We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After several days on the road we sank into the luxurious hospitality with gratitude, arriving late to find the lights on and a fire waiting to be lit. Breakfast was fabulous, both the food and the laughter. Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: If you like Mission style furniture, choose the Dorothy Parkder
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 539 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Asheville for business and shared the Joyce Kilmer Suite in one of the cottages (yes, apparently Joyce Kilmer has more than just a rest stop on the NJ Turnpike). The suite was quite spacious with our own kitchen, dining area, and living room in addition to the two bedrooms and one bathroom (with jacuzzi tub). The suite was very clean and tastefully decorated. The area is quiet and we both were able to sleep well on the comfortable bed & luxurious sheets. Our breakfast on the third morning was outstanding with wonderful service in the main dining room.

While the breakfast was truly superb, it may be a problem for some travelers. They serve breakfast at 9 AM, no earlier or later. So if you have a business meeting or need to leave earlier in the morning (or want to sleep in), you are out of luck.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460andrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I selected this inn as a long weekend getaway. We made a very good selection. The inn was very nice. The staff and owners were attentive to our needs and questions. We truly enjoyed the three course breakfasts, and the wine and appetizer hour in the garden was relaxing. I took many pictures in the gardens, I know they will be even more beautiful once everything blooms. Thanks for a great weekend!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ColfaxCynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This visit was a disaster from the very beginning. I received a coupon from my daughter for this stay (mid-week) and called the Inn to reschedule for a weekend (with an upcharge, of course). I had to call twice and was refused any alternative for my mid-week stay (regardless of the additional payment). When I finally arrived at the Inn (which doesn't look anything like the internet photos), I ultimately paid another upcharge for a "nicer" room in the Cottage. My "nicer" room smelled musty and damp. A further disappointment was the food - horrible - I was expecting something extraordinary based on their web site and other TA reviews. The final straw for my stay was the Assistand Manager - he was stoned during several of our gatherings - yes, stoned! Other guests noted his condition and behavior. My final insult was having to listen to this young man arrange several drug deals outside my Cottage Door. Needless to say, I won't be returning to to the Whitegate - ever!

Room Tip: Avoid the Cottage
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelKeith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitegate, Owner at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

When you brought your concerns to us about our evening assistant (He was not our Assistant Manager), we immediately addressed the situation and fired that employee. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

You came to us via a limited run gift certificate that was set to expire, and we did everything we could to accommodate you. Our Guest Cottage is original to the inn and has rustic qualities (i.e. original hard wood floors, double sided fireplace) but does not have a musty smell. The pictures of our Guest Cottage are accurate, with the exception of the recently upgraded couch and chair in the living room.

We are very sorry you were unsatisfied with the inn, the accommodations, or our gourmet three course breakfast. As you can see from countless other reviews, our other guests love staying at our AAA Four Diamond property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

There was not any one available to check us in for over 15 minutes. When Frank did arrive he did not apologize and was very grumpy. We stayed in the Maya Angelou Suite at $359 per night. It was not a Motel 6, but was very dirty and dumpy. We asked for new sheets to replace the stained ones and they were delivered over 2 hours later. We were set to stay for 2 nights, but one was more than enough. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 893JasonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitegate, Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

As a AAA Four Diamond Inn, we hold a high standard for the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeepers strive for perfection. If you read our other reviews, The Maya Angelou Suite is one of our most popular and highly rated units. We are sorry that you felt you were not accommodated properly.

According to our records, we cannot find anyone who has complained about dirty sheets or checked out a day early. Additionally, we do not have a record of anyone from Nashville staying in our Maya Angelou Suite. If you would please give us a call at your earliest convenience, we would like to privately resolve your issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Being as this was our first time staying in a b&b we really didn't know what to expect. Turns out this was a very enjoyable stay. Frank made our stay very entertaining to say the least. The breakfast was very good and obviously a lot of hard work went into the preparation. If only there had been a recliner in our room I would have been so much happier. All the staff were very friendly, Excellent job guys!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our visit to Asheville was a first, so having a comfortable B&B to welcome us to this unique city was important. The WhiteGate was the perfect haven for our visit. We had the pleasure of meeting and spending time with the innkeepers and the very capable staff. Ralph Coffey, the quiet partner, is nicely matched with the enthusiastic and entertaining Frank Salvo. Both make the gourmet breakfast the most impressive meal of the day. Served in style, this three course meal does not disappoint. Family recipes find the way to the table as Frank pulls up a chair and delivers some fun mixed with suggestions for what to do in Asheville. We had the pleasure of staying in the WhiteGate Cottage, which provided a great fireplace and plenty of room. Appointments were stylish, yet comfortable and the atmosphere was casual without all the rules that other B&Bs often force on their guests. Evening wine and treats were delicious. The staff canines Stryker and Ida even appeared to enjoy visiting guests. Wish we could have been there when the gardens were in full bloom as Ralph has a beautiful layout with what must be an award-winning botanical design. So thank you to Frank and Ralph for a wonderful weekend - it's no wonder that you teach others how to become innkeepers. See you again for sure.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamesnaylorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Bunn House
#19 of 39 in Asheville
121 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
229 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 39 in Asheville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $223 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing