We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reynolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Reynolds Mansion
Ranked #2 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brownsburg, IN USA
1 review
“AMAZING !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We spent 6 nights at the Reynold's Mansion and it was wonderful!!!
The breakfast is to DIE for !!!!
Billy, Mike and staff are personable, helpful and have amazing attention to detail that makes the Reynold's Mansion the BEST !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
488
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at the RM for 2 nights while visiting Asheville. We had made the reservations at the last minute but were able to get an excellent room. Billy, the host/innkeeper, was gracious from the first moment on the telephone to receiving us ahead of check-in time and letting us have the room. He was extremely helpful with information about the Asheville area and nearby attractions of which there are plenty.

Other than the historic nature of the mansion, once owned by Bob Reynolds, US Senator from North Carolina 1933-45, the home offers spectacular views of the mountains from nearly every angle. The interior is decorated with family memorabilia including a picture of Senator Reynolds' wife wearing the Hope diamond (yes, that one!) which was once in the family.

The rate for our room included a lavish breakfast which Billy went to some pains to ensure was compatible with our non-meat-eating preferences. While at breakfast, Billy entertained the guests with his stories, which were just as much a reason to be in the dining room as the food itself.

The RM is easily accessible to downtown Asheville and to surrounding areas via I-240. We would stay there again the next time we are in Asheville.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend, and came away only wishing that it could have been longer.

The Reynolds Mansion B&B is far and away the very best B&B we've ever stayed at ... anywhere.

As we both travel quite a bit, we're always on the lookout for accommodations that can welcome us "home" at the end of a hard day. On any kind of vacation, that's even more important at the end of a much "easier" day ... as we look for and expect the very best in creature comforts.

The Reynolds Mansion did not disappoint. The grounds are superb, and the porch welcoming ... complete with rocking chairs that seem to make time slow down all by themselves.

The rooms are elegantly appointed, and offer a genuinely relaxing experience all their own ... from the moment you enter, and taste a sinfully delicious homemade cookie, to the moment you wake up totally refreshed after an equally sinful night's sleep.

Breakfasts were awesome! Made with skill, presented with grace, and well ... eaten with gusto.

Everyone there was driven to make our experience one that we'd always remember, and quite honestly ... we will.

I highly recommend The Reynolds Mansion. I'm sure we'll be back more than just a few times. Elegant, relaxing and a trip back to a simpler time. Surrounded by and a perfect complement to the beauty and charm of Asheville. Made only more special by the love and meticulous attention to every detail offered up by owners Billy and Michael. Not to be missed.

Jim Walker

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthmuse710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was recently in Asheville for business and the hotel I was supposed to stay in was overbooked. On a recommendation from a friend, I called Billy at Reynolds Mansion and he was able to give me a great place to stay for the night. It was such late notice and he was super accommodating in making sure I had everything I needed including great places for a business dinner. I unfortunately was only able to stay one night and will surely be back for an extended stay. Reynolds Mansion has been exquisitely renovated; very close to it's original splendor. You seemed to walk back in time to enjoy breakfast with the Reynolds family themselves. I literally wanted to strap the mattress to the top of my car and take it home with me, it was so comfortable! Enjoying the evening/morning on the porches is a must and plan on extra time for breakfast to hear the Billy's captivating stories about the mansion. I highly recommend staying here to anyone visiting the Asheville area -work or play!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The house is lovely and it was awesome having a pool to enjoy after a hot day in downtown Asheville. Michael and Billy are wonderful host and, Billy is quite an entertainer:) We loved hearing his stories. The grounds are also very beautiful. We will return!
Bobbie and Danny Lowder

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbiedanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I chose Reynolds Mansion as the place to stay on our honeymoon and my bride kept saying how perfect a spot it was. You simply won't find a better breakfast anywhere and the whole house is well decorated and accomodating. We stayed in the carriage house, which had plenty of room to relax. It was clean and well maintained. If you're looking for a place for dinner, innkeeper Billy knows exactly the best restaurants in town, we followed his recommendations and weren't disappointed. And if you love chocolate, make time to grab dessert at the French Broad chocolate lounge. the chocolate is so good, it will make you want to move to Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcarleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our 5-day stay at the Reynolds Mansion was the highlight of our trip to Asheville. We felt as if we won the "B&B lottery," and we'll certainly stay there again when we return to Asheville. Billy and Mike were extraordinary hosts who treated us like family. Billy's breakfasts should probably win an award for "Best Breakfast in Asheville," and we would certainly encourage future guests to take advantage of his restaurant recommendations. Although our room was on the 1st floor of the mansion across from the dining room, it was very quiet and comfortable. My partner and I really enjoyed relaxing on the spacious porches with a nice glass of wine in the afternoons. Billy and Mike are clearly dedicated to providing the best possible experience for their guests, and it shows in all the details. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dacuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Property: The Reynolds Mansion
Address: 100 Reynolds Hts, Asheville, NC 28804-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing