We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B, Linda & Jim are exceptional hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The Lion & the Rose is a 6 star B&B that exceeded our expectations and made our 1 yr wedding anniversary very memoriable! Linda & Jim as well as the asst. innkeeper staff were exceptional hosts, very warm and welcoming. We felt that we experienced a piece of history staying at the LIon & the Rose. We were very close to downtown, the Biltmore, Grove park for dinner and lots of shopping, dining and nature - blue ridge parkway. We'll be back, soon! Also loved meeting Cedric! Thank you Linda & Jim! We have great memories of our 1 yr anniversary!

Room Tip: Craig-Toms was the largest room, large walk-in shower, awesome room!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandaceM241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 643 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Lion and the Rose was excellent in every way. Breakfasts were wonderful. Jim and Linda were very cordial. Accommodations were very comfortable. And we met some very nice folks -- 2 of whom were from England. Incidentally, the landscaping (by Linda) was the nicest we saw compared to any other b & b.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at The Lion & The Rose over Labor Day 2011. We had an amazing time. The location is perfect - only 15 minute walk down town to everything, 10 minutes driving to The BIltmore and 15 minutes driving to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The hospitality Jim and Linda offer is unparalleled. We were more than impressed by the information they offered to help plan our days, by the always available drinks and snacks, by the beautiful accomodations and amazing food. Jim is an incredible cook and breakfast every day was outstanding. My husband and I felt it was an incredible value at around $150 per night for a beautiful room and a breakfast that filled us up well into the afternoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Holger-Neilsen room. It was lovely!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wtrcrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a treat it was to be Linda and Jim's guests at The Lion and The Rose. We loved the house, our room, the great pantry, the porches and grounds and felt pampered throughout our stay. The breakfasts were scrumptious. The directions and restaurant recommendations were perfect and the icing on our stay. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chuckygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The rooms are beautiful and we loved having coffee outside our door when we woke up. Chef Jim is a real chef and Linda is so warm and welcoming. We'll be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This Victorian House is so beautiful and the furnishings are lovely. Jim and Linda were excellent hosts, with great knowledge of the area and attractions. The linens and towels were luxurious, the grounds were breathtaking and the location was convenent to major highways as well as downtown. Jim provided some decedant breakfasts and there were always plenty of snacks and drinks available.I think that sitting on the front porch and reading might have been the best part of the stay! So refreshing and relaxing!

Room Tip: The suite is lovely, but on the third floor, so plenty of steps! The small balcony is very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dmauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

From the moment we arrived Jim and Linda made us feel most welcome with nothing too much trouble. Their beautiful Arts and Crafts house is immaculate and really enjoyed their beautiful verandah plus Hummingbird. The delicious breakfasts were beautifully presented each morning and it was fun to sit around the communal table and meet other guests.

Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
260 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
755 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $185 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing