We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Retreat In Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #8 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
“Heavenly Retreat In Asheville”
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The momemt we pulled into Cumberland Falls' driveway with its beautiful landscaped garden, the small water fall with large goldfish, we were enveloped with a warm, quaint and cozy feeling that never leaves you and that was BEFORE we met the owners Patti and Gary. If you love wonderful, cozy beautifully decorated rooms, (we stayed in the Victorian with its rich decor and wonderful fireplace located on the first floor), beautiful gardens, outstanding breakfast, and impeccable PERSONAL service bordering on pampering, in walking distance from downtown Asheville make sure that you do yourself a big favor and stay at this adorable B&B. The instant that you meet the vivacious Patti and Gary with his "laid back'" attentiveness you will know why the Inn is so warm, so comfortable and so inviting. Their mission is to make sure that their guests enjoy themselves to the fullest and they really leave no stone unturned to be accomodating.

Ann and I are already planning a return for the late spring or early fall. We already miss Cumberland Falls and especially Gary and Patti.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIPANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    51
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
600
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2009

The hospitality was felt right when we arrived. Gray knew when we would arrive and was waiting to greet us. From the beginning we knew that we had made a wise choice for our night of relaxation. The rooms are clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfy with Lion's Den bedding. Breakfast was also delicious and dietary needs were taken into account I would recommend this trip to couples looking to enjoy Asheville's' many sites, trails, and Mircobrew's.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trand07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Gary and Patti were extremely accomodating to our need for a place to stay for a quick, one-night stay in Asheville. They gave fabulous recommendations for supper and paid very close attention to details: chocolate strawberries by the jacuzzi, special birthday card and cupcakes, etc. We had a wonderful, special weekend at Cumberland Falls.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeMotherof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Cumberland Falls made for a very nice retreat. The room was immaculate and cozy, and nicely designed. Breakfast the next day was outstanding. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_neptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We decided to visit Asheville on the spur of the moment, and Patti and Gary were great about accommodating us. We were able to stay just one night, and, although the policy for our room was a minimum of two nights, they were able to be flexible with us when I called. The house is wonderful--it's beautiful and well-decorated, but without the ornateness and frill that characterize too many bed and breakfasts. The insulation is also great. The house is on a quiet back road that is a two minute (or less) drive to town; it's definitely walkable, although it makes more sense to drive since there's easy and affordable parking in town ($2 for the day depending on the parking garage). Gary was great about calling and making reservations for activities we wanted to do. Also, the morning breakfast was amazing; it came in courses, which helped us to take our time and enjoy the morning. We hope to return next year and make this a tradition.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiken23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stopped here on our way back north from a vacation in Savannah. We wish we would have had time to stay longer. Gary and Patti are so friendly and welcoming. The home is beautifully maintained and immaculate. We were awed by the woodwork of rare quilted maple. The garden with waterfalls, fish ponds, and a stream with an arched bridge, is delightful. The hosts have truly thought of everything that a guest might need. We stayed in the Victorian room on the main floor. We were able to tour the other rooms and would have been delighted with any of them. We went to dinner in one of the restaurants Gary suggested (The Lobster Trap) and had a wonderful meal. The vibrant downtown of Asheville is just a pleasant 20 minute walk from the B & B. Coffee was ready at 8.a.m., and at 9:00 we were served in the sunroom one of our all-time best breakfasts. Gary has the checkin process down to a science. He made sure we knew how to operate everything, how to get snacks and beverages, etc. Patti and my wife were chatting like old friends from the moment they met. We would recommend the Cumberland Falls without hesitation to anyone visiting Asheville, NC.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway to Cumberland Falls and it was fantastic! Gary and Patti are such wonderful hosts and we met some really nice couples who stayed at the house the same time we did. I don't know what spoiled me most, the awesome breakfast or the hospitality...Cumberland Falls is worth it for a romantic weekend with your spouse. We want to come back in the spring or summer so we can really enjoy the waterfall and beautiful backyard setting.
-Elbert and Barbara

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bturner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing