We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Absolutely Amazing"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #17 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
“"Absolutely Amazing"”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and a Good Friend recently traveled to Asheville to take in the town (Her First Time). After looking around at a lot of different places to stay, I decided to stay At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast with Patti and Gary.

WOW is about the best word that comes to mind. We had tried to get up to Asheville for her Birthday in March but circumstances forces us to change and we didn't make it up until April. We were treated like Family while we were there. The morning breakfast was absolutely stunning and we really enjoyed tasting the different recipes that Patti and Gary had learned and mastered over the years.

After Spending the entire day downstairs we came back to the Inn to a Nice Bottle of Wine (They took my description of what we liked, trust their person, and it was AWESOME) and pedals on the HUGE jacuzzi tub. IT was a very nice way to spend a couple hours relaxing and getting ready prior to Dinner.

They have thought of everything, when you arrive they have a book that has activities, places to visit, restaurant menus, etc. They basically say here are some of the best IDEAS in Asheville, choose what you like let us know and we will arrange it for you.

I had lots of questions before we went, just because this was my first time to a Bed and Breakfast and honestly I didn't know what to expect. Well let me tell you Patti was very helpful via email and she gave me a huge hug as soon as I seen her at the Inn.

When we go back to Asheville, there is no doubt in my mind where I will be staying. Patti and Gary thanks for a wonderful and time and hope to see you soon.

Cory & Kassi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
You can plan my birthday any time Cory. Your complete dedication to creating a memorable and fun birthday for your loved one warmed my heart. I think you hit a home run! We so enjoyed being able to help with that surprise and see Kassi so thrilled. Glad you all had such a good Asheville experience and we look forward to celebrating many more Happy Birthday's with you all. Thanks so much for taking time out to write this review. We sincerely appreciate that and look forward to hosting you both again. Have a fine Summer. Patti and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    51
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
602
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We returned to the Inn at Cumberland Falls for our second relaxing and lovely visit. The rooms at the inn are beautifully furnished with excellent quality linens and towels. The quality of the rooms are only trumped by the wonderful breakfast and charm of the innkeepers Gary and Patty. The breakfast is always three courses, starting with a delicious warm muffin right from the oven and followed by a very filling and equally amazing "main course" and fruit dish. The breakfast is so filling that we rarely needed to eat lunch. Gary and Patty are incredibly accommodating with restaurant recommendations and reservations as well as providing directions to destinations within and around Asheville that even I could follow without getting lost :) The inn provides a tranquil setting and an ideal getaway. We shall return again and look forward to it.

Room Tip: We love the Natural Mystic and Garden Vista rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Alisha and Eric...You all are always welcomed in our home. Both of you work so hard for the public good that to provide a bit of downtime in a peaceful atmosphere for you all to re-group, reconnect (Receive wonderful news in-So proud of your paper Eric and Alisha-your heart for the welfare of all those in your care is so evident and so rare.) is our contribution to your being able to continue all the good work you do. Continue fighting the good fight. People count on that more than you know. See you guys a bit further down the road! Enjoy Summertime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family recently spent an extended weekend at Cumberland Falls. From the minute we
arrived to our departure we were treated like family. The breakfast and afternoon treats
were delicious. Walking downstairs to a beautiful table and a smile set the tone for a wonderful visit to Asheville. Patti and Gary are great host sharing suggestions on local sights and restaurants. We had three rooms and we all enjoyed our stay. The beds are truly a delight after returning from a full day of touring Asheville. The location is perfect for reaching downtown
and the Biltmore. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjm8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We love the "bed and breakfast" concept but have many experiences with the individual expression of that. Gary and Patti have truly thought of everything to make your stay special in every way. The convenient location to everything Asheville has to offer could not be more tranquil. The rooms were meticulously clean and the food was fabulous. You won't be disappointed. J and D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
J and D...Your stay was short but we are looking forward to your return because you were such gracious and kind folks-not to mention the blessed sense of humor...Always in high demand. Thanks for choosing to stay At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn. We will always be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I have visited Asheville many times, staying always in a B&B; At Cumberland Falls Inn is absolutely our favorite! We have had the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous historic home many times, (usually in the same room!), most recently in April of 2013. Gary and Patti are fabulous hosts; the food is always wonderful and the company excellent! Probably our favorite thing about this awesome B&B is the absolute "peace" that accompanies one's stay. The historical garden setting is heavenly and the home immaculate. There is always a comfortable ambiance, as if you are the only guest around! A stay at Cumberland Falls Inn is like visiting old friends - everything is always perfect, whether an anniversary or just an "escape weekend," Gary & Patti put their entire heart into providing a perfect stay! Looking forward to our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house, we've seen them all! We just happen to have our favorite in "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blynnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
One of the really awesome aspects of innkeeping occurs when guests choose a return stay at your inn. It is a referendum that holds more weight than even a first time guest. This guest has been hosted by you, met you, seen your inns operation and atmosphere and has chosen it as a place of happy memories and seeks to return. Blynssa-Chris, thank you for this review and for all the totally hysterical moments you bring with you upon each and every arrival you make. We are blessed. I am repeating the puppy story to my friends. They think I am the only one who does these kinds of things. Thanks for being another!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family took me to Cumberland falls for my 40th. Everything was beyond my wildest dreams! The hospitality and food were 5 star all the way! We look forward to revisiting there again soon. They were very helpful with ideas on activities and tours. I could not have found my way around Asheville with out their direction, they also shared recipes with us!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Mystic room in the middle of the upstairs due to the fact the sun didn't shine int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143JanetP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinn, Owner at At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I miss you folks and the rest of your family. You know....your birthday Janet really wasn't until April. We could have a re-do! Glad you all had fun and I have already sent special thanks to your sister for bring the whole "fam" to our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food was amazing. Gary made 3 different breakfasts for all the various guests' dietary needs (we can officially vouch for the vegetarian and the meat lovers--but the vegan looked amazing too)! The entire property is adorable and the proximity to downtown is unbeatable! To top it off we got engaged during our stay, so we will certainly always have a soft spot for the inn, and we'll definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: We had the entire inn to ourselves for 2 nights, so we had the unique opportunity to scope out all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
213 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing