. Second day was easier to get a seat for breakfast. The owners live next door but never saw there presence. Overall beautiful setting, but maybe too big that it's loses some quaint charm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Jeanne, I am confused by your memory of the floor plan of the house. The Powell Suite is located in the middle of the second floor, not the top of the stairs, so I don't know what you're remembering.  I'm sorry you thought the floors were noisy, however, many other guests talk about how quiet the house is.  Too big of an inn?  We've been successfully doing  this for eight years and this is the first time I've heard people not getting breakfast because they didn't know where to sit or to inquire  about it.  Shirley, our inn manager, made a special trip upstairs to make your requested early morning pot of coffee at 7 A.M.  She put it in the usual ten cup SMALL CARAFE.  By the time she showered and got back to the kitchen at 7:30, that pot was indeed empty, and your husband was in the kitchen trying unsuccessfully to brew another pot in the commercial Bunn coffee maker.  There was a full pot of regular and one of decaf sitting there untouched.
Shirley replenished the supply with the second carafe kept on the counter and kept the coffee going as we always do whether the inn was full or not.  Just how many people were up at 7 A.M. drinking the coffee?  
When we have a full house, there are ten place settings at the dining room table, two tables for four each in the parlors and two setting in the suite with the private breakfast room.  We can only have twenty people in the house, so there is a place for everyone.  If you had a problem with seating arrangement, why didn't you simply ask where to sit?  I always find it amazing that people can have a complaint, say nothing and then blast us on the internet.  It would have been so much more pleasant to just inquire and get the situation handled instead of seething over it.  I'm offended at getting penalized because you didn't say something about a situation that could have easily been handled.
As far as never seeing our presence, I do apologize for that.  We do have a residence on the same property next as the inn. We came back late Saturday from the funeral of a family member in Michigan. But why do I have a feeling that even if we had been there, pouring your coffee, you still wouldn't have been happy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    53
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
74
395
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a fantastically charming house - the perfect Bed & Breakfast, made all the more so by the wonderfully welcoming owners & their manager who make you feel like you're staying with dear friends. The breakfasts were truly spectacular and delicious and we were very comfortable even staying on the 3rd floor. Barbara & Bob really made it a totally pleasant experience with their warm, sincere and attentive care and the house and period details are just gorgeous.

If I'm ever in Asheville again, there's no question Wright Inn is where I'd stay!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their own bathroom inside the room, although for the ones that don't - yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Nice, very clean, and quiet Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTHA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
521 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Beautiful and impressive Victorian home, ambitiously and attentively run by Barbara and Bob. Great state, very atmospheric and charming in a nice and absolutely quiet surrounding heighborhood. Large porch invites to sit reading and/or sipping a drink, looking into the beautiful park. Breakfast was one of our favourites during our trip through several B&Bs along the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Wright Inn is located quite close to Asheville's centre and the attractions like Biltmore.
All in all: more than a clear recommendation when staying in Asheville! You'll get real value for money.

Room Tip: no particular pick, all rooms are neatly, nicely decorated and very calm, due to the location in a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I were stopping over for a couple nights in Asheville on our way to a planned family reunion in West Virginia when Mother Nature forced a change of plans. The wind storm that hit the Northeast a few weeks ago had raked across several states including West Virginia and shut down the resort where we were going to hold the reunion.

The family gathering turned into a family scattering as everyone had to make new plans. Many family members beat a hasty retreat home but my wife and I decided to extend our stay at the Wright Inn in Asheville. What a great place to be "stuck."

The owners, Bob and Barbara, were very accommodating as we booked 4 additional nights at the Inn. And the Inn Manager, Shirley, proved to be a great resource as we hastily made plans for where to go, what to see, and where to eat in Asheville. Shirley knows it all.

Best of all, after the third night at the Wright Inn, our rate dropped to half the initial room rate. We could not have stayed at a discount motel for less.

First class accomodations, a gourmet breakfast, gracious hosts, and great location made for a wonderful stay. If we find ourselves in Asheville (and we likely will) we would definitely stay in the Wright Inn again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rmechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Barbara, Shirley and I were very glad that we were able to assist in salvaging your vacation plans. You folks we very flexible and were also a real pleasure to spend time with, even while dealing with circumstances which make a lot of people "testy". Asheville is a very nice town to get "stuck" in and we are also glad that the Wright Inn bed and breakfast was able to be of assistance. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Wright Inn is one of the best Inns we ever stayed at. The location is perfect, the owners Bob and Barbara were attentive, friendly, and very helpful in pointing us into the right direction. Our room as well as the whole house were charming. The breakfast was delicious for all the three days we stayed there. We will return to Asheville and this where we will stay again.

Colette

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, and it was dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
You folks were great. Hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this beautiful Victorian home just a few minutes from all the attractions in Asheville. We had been in 4 B&B's on this trip, and the breakfast here was our favorite. The manager was also extremely knowledgeable about all the attractions and restaurants, and provided us with directions to every place we wanted to go. When we come back to Asheville we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmo999, Owner at The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. As you discovered, Asheville is a wonderful welcoming town and we at the Wright Inn bed and breakfast do our best to make sure everyone has all of the knowledge necessary to enjoy it to the fullest. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,563 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House

Property: The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Address: 235 Pearson Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1899 Wright Inn Bed and Breakfast & Carriage House of Asheville, North Carolina is one of the finest examples of Queen Anne Victorian architecture found in the Historic Montford District and all of Western North Carolina, featuring Whirlpool Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and comfortable accommodations. The Wright Inn's Bed and Breakfast accommodations have all the comforts of an era gone by, but all the conveniences of modern day Asheville. Each of our 10 guest rooms and suites are distinctly decorated in turn-of-the-century charm and period decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing