We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nirvana at the 1889 Whitegate Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nirvana at the 1889 Whitegate Inn”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the 1889 Whitegate Inn for one week during a road trip through Virginia and North Caroline this summer. I discovered the Inn while doing research on lodging options in Asheville and then called to ask questions and book our room.

We stayed at the Walt Whitman Suite. It was very private and quiet and came with a sitting room, two flat screen tv's with built in dvd players, a cd player and great sound system, a steam shower and two person jacuzzi and spacious bathroom. We would return from our daily travels and relax until dinnertime.

The grounds were gorgeous and we would wander the extensive gardens and greenhouse feeling like Alice in Wonderland. The Inn was impecabbly decorated in a style consistent with the era of the building. The hosts and their staff were always accomodating and dedicated to enhancing the stay of their guests.

The three course breakfast was over the top and no detail was overlooked. In addition, there was a daily "social hour" where one could imbibe delicious wines and snacks and meet the other guests. Amaretto awaited guests nightly and there were always snacks and bottled water available.

Asheville itself is a wonderfully eclectic, artsy and liberal oasis in the southern mountains. It is a jewel worth visiting as is the 1889 Whitegate Inn. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    55
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
395
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadesboro, NC
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Location and facilities suited us perfectly. No mountain views, but very close to downtown Asheville--restaurants, etc.

  • Liked — ADA Compliant, privacy
  • Disliked — Lack of mountain views
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SailorWadesboro_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We booked this trip to celebrate our 11th anniversary, and our only requirements were a great location and peaceful setting. We were pleased to find that the 1889 White Gate Inn is owned and run by two excellent hosts who entertained us with stories at social hours and breakfasts, were knowledgeable about the area and dining options, and provided wonderful breakfasts each morning. Our expectations were exceeded to say the least. The "one seating" approach may not be ideal for those wanting a more private get-away, but my husband and I loved getting to know other couples celebrating weddings, anniversaries, weekends away from kids, etc. We are already trying to figure out when we can make it up Asheville again....

  • Liked — location, grounds, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ISONorthStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Our stay at the 1989 Whitegate Inn was a wonderful experience. The property is just stunning--both indoors and out. The gardens are world-class, with spectacular water features and incredibly beautiful plantings. Indoors the decorations are elegant, yet there is a very "homey" feel to the place. We stayed in the Elizabeth Barrett Browning suite, and it was perfect. Very comfortable bed, stunning bathroom with 2-person jacuzzi and spacious shower, beautiful fireplace, a large flat-screen television, and all the amenities you'd want. The innkeepers and staff were warm and friendly, with lots of information about things to do in the area.

My only complaint is with the breakfasts. While many reviews here laud the food, I was disappointed. Both days of our weekend stay we were served 3 courses: a fruit cup, a small quiche-like dish with no meat, and a small turnover for dessert. It was very tasty, but there just wasn't much of it. For the money we paid, I would expect a large, homestyle breakfast where no one went away hungry. Also, the 3 courses were all that were offered. So if you didn't like it, or if you're watching your weight or otherwise preferred something else, you were out of luck. I think breakfast could be easily improved by offering muffins, bread, or bagels, offering more juice selections (only orange juice is available), and offering more hearty selections like ham or sausage biscuits, omelettes, or some other meat dish. However, I have to say that the time spent at breakfast with the other guests was fun and interesting, with the innkeepers joining us towards the end to spur conversation and inform us of local happenings and things to do.

Despite my disappointment with breakfast, I would heartily recommend this inn to anyone. It is truly beautiful, and its location can't be beat. You can easily walk to downtown Asheville, where there is no shortage of interesting shops, restaurants, and things to do. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Our room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbyunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at White Gate. The innkeepers and staff are very friendly and accommodating. My husband and I felt very comfortable there during our two-night stay. It was very clean, the gardens are beautiful, and the breakfasts were delicious.

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML92306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

The Walt Whitman suite is just a magnificent room! We very much appreciated the details of design and convenience. The artwork adds so much to the space along with the gorgeous furnishings. The bath is huge and beautiful. We were sorry we had to leave so early that we missed the breakfast. If we’re ever back in Asheville we’ll book that room again!

  • Liked — Classy taste in furnishings and individual style.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I work in the travel industry and came across this B & B while searching B & B's in the Asheville area. We arrived after a full day at the Biltmore Mansion. Anthony greeted us and show us around the grounds and to our room. We stayed in the Dorothy Parker room and was quite spacious. Bed very comfortable. Great flat scren TV and wonderful bathroom and some great complmentaty tolietries, even a mini container of lip balm. Ralph oversees the gardens and must say they are just spectacular. We felt so welcomed and invited for a wine and snack get together in the late afternoon. Breakfast in the morning was most unbelievable. The sitting room always had coffee, teas, water and sodas, as well as all kinds of treats; cakes cookies etc. Should we find ourselves back in Asheville, I would definitely stay at the 1899 Whitegate Inn, again. The owners were always concerned that the guests we finding everything satisfactory, and spent time visiting with each guests. Great customer satisfaction.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank msschlesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Bunn House
#14 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing