We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pampered in Historic Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pampered in Historic Asheville”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful historic home with lovely grounds in a well cared for historic neighborhood close to downtown and highways. Fabulous (and fattening!) breakfasts. We were able to buy a same-day ticket to Biltmore at a discount and they even offered to do our laundry when they learned of our need (note that they might not have been able to if they had been busier). We also enjoyed nice conversation with the other couples at the dining room table.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
437
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Overall, we had a great time at The Lion and the Rose. The location is great, very close to downtown. The property itself is very nice; the rooms are pretty and clean, and the garden is a great place to relax. I enjoyed our breakfast every morning, and the coffee and tea served to our door every morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lion and Rose is in walking distance of downtown, which we did several times. fabulous breakfasts!! .... and best of all, coffee delivered to room at 8 a.m. gorgeous yard and great front porch. sleep quality affected by soft mattress and window AC that went on and off all night. better to sleep with open windows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reljbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionandRose, Owner at The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are so sorry about the problem with sleep quality! Because we are a bed and breakfast - one of the most important things for us to offer is a good bed and peaceful sleep.

Since this review was posted, we have replaced the mattress in this room with a new, firmer one.

We also researched to find the most quiet air conditioner on the market and have replaced all of our guest room window air conditioners with these quieter models.

Jim & Linda Palmer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was probably one of the nicer Bed & Breakfasts we have stayed in. We were in the Marion Hall room, which was quite spacious and comfortable on the second floor. As there is a suite overhead and this is a historic home, footsteps above can be heard. The B&B's location, just a few minutes from downtown Asheville, made it an ideal spot to explore other areas of Asheville, apart from the Biltmore Mansion. Upon arrival, we were given a tour of the place, from where to find around-the-clock drinks and snacks, to the quickest exit in case of an emergency. Great attention was paid to the details, with chocolates and fresh flowers in the room and around the house; fresh cookies and brownies in the butler's pantry; and coffee waiting at our doorstep at 8pm each morning. The spacious grounds and lovely porch were extremely inviting and a great place to unwind and relax. The breakfast each morning was a creative, hot, fresh and filling meal. The morning breakfast is served at one large table, so be aware that you will be sharing a meal with other guests. As is often the case in these establishments, we found our fellow guests to be quite interesting and enjoyed chatting over our morning coffee. We had an excellent Anniversary celebration in Asheville and The Lion and The Rose made our trip that much more memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaTaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lion and the Rose in February for a weekend away, and it was perfect! We loved the atmosphere... though it may be a bit too quiet for anyone under the age of 35 (we're both 22). The location was great, everyone was very friendly, and our room, Marion Hall, was spacious and comfortable. We stayed two nights, which I think was the perfect length. The breakfasts were good-- not what I was envisioning, and definitely made for adventurous eaters, but they sufficed.

I would go back here, and I'd recommend it for couples or small adult groups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Positives: great location, very clean, gorgeous yard, generous breakfast, yummy snacks, comfy bed, great toiletries, super easy parking, very kind hosts.

Slight negative: bathroom in Margaret Grace room is quite small. Tub and sink oddly small. However, everything was in good working order. Very soft towels. Soaps smelled wonderful.

Food was a bit fancy for my taste, but was good. I think most would enjoy it. (Example- I prefer "regular" maple syrup rather than fruit infused.). But I'm a meat and potatoes person. :-). It was nice to try something new. All food was beautifully presented and special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lion & the Rose; this time we brought family with us, and again, we were so very pleased and impressed. From the beautiful, comfortable rooms, to the charming and helpful hosts, to the absolutely delicious breakfasts...our visit was wonderful. Thank you - and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing