We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

First you take two outstanding congenial and talented hosts, Patti and Gary Wiles; place them in an elegant Victorian home filled with spacious and comfortable guest rooms; add extra amenities throughout the day; enjoy the garden tucked in behind the house with koi ponds; top it off with a breakfast fit for a prince or princess; and you have the Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn. We had the pleasure of a three day stay during the fall of 2012 and are most happy to recommend this Inn….truly a comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havebags-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've been to many excellent B & Bs in our time and this one tops the list. An immaculately clean, beautiful inn in a great location; excellent breakfasts, wonderful details, and impeccable presentation. The difference here were the innkeepers, Patti and Gary. They were always helpful and pleasant, no matter how late, no matter what the need; they were extremely knowledgeable of the area's highlights, from hiking in the mountains to the best restaurants to the best tours. They were wonderful hosts and truly made our stay an extraordinary one!! A great example of this was the 9AM start for breakfast--we didn't have to get up early and rush to eat--a little detail, but one that made all the difference! We had a great time and enjoyed our time in their inn immensely.

Room Tip: The Lions Den was everything a room at a premium inn should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyC312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

There are tons of glowing reviews of this place and I agree with them wholeheartedly. I would like to add that Patti and Gary are exceptional hosts. They were able to accommodate our very late check in time (a courtesy which several of the other B&Bs would not grant us). Also, they were able to recommend great hikes in the area (Gary even let us borrow his hiking guide).

Other than that, I completely agree with the tidiness of the place, beauty of the rooms/grounds, and deliciousness of the breakfasts.

Oh I must add that we were a "young" couple and never felt stifled or awkward while staying at Cumberland Falls. Thank you Patti and Gary!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristakiyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife Tonjua and I celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary this year. We were blessed beyond measure to have been able to stay at Cumberland Falls. The atmospere created by Gary and Patti was very pleasant and welcoming, we felt as if we were visiting famiy. They were so accomodating with making sure we had beautiful and comfortable rooms. The Natural Mystic and The Daydreamer rooms we enjoyed so much, it was almost like a fairy tale. Gary and Patti thank you for helping make our 19th anniversary the most memorable and joyous occasion it was. We will be returning soon. Everyone who plan to travel to Asheville please try Cumberland Falls Bed & Breakfast. You will not want to go home, you will feel like you never left.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I celebrated 4 nights At Cumberland Falls B & B for our 15th Anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed waking up to fresh air and the sounds of water trickling through the pond each morning. Our room was comfy but spacious. I loved reading on the porch at down times and the location made it possible to walk to so many great restaurants in downtown Asheville. Patti and Gary were extremely helpful with directions, food suggestions, great hiking trails and even the last minute call when we were lost! All of their recommendations proved to be wonderful choices! Breakfasts were delicious and a great way to start the day. The company at breakfast each morning was welcome. The Inn proved to be the perfect balance of privacy with company. Thanks Patti and Gary!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Kerry and I had a wonderful stay At Cumberland Falls B&B. It's a nice and cozy inn with only 6 rooms. If you are looking for a bigger B&B with wine and cheese in the afternoon and people coming and going all the time, this is not the place for you. If you want to sit on the porch or in the living room have coffee, or a nice glass of wine and read a book, than perfect. It's walking distance to downtown, a nice corner lot and centrally located to most attractions. Gary and Patti were wonderful hosts and they made you feel like this was a home away from home. If you are on the fence about booking, than you should probably book a room. We stayed in the Natural Mystic room. All 3 rooms on the second floor would be my choice. Also if you have the time get a 2 day pass at the Biltmore, I think you'll enjoy going for day and 1/2. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiroKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was an initial stay at Cumberland Falls for my husband and I, but I can assure you, we will be back. As a couple in our 60's celebrating our first anniversary, this definitely was the place to be! Neither of us had ever been to Asheville, NC, and we searched high and low for the best reviews for a B & B. Thank you, Tripadvisor, for providing us with accurate information. Gary & Patti - the innkeepers - are so inviting and are able to transform any ordinary day into the extraordinary. From the gourmet breakfasts to Gary's accurate directions, along with the perfect fit for the local restaurants, you just can't go wrong. The best part of staying at a B&B is meeting the other guests, and I can certainly say we met several wonderful couples, two of which were newlyweds.

Thank you, Gary & Patti, for a lovely stay and for your wonderful hospitality. You are the best!

Room Tip: Any room would be a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 547lindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
717 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $181 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing