We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colfax, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I selected this inn as a long weekend getaway. We made a very good selection. The inn was very nice. The staff and owners were attentive to our needs and questions. We truly enjoyed the three course breakfasts, and the wine and appetizer hour in the garden was relaxing. I took many pictures in the gardens, I know they will be even more beautiful once everything blooms. Thanks for a great weekend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColfaxCynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
388
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This visit was a disaster from the very beginning. I received a coupon from my daughter for this stay (mid-week) and called the Inn to reschedule for a weekend (with an upcharge, of course). I had to call twice and was refused any alternative for my mid-week stay (regardless of the additional payment). When I finally arrived at the Inn (which doesn't look anything like the internet photos), I ultimately paid another upcharge for a "nicer" room in the Cottage. My "nicer" room smelled musty and damp. A further disappointment was the food - horrible - I was expecting something extraordinary based on their web site and other TA reviews. The final straw for my stay was the Assistand Manager - he was stoned during several of our gatherings - yes, stoned! Other guests noted his condition and behavior. My final insult was having to listen to this young man arrange several drug deals outside my Cottage Door. Needless to say, I won't be returning to to the Whitegate - ever!

Room Tip: Avoid the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelKeith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitegate, Owner at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
When you brought your concerns to us about our evening assistant (He was not our Assistant Manager), we immediately addressed the situation and fired that employee. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

You came to us via a limited run gift certificate that was set to expire, and we did everything we could to accommodate you. Our Guest Cottage is original to the inn and has rustic qualities (i.e. original hard wood floors, double sided fireplace) but does not have a musty smell. The pictures of our Guest Cottage are accurate, with the exception of the recently upgraded couch and chair in the living room.

We are very sorry you were unsatisfied with the inn, the accommodations, or our gourmet three course breakfast. As you can see from countless other reviews, our other guests love staying at our AAA Four Diamond property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

There was not any one available to check us in for over 15 minutes. When Frank did arrive he did not apologize and was very grumpy. We stayed in the Maya Angelou Suite at $359 per night. It was not a Motel 6, but was very dirty and dumpy. We asked for new sheets to replace the stained ones and they were delivered over 2 hours later. We were set to stay for 2 nights, but one was more than enough. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 893JasonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitegate, Manager at 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
As a AAA Four Diamond Inn, we hold a high standard for the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeepers strive for perfection. If you read our other reviews, The Maya Angelou Suite is one of our most popular and highly rated units. We are sorry that you felt you were not accommodated properly.

According to our records, we cannot find anyone who has complained about dirty sheets or checked out a day early. Additionally, we do not have a record of anyone from Nashville staying in our Maya Angelou Suite. If you would please give us a call at your earliest convenience, we would like to privately resolve your issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Being as this was our first time staying in a b&b we really didn't know what to expect. Turns out this was a very enjoyable stay. Frank made our stay very entertaining to say the least. The breakfast was very good and obviously a lot of hard work went into the preparation. If only there had been a recliner in our room I would have been so much happier. All the staff were very friendly, Excellent job guys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Asheville was a first, so having a comfortable B&B to welcome us to this unique city was important. The WhiteGate was the perfect haven for our visit. We had the pleasure of meeting and spending time with the innkeepers and the very capable staff. Ralph Coffey, the quiet partner, is nicely matched with the enthusiastic and entertaining Frank Salvo. Both make the gourmet breakfast the most impressive meal of the day. Served in style, this three course meal does not disappoint. Family recipes find the way to the table as Frank pulls up a chair and delivers some fun mixed with suggestions for what to do in Asheville. We had the pleasure of staying in the WhiteGate Cottage, which provided a great fireplace and plenty of room. Appointments were stylish, yet comfortable and the atmosphere was casual without all the rules that other B&Bs often force on their guests. Evening wine and treats were delicious. The staff canines Stryker and Ida even appeared to enjoy visiting guests. Wish we could have been there when the gardens were in full bloom as Ralph has a beautiful layout with what must be an award-winning botanical design. So thank you to Frank and Ralph for a wonderful weekend - it's no wonder that you teach others how to become innkeepers. See you again for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamesnaylorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my first Bed & Breakfast experience, and I can say they certainly set the standard. I stayed in the Walt Whitman suite, and felt very pampered. The other guests were full of questions and envy at breakfast :)

The coffee and atmosphere were grand, the floral arrangement from the greenhouse was exquisite, and the wine around the fire-pit was full of great conversation. The gurgling from the koi stream lulled us to sleep through the windows. It was just a magical time overall, and hold the owners in high esteem in my heart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My sisters and I stayed in the Joyce Kilmer bungalow which had two bedrooms, a four piece bathroom (shower plus tub with shower), full kitchen with table for six and nice sized living room. Everything in the rooms felt like luxury and no detail was missed including the chocolate at bedside, robes in the closet and extra pillows and blankets. The solarium in the main house has water and soda plus cookies available 24/7 plus games and a DVD library. Breakfast is served at 9 am and should not be missed! Be ready to eat as if you were dining in the finest restaurant in town. Our hosts were amazing and made breakfast an experience that kept us smiling and laughing throughout the day. Downtown is less than a mile and can be safely walked in about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Joyce Kilmer is separate from the main house and has parking in back. There was another couple next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bunn House
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing