We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
“Fantastic B & B”
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I work in the travel industry and came across this B & B while searching B & B's in the Asheville area. We arrived after a full day at the Biltmore Mansion. Anthony greeted us and show us around the grounds and to our room. We stayed in the Dorothy Parker room and was quite spacious. Bed very comfortable. Great flat scren TV and wonderful bathroom and some great complmentaty tolietries, even a mini container of lip balm. Ralph oversees the gardens and must say they are just spectacular. We felt so welcomed and invited for a wine and snack get together in the late afternoon. Breakfast in the morning was most unbelievable. The sitting room always had coffee, teas, water and sodas, as well as all kinds of treats; cakes cookies etc. Should we find ourselves back in Asheville, I would definitely stay at the 1899 Whitegate Inn, again. The owners were always concerned that the guests we finding everything satisfactory, and spent time visiting with each guests. Great customer satisfaction.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank msschlesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    55
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
400
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

This was a beautiful old house and our room was very nice. We had the Emiliy Dickenson room. There was a living room, bedroom, and TINY bathroom. They had to put the sink/vanity inthe livingroom since that bathroom was so small. But the shower was actually quite spacious.
There was a electric fireplace (yes, electric) in the livingroom which gave it a cozy feeling even though there was no real fire. If you watch tv, there was a small LCD tv also with built in DVD player.
We loved the evening wine and snacks. Plenty of good food to hold you off if you like to take a late dinner.
The rest of the house was also beautiful. The parlor had a nice piano which was often playing on it's own (must be haunted). Lots of nice decorations.
My only complaint, and I've read thru some of the other reviews, so I'm surprised noone else had mentioned it... was the breakfast. Now at a "Bed & Breakfast", I'd expect half the experience to be the "breakfast". Thus, the subject of my title... I hope you're not too hungry. The food was very nice, but there wasn't much of it. I'm not a big eater, either. And I rarely eat a large breakfast. We stayed 2 nights, so we had 2 breakfasts there. Both times, it was a small bowl of some kind of warmed fruit. One day, some pears and the next was some peaches. I didn't care for either of these. Second course was some kind of quiche. Both days, the quiche was very tasty. Then finally, third course was a very tiny turnover-style dessert. Again, very tasty, but that's all. I left the breakfast both times, still hungry. And I guess I could have asked for another quiche, but with such a crowded room, I would have felt akward.
In my opinion, with the price you pay for such a fancy place, I would have expected a sit down breakfast where you order what you want and they make it fresh. But again, maybe it's just me cause I don't see anyone else complaining in this forum.

So all in all, a very nice place, great staff, nice rooms. I would still recommend it, but just plan on eating an early lunch when you walk over to downtown Asheville :-)

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We found this beautiful B&B's website on the internet and booked a weekend get-a-way from the city. My husband and I had never been to Asheville before, so this was a first.

From the moment we drove into the parking lot, the property looked so nice and well, kept. The gardens were beautiful, the staff was extremely kind and helpful.

Our room was the Robert Frost room and it was decorated so comfortably. The bathroom had all the workings of a modern bathroom while maintaining the original look of the house. My husband and I were very comfortable in the room.

The breakfast each morning was tasty and great. I was so pleased they accommodated my husband's special dietary needs.

We did purchase a spa package during our stay. Steve and Sandy were very nice and were kind enough to wait for us while we were running late. The spa treatment was conducted in our room with portable tables. I was disappointed in the table set-up. One of the portable tables was extremely short and my husband's legs dangled off of it. Another thing that I was not happy about was when the esthetician giving the facials would apply a mask on the face, and then move down to our feet and massage that, and then come right back to our face without washing her hands. That just seemed a little strange and slightly gross considering we had just been touring and walking all over Asheville prior to our returning to the Inn.

To sum it all up, the Inn was amazing and I will return, but next time, I may just book a spa package at an actual spa rather then have the treatment at the Inn.

  • Liked — People, Food, Property, the room
  • Disliked — the Spa treatment
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meliss1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We enjoyed this Inn very much. It is within walking distance of downtown Asheville, so you can leave your car and not have to try and park downtown. The owners and staff were great and will do anything necessary for your comfort and enjoyment. Each day at 9:00 a.m. there is a full three-course breakfast and at 5:30 p.m. there is a social hour with wine and hors d'oeuvres. They have coffee and homemade cookies at all times as well as soft drinks and bottled water. The owners have two well-behaved and entertaining Welsh Corgis. They are fun but not intrusive when on the loose. You will enjoy your stay here.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bbtravelerCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My husband and I wanted to escape for a nice weekend in the mountains and the WhiteGate turned out to be FANTASTIC! We stayed in the Ralph Waldo Emerson suite in the newly renovated Carriage House, and everything was perfect! It is decorated exquisitely, and the bathroom with the jacuzzi tub and separate spa shower was phenomenal. Besides being newly renovated, the nice thing about staying in the Carriage House is that it is separate from the main house which I think gives you a little more privacy. It had everything we needed to make it an ideal weekend, and more! The bed with all the plush pillows was great for watching a movie on a rainy afternoon on the flat screen LCD with built in DVD player hanging over the fireplace. They even have a DVD library in the main house if you didn’t bring any movies along! They have pretty much everything you would need in the room, including a mini fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, maps of the city, local restaurant reviews – even wineglasses and a corkscrew for enjoying a bottle of wine while relaxing in the jacuzzi tub or in a rocking chair on the porch. The breakfasts are great, and they are very accommodating for any special requests for food allergies, etc – you just have to let them know the evening before. We had a great trip and we definitely recommend it for the perfect RELAXING and ROMANTIC getaway!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemson_tigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the whitegate inn this year as we had our civil union ceremony performed here along with our stay. It was the best experience I have ever had. The Inn was so clean and neat. The Owners and innkeepers were very pleasant and helpful. They booked reservations whenever we wanted to eat, gave us revews on restaraunts answered any questions we had at will. I would recommend them to anyone who wants a lovely, revitalizing getaway. Don't come as a business getaway because the relaxation you feel here will make you forget that you have any business dealings. I give them 5 thumbs up and we will be staying there again for our one year anniversary.

  • Liked — The friendlyness of the innkeepers and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tufcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the White Gate Inn for two nights last week. So glad we did rather than just another hotel!

We arrived and checked in to the Emily Dickinson Suite. It had everything we needed, including bathrobes, wine glasses and a corkscrew, remote-controlled "fireplace," and TV with built-in DVD player. Also lots of maps and write-ups of local restaurants, not that we needed them as the staff (Frank, Steve, and a woman whose name I didn't catch) gave us many recommendations.

Breakfast was the highlight of our stay, however. I had heard great things about the food, but was pleasantly surprised by the fresh flowers and lit candles on the table, Lenox china and silver coffee service! Brilliantly done on both days (including the flourless chocolate cake for dessert!), and Frank sat with us and gave everyone tips for what to do in the area that day. We bought Biltmore tickets directly from him. If you like having breakfast with all the other guests, meeting them and getting recommendations for good restaurants and attractions in the area, this is the place for you; felt very homey for us.

There was also a big greenhouse on the property but we didn't get a chance to look inside.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, beautiful house, walking distance to downtown
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Bunn House
#17 of 39 in Asheville
112 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
210 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 39 in Asheville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Five Points
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
#16 of 39 in Asheville
238 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing