We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Frommers quide has this as a one star but in our opinion it is three!!

Elegant and relaxing with attentive owners and superb breakfast.

Facilities for tea and coffee with snacks and evening sherry / port on offer.

Nearby restaurant for superb evening meals.

Such a pleasure to actually talk to fellow guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

im and Linda greeted us more like friends than "guests". The Lion and the Rose became our home for our week long visit. Every detail was attended to from providing us with walking sticks for our afternoon hike to recommendations for sightseeing and the best culinary experiences. We woke up to the smells of coffee right outside our door and one of Jim's delicious breakfast creations every morning. Don't try to diet here! However, Jim is more than willing to accommodate any alternative dietary need such as vegetarian etc..
We enjoyed sharing the elegant breakfast table with the other guests and the friendly exchange of stories and local travel tips. The house is a beautiful late 1800s Victorian in historic Montford (our favorite Asheville neighborhood), immaculately kept and the grounds are nicely landscaped and well cared for. Jim and LInda and their staff made every effort to accommodate our every need.
There's no other place we'd rather stay when in Asheville. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have always wanted to spend a night in a Victorian Bed and Breakfast. I am very glad we chose The Lion & The Rose B&B. What a wonderful couple that hosted our stay. We were greeted immediatly upon arrival, a quick tour of the house, our rooms and then left with privacy and security of a safe place to sleep. The house is decorated to the finest detail. No space is unattended. The house, the gardens, and the neighborhood are all so charming. Five star credits to the chef for a wonderful breakfast. He went out of his way to please our appetites. I loved eating in the dinning room and using all the pieces of china. My husband and I were traveling with my brother and his wife. All were a little reluctant to stay at a B&B, but everyone was left with a positive impression after the experience we shared in The Lion & The Rose.
Jon & Catherine, Greg & Mary from Ohio.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank righti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

From the myriad and gentle lights left glowing on the first floor sitting rooms all night long, to the thoroughly stocked snack pantry available at all times, to the perfect gardens and grand front entrance, then topped by the incredible breakfasts (asparagus crepes with a cream sauce with salad!), this B&B was a totally sophisticated but homey experience. We loved the Montford neighborhood which was perfect for walks and could move there in a heartbeat. Thank you, Jim, LInda and Cedric!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My sister and I took our Mom to Asheville to celebrate her retirement. We decided to try a B&B and my sister chose The Lion and The Rose. We had the room on the 3rd floor which was wonderful! It had plenty of space for 3 "girls" to stretch out and the fireplace was great since it was a little chilly and rainy. The breakfast each of the 3 mornings was incredible. They also have a pantry for guests that has cookies, hot chocolate, teas, snacks and sodas which was a nice touch for an evening snack. The location is very central and easy to find. I would recommend The Lion and The Rose to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmarler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My wife and I were married recently and decided to take a trip to Asheville, NC, during our honeymoon. We picked the Lion and the Rose, because we haven't stayed in a bed and breakfast before, and wanted someplace that was close enough to downtown Asheville to avoid driving. The accommodations were wonderful and the owners are a delight to speak to. We stayed in the Fannie Rice room on the second floor and absolutely love it. The one suggestion we would make is boosting the WiFi power in the house. On the first floor the signal was very strong, but in the Fannie Rice room it was not. However, we were hardly on the internet anyway. It's a great place for newlyweds!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

For Mother's Day weekend I took both my mother and aunt for their first trip to Asheville and their first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious with flavors that compimented so well and satisfied well into the day. The rooms were decorated beautifully and comfortably making the afternoon we had to spend inside, due to rain, such a delight. Jim and Linda had helpful information as we planned our time out and about with excellent restaurant recommendations. They also gave great attention to detail making us feel like the only guests at the Inn. Would hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almsandlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
256 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $203 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing