We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveler rating
628
27
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
628
27
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest pantryb bcraig toms suiteeach morninggrace roomhour pantrynine mileother guestshistoric montfordfront porchthird floorbreakfast was deliciousentire houseclose to downtownfire pitboth morningsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 664 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We took a little weekend trip out of town to hang around Asheville for a weekend. On the agenda was downtown Asheville and also a trip to Biltmore. Normally we would stay at one of the more traditional hotels downtown (like Indigo or Sheraton) but this time we decided to try something different with the B&B experience. And we are thrilled we did.

There are a LOT of B&Bs to choose from in this area but I think in the future this will be our "go to". Jim and Linda greeted us and got us acquainted with the Inn right off the bat, but then let us settle in and have our privacy to enjoy the accommodations. They have thought of every possible comfort and necessity from a washcloth specifically for "make up removal" to extra sundries we can access on our own. Most notable was at breakfast, a few guests had specific dietary considerations (my hubby is diabetic, another guest ate gluten-free and one food allergy) and the hosts served each guest a specifically prepared meal without even having to clarify who needed what. I.e.there was already sugar-free syrup placed at his seat.

There interaction at breakfast with other guests was our only interaction with others, which seems very appropriate. The breakfast conversation was great- met some really neat people.
Just the right balance of privacy and interaction, which is tricky to achieve in closer quarters.

Thanks Jim and Linda. We'll be back!!
-The Manleys

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a warm welcoming inn that is excellent and much more reasonably priced than those in the same class. The breakfasts were cordon bleau and very inventive. Linda and Jim were friendly, but not familar. The house feels like home and we had a very comfortable stay. At the end of three days we had trouble packing our bags and moving on.

Room Tip: Holger Nielsen was good value and very comfortable. For an excellent meal try 9 Mile at the next block.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs over the past 18 years. We have to rate the Lion and the Rose as one of the top inns! Jim and Linda are excellent hosts. They are very attentive and anticipate your needs. The house itself is very comfortable. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job of keeping the inn very presentable and clean. It is surprisingly quiet, even when there are other guests! We stayed during the Christmas season and the whole house is decked with beautiful Christmas items, especially many different "Santa Claus" figures. The breakfast is delicious. Hot and cold beverages and some snacks (port and sherry, too!) are available 24 hours a day and as Jim said, "There is really no curfew here..." Tea and coffee are brought just outside your door every morning before breakfast. The house lies in a nice neighborhood that is within walking distance of downtown Asheville. There is an excellent Caribbean restaurant (sometimes with live music) just a half block away from the inn. We highly recommend this inn! We are looking forward to returning in warmer weather to enjoy the nice meditation garden by the side of the house. Thank you, Linda and Jim for a memorable weekend in Asheville!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navysmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Linda and Jim, our hosts at the Lion and the Rose, made us feel comfortable right fromt the start. They found that right balance between making us feel comfortable and letting us explore for ourselves. As an example, the excellent breakfasts, each delightfully different for each of our two days, were served by our hosts with a brief explanation about the tasty ingredients, but then we the guests were left to discuss backgrounds and tourist plans among ourselves.

I have no idea how much of their business is built on returning guests, but they can confidently expect a return visit by us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a wonderful inn for a relaxed weekend away from it all at a very affordable price. Located in the historic and peaceful Montford district of Asheville, it is within easy walking distance of downtown restaurants, music, and nightlife. The house is spacious and tastefully decorated, and with ample public sitting areas. The rooms are well appointed, immaculately clean, and offer well-lit sitting areas for reading, sipping on wine, and chatting. We appreciated the attention to details such as excellent coffee served at your door in the morning, water, sherry and port, and snacks in the pantry, and comfy lounging robes in the closet. The breakfast, served in a lovely dining room, is delicious and plentiful. The experience is one of unpretentious elegance. We found the hosts, Jim and Linda, to be attentive, friendly, and yet discreet. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews