We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

One of the best breakfasts i've ever had. Apple and cranberry pancakes that were incredible. A parfait dish of fruit followed by pancakes and bacon.

We stayed in the Margaret Grace room for 1 night whilst passing through Asheville on honeymoon. My new wife was delighted by my choice.

The owners were so sweet and helpful and we got a great nights sleep.

If i am ever in Asheville again i will be checking to see if this place is available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theorangeeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    25
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
443
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I took my parents and brother on a trip to North and South Carolina. My one wish for the trip was to visit Biltmore. I found The Lion & The Rose on the internet. The Inn is located on a quiet street with lots of other historic homes. The innkeepers Jim and Linda were born to run a B&B. They were so hospitable and have thought of every little thing to make your visit perfect. The rooms are so clean and well appointed that we felt like we were the very first guests. You could eat off the floors it was so clean. Jim whipped up excellent breakfasts both mornings we were there. They offer a butlers pantry stocked with bottled water, sodas, and snacks, utensils, plates and glasses. There is also a refrigerator available should you want to chill your own bottle of Chardonnay ;) or anything else. Coffee is delivered to your door each morning. They have a laptop and printer available for guests' use in the parlor. They maintain an armoir of brochures of things to do in the area. There is a cabinet in the hallway outside the rooms that contains anything you might have forgotten: toothpaste, razor, needle & thread, bandages, etc. Everything is tasteful and elegant without being stuffy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyllzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I loved The Lion & The Rose in Asheville. Linda and Jim are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were incredible. We stayed there for our 4th wedding anniversary and it made the event even more special. The Inn is a short walk from downtown and Jim gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations. My husband and I also loved Cedric - their fabulous terrier! We will definitely return to Asheville and The Lion & The Rose. I can't recommend the Inn enough!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4andp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Linda and Jim Palmer are the quintessential innkeepers. Nothing that can make your visit problem-free and comfortable is overlooked. From the beautiful home and gorgeous private garden and yard, to the gourmet breakfasts, and the morning coffee/tea served to your comfortable and immaculate room, the stay at this spectacular inn is simply fabulous. Jim and Linda couldn't be more gracious and cater to your every need. They also are available for any help or questions, but generally give their guests their space and privacy. Need a cold drink, snacks, a glass of sherry, tourist pamphlets and directions, a DVD, a toothbrush or tylenol? It's all there for the taking. You really feel that you are being cared for and pampered. There is simply no other place to stay in Asheville or anywhere else we have stayed that provides such an experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our week-end and The Lion and Rose. The B&B is comfortable with many places both in the house and the in the garden to enjoy a quiet conversation or read a book. Coffee was delievered to our room every morning at 8:00 am. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed talking with the other quests while we ate. There is a quest pantry with drinks, cookies, and snacks available 24 hours and day. Ask Jim and Linda for restaurant suggestions. They recommended some really great places for us to eat. A wonderful place for a peaceful get away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgmmdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful visit and discovered a great place to relax and unwind. Jim and Linda are wonderful hosts and the service is superb. The breakfasts are truly special and the gardens are beautiful. Cedric (Jim and Linda's fox terrier) was another joy that we met on this visit. We look forward to a reurn visit.

Sincerely,
Joe and Maryann G.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grauhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, MA
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We just got back from five days at The Lion and The Rose B & B. Our suite was elegant, beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast every morning was fresh, delicious and catered perfectly to our needs. The indoor and outdoor shared spaces were quiet and welcoming. And the location was excellent - close to all that Asheville has to offer as well as convenient for accessing roads for day trips to other areas. Our stay was totally delightful! Thanks to Jim and Linda for creating such a relaxing and enjoyable get-away environment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc2MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
735 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
212 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing