We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reynolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Reynolds Mansion
Ranked #2 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful B&B Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is the first review I've ever written, but was so thrilled with my stay at The Reynolds Mansion I wanted to share it. It will be difficult for other B&Bs to exceed this experience. The location is perfect to Asheville, The Biltmore and other sites in the area. It's very easy to get to. The owners are the perfect gracious hosts anticipating needs and always there to help. They have a wealth of historical information and stories about tthe building, previous owners and decorations which they are only too willing to share and entertain us with. All the rooms are beautifully decorated. Mine was spacious and very comfortable with a wonderful view of the mountains. I can't say enough good things about the breakfasts and sweets available. (Let it suffice to say I was active on this vacation and still had to work at losing the two pounds I gained.) The next time I'm in the Asheville area, I will stay there.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with more than one bed. "Claudette" had a double and single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoTenczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
488
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have never written a review on one of these sites but felt compelled to after the amazing weekend we just had in Asheville. The beautiful Reynolds Mansion tops all of our previous B&B visits for a couple of reasons: (1) Attention to detail. From the paintings and period accessories that decorate the walls to the perfectly set fine china at breakfast , you will feel like you have been transported to a luxurious mansion from another time. We appreciated the small touches, like home-baked cookies waiting for us in our bedroom upon arrival. (2) Impeccable service. The inn is extremely clean and well-kept, including the beautiful garden and grounds. The innkeepers do a wonderful job of making you feel welcomed and are available as needed, but do not hover and respect your privacy. (This is exactly what we were looking for on our weekend getaway, and we enjoyed exploring the library and other rooms or laying in the hammock on the wraparound porch without anyone else around.) Billy especially is extremely warm and knowledgeable. He is happy to share stories of the history of the house (and in fact has written a book on the inn which is in each room) and is extremely helpful in advising on restaurants and other things to do in Asheville. We will be recommending this gem of a place to anyone making a visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

My girlfriend and I planned a trip to Asheville to take in the great restaurants, the Biltimore, and hiking and some other outdoors activities. We read the reviews of The Reynolds Mansion and decided to book two nights at Reynolds and two at a local hotel. The moment we checked in, we immediately talked about staying a total of 4 nights at Reynolds and cancelling the hotel which we did. It was the right decision. I had a good feeling about the stay from the beginning. I spoke to Billy on the phone and he seemed so nice and helpful. I mentioned that it was our anniversary and he arranged for flowers and a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. From the moment we checked in, Billy and Mike were such amazing hosts. Billy's breakfasts in the morning were amazing! His coffee is so addicting and the brownies and cookies he keeps out are addictive. We always had breakfast at the mansion because it was amazing. In addition to the food, Billy told us stories about the house and the past occupants and the renovation process. What an amazing story teller! We couldn't get enough of Billy's stories! The staff is amazingly helpful and very professional. Everything was spotless and the rooms were very comfortable. The property is beautiful and very comfortable. It has such an amazing atmosphere. We immediately felt at home. On our vacations, we usually pack activities in but on Sunday, we couldn't wait just to get back to the mansion and relax in the library and sit on the porch. Billy, Mike, and a few other guests ended up doing the same and we had a great conversation with them. Overall, it could not have been a more perfect stay. We cannot wait to return. I see us making visits often and a testimonial for this is the fact that one couple was on their fifth or sixth stay at the Mansion! Billy has an endless supply of ideas for dinner and activities. Make sure to tap into him before you go and he will give you good advice regarding where to go and what to do. Next time, we plan on spending more time at the mansion relaxing and talking. The swimming pool is beautiful and so we want to spend more time in that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Can't say enough about this place. The hosts, house and food are second to none in my B&B experience. The passion that Billy puts into the Reynolds Mansion is inspirational and reason enough to warrant a stay. Add to it the fantastic house, furniture, stories and food (all cooked by Billy), and you would be doing yourself a disservice not to try this place. Superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clemmonsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our experience started at reservation time. I made online reservations as added flowers as an upcharge. The Innkeeper, Billy, contacted me to ask if this was a special occasion. I explained that it was a suprise trip for our 11th anniversary. Billy took the price of the flowers off the tab and left chocolate truffles in the room as an anniversary gift. The home has been restored and is absolutely fabulous. The room was comfortable, well kept, and refreshed daily. Billy and Mike are the best B&B innkeepers we have come across. We stay in B&B's every chance we get and the service, hospitality, and down right friendliness we experienced here was head and shoulders above any we have seen. I would recommend this fantastic property to anyone.

Room Tip: Reserve early as there are only so many rooms in the house. All of the rooms are wonderful and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chet_Hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Last month we visited North Carolina and while visiting Ashville and the Biltmore House we stayed at an excellent B & B just outside of the town. This was the Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast – a lovely pre civil war house with an unusual history. The owners, Billy and Mike, make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is quite unique in my experience and is varied, served on white linen, with wonderful china and silverware. Lunch is not a problem after one of Billy’s breakfasts!

Billy especially is devoted to the house and has a host of stories about it which he just loves to share. His local knowledge too is invaluable and he is very generous with his time which helps to make any stay very enjoyable.

The Reynolds Village is being built around the grounds which, in my opinion, impinges on the Mansion, but which will provide restaurants and activities within walking distance. In addition a recreational park area is to be developed close by this year.

Ashville itself is lively with many interesting eating places, art shops and galleries. During the summer Blue Grass Music concerts take place in the main park area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gambolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent two nights in Reynolds Mansion, and could not have been more pleased. The staff are wonderful, our room was beautifully decorated, and breakfast was yummy. We hope to go back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isol93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Property: The Reynolds Mansion
Address: 100 Reynolds Hts, Asheville, NC 28804-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing