We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st B&B was absolutely amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I don't think I could say one bad thing about our 1st B&B experience at The Lion & The Rose. The house was simply magnificent inside and out - the bedroom was beautifully decorated and very comfortable - the fireplace was particularly nice with the cold snap that N. Carolina was experiencing. Linda met us with a warm welcome giving us a tour of their home and offering helpful tips on local sites. Loved the pantry - dove into the brownies on our way out and we kept well hydrated with the beverages in the fridge - my husband even sampled the complimentary port. The coffee waiting for us outside our bedroom door was an especially nice touch. Jim's breakfast the next morning was scrumptuous and the company was great - 8 of us (4 separate couples) swapped stories of our adventures in Asheville and life back home. And the visit would not be complete without a tummy rub for the concierge, Cedric. What a true delight! Folks back at the office made sure to ask about photos of Cedric. Thanks to Jim, Linda & Cedric for making our 1st B&B experience so memorable!! We would recommend their home to anyone travelling to the Asheville area!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ledoox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 649 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed at The Lion & The Rose B&B for our first anniversary. It also happened to be our first B&B experience. The house was beautiful and very well kept. The owners, Jim and Linda, were very welcoming. Our room was charming, and breakfast was delicious both mornings. We had an excellent stay!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecupirate08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout the US, but I'll have to say that The Lion and the Rose is definitely a cut above the rest! The first 2 nights of our stay we were in the Craig-Tom Suite on the 3rd floor--beautiful surroundings, comfy bed, whirlpool tub, and a private porch. Due to some itinerary changes on our part, the next 2 nights we were in a room on the 2nd floor. Although not nearly as spacious, the room was still very comfortable. Coffee at our door at 8 each morning was a real treat. The breakfasts would truly gourmet, from the stuffed french toast to the 3-potato hash with eggs. Linda and Jim were helpful with all questions; they even have a listing of the best stops on the Blue Ridge Parkway! Cedric, the conciege (he doesn't know that he's a dog), is a true delight. We'll definitely be returning in the spring!

Tonya & Mike
Newburgh, IN

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank celticcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed at the B&B to celebrate our ninth anniversary. We stay at a lot of Inns and B&B's, both at home and abroad and the Lion and the Rose ranks with the best we have encountered. The inn keepers were gracious, friendly but not intrusive. Breakfasts were truly gourmet quality and the location was perfect for visiting downtown Asheville as well as its environs. We booked the smallest of the three rooms on the second floor, which was a little tight. When we go again we will ask for one of the larger rooms - but we will definitely be visiting Asheville again and the Lion and the Rose will be our first choice.
Jim and Leslie

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights 23rd - 25th August as part of a 17 day tour of North and South Carolina and Georgia.
This was our first experience of a B&B in the US (never mind North Carolina) and we were very pleasanty surprised. This was our second night in the US having spent the first night in an airport hotel at Atlanta.
Jim & Linda were great hosts with a lovely house and a very nice bedroom with lovely furnishings. The bathroom didn't have a bath but did have shower (a minor criticism maybe that it could do with a facelift, although we could see that they were trying to keep it in character with the rest of the house).
Much to our delight Jim introduced us to the pantry which provided us with snacks and hot & cold drinks whenever we needed them (very handy) and also the drinks cabinet with a supply of sherry or port.
The breakfasts were typical Southern cooking (although we weren't sure what that actually meant until it arrived on the dining table) and they were delicious although it didn't help our diets!!
Jim & Linda were very approachable and gave us lots of tips of places to visit including the Blue Ridge Parkway. We didn't visit the Biltmore Estate as we had heard it needed a lengthy stay to appreciate it fully and we were only here for 3 nights (also, we have many stately homes in Britain and once you've seen one, I'm afraid the appeal wears off a bit).
The surrounding area is beautiful although Ashville itself wasn't what we expected but that shouldn't be taken as a negative comment (it was just not quite what we expected) but it was ideal place to stay to explore the mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRRTCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The Lion and The Rose B&B in Asheville, NC did a terrific job welcoming guests and meeting guests' needs while providing privacy. You get a key to the place and can come and go anytime. There is a butler's pantry stocked with drinks and snacks and it is available 24 hours. The room actually looked like the picture from the internet and it was comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious and the dining room was beautiful. The owner's even worked with my sister to have flowers, wine and chocolates in our room as a gift from her for our anniversary.

The inn is right off of downtown Asheville and it was convenient to The Biltmore and to all of Asheville's attractions. This is a great B&B for a long, romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LAN_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Jim and Linda are wonderful hosts. The property is immaculate, rooms very well appointed, and the breakfasts are beyond words!
Easy walk to town, easy drive to Biltmore and other area things to see. Been to a lot of places,,,Lion and Rose is one of the finest ones yet. Make sure to save some time for the porch! Wow!!
Thank you friends for opening your home to us!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank onthego802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
811 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,637 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $203 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing