We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed and Breakfast in Asheville, NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #18 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Bed and Breakfast in Asheville, NC”
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned from a lovely vacation in Asheville, NC. We stayed at the Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn, which was amazing!

We stayed in the Lions Den which had a gigantic bed, fire place, claw foot tub and beautiful French windows. The value was great at only $165.00 a night. Along with all of this grandeur, was a three course gourmet breakfast which was delicious!

The staff was the best! We took all their recommendations when it came to dining and activities and they did not steer us wrong!

If you want a relaxing, quiet and serene vacation this is the best place to go!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank erin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    51
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
602
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

We searched online for several hours before settling on Cumberland Falls B&B. It turned out to be a better choice than we even expected. There were several things that drew us to Cumberland falls...
- They have a wide variety of rooms, and several price ranges depending on the room
- the two 3rd floor rooms have gas fireplace/stoves
- Most of the rooms have 2 person jacuzzi tubs
**Hint - The Day Dream room is great for a romantic get away or honeymoon retreat (there's a sink, mini-fridge, a little cove w/futon, you never need to leave the room if you don't want to!)

The house itself is gorgeous, a historical home in Asheville. The gardens out back are beautiful, and the flowing fountain out front, could be heard at night even from the 3rd floor when we opened our windows. Breakfast each morning was great, starting with cofee, tea, or hot cider, a muffin, then some sort of fruit course before being presented with the main dish.

The hosts, Gary and Patti were incredibly helpful, offering suggestions from local restaurants to sites to see. In fact were were able to purchase tickets for many of the local attractions right there (some at a discount). They throw in a lot of little unexpected extras (you'll have to stay there to see, I don't want to spoil the surprise.

We'd highly recommend Cumberland Falls to our friends or anyone looking for a friendly, and fun place. In fact when we next visit Asheville, we will be staying here again!

Jimmy & Rachel

  • Liked — The whole package (location, house, room, garden, and of course hosts!
  • Disliked — Can't really think of a thing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokesdale, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2008

what a great place...the accomodations were great...they made sure every need was taken care of...great breakfast both mornin gs!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kooldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

My mother and I recently travelled to Asheville to visit UNCA and stayed at Cumberland Falls. The yard was gorgeous with plants, ponds, waterfalls, fish, etc. We were welcomed with homemade goodies and felt very taken care of. I'm a vegetarian and my mother is vegan, so breakfast was a challenge. However, we were completely accommodated! My bacon was substituted for delicious, fresh honeydew. The staff specially baked vegan muffins in the morning for my mom and substituted an AMAZING fruit platter for blueberry pancakes. We felt like princesses for the day!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank skippymagoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed here and had a awesome experience! It was our first Bed & Breakfast and our first visit to Asheville. The room was very clean and spacious with a great view of the garden. It was very quite and very relaxing. We certainly felt like home. The B&B is in a great location close to major attractions. Gary was great in giving very detailed directions to any place we wanted to visit. He's always available for help. Breakfast was amazing! We didn't need a big lunch at all. Overall, we loved it! We can not wait to go back!

  • Liked — We loved everything! Not fair in my opinion to singe anything out.
  • Disliked — We loved everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Soon2Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed at At Cumberland Falls for one night in the Lion's Den room. The room itself was very nice and clean (as was the bathroom), with a view of the front street . The staff at ACF was extremely nice and helpful and were available at our beckoned call with Asheville information, maps, restaurant/activity recommendations, etc. The grounds and common areas were also extremely well maintained and pretty. Breakfast was a feast. Definitely recommend this place to anyone not familiar with the area and will stay again if ever traveling through Asheville.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CABrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, NC
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Cumberland Falls B&B was a perfect getaway. I was looking for stress relief and I found it. The owner, Gary, made you feel welcome from the moment you pulled into the driveway. The house was amazing, I stayed in the sunshine room and was greeted by the sounds of the fountain outside my window. I took advantage of the sunny day and read in the gardens. A small pond with goldfish and a waterfall was the perfect setting for relaxing. Later that night I was offered hot tea and cookies and was able to relax in the parlor with a book. A soak in the Jacuzzi tub in my room was the perfect end to the day. Breakfast was delicious, muffins, fresh fruit, pancakes and bacon. Ask for Gary's sweet and spicy bacon it's wonderful. After breakfast I was helped with directions for the places I wanted to visit in Asheville. Thanks Cumberland Falls for the perfect Spring Break Getaway, I can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Allsortsofplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
742 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
750 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing