We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #12 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful Inn”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

An absolutely lovely home. Located in a quaint neighborhood an easy stroll to downtown Asheville, Cumberland Falls B & B is a beautifully appointed, meticulously maintained inn situated on charmingly landscaped grounds. The hosts, Patti & Gary, are hospitable to a fault. The breakfast, tea and other snacks are delicious and plentiful. The common areas are very comfortable and relaxing. All in all, Cumberland Falls has the feel and comforts of home, but the solace and solitude of a resort. The perfect setting for our spontaneous anniversary getaway weekend. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    51
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
600
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited At Cumberland Falls Bed & Breakfast for a weekend getaway to celebrate our first anniversary. It took only my mentioning that on the phone with Patti for her to email me restaurant suggestions and places we could rent bikes (something I mentioned we wanted to do) and for us to find a lovely card wishing us well upon our arrival. Innkeepers Patti and Gary were truly a delight, gracious when we needed anything and even when we spilled hot tea on a lovely tablecloth. The home is comfortable, well appointed and immaculately clean. And being just off the main drag in the Montford area, it was convenient to downtown but without the traffic that courses along Montford Avenue. We would certainly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Asheville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvillegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the moment I hung up the phone with Gary I knew my vacation was in good hands. The Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn is one of the most delightful homes in which I've stayed. Gary and Patti's home is absolutely lovely with it's beautiful decor and amazing woodwork in the living room. You've got see it! Honestly, they've left no stone unturned...I resided in the Sunshine Room which I found to be light and cozy. Turkish cotton towels, a hot jacuzzi bath tub, and a carafe with filtered drinking water-why they have even have make up removal pads in the bathroom. (Now, that's anticipating my every need!)

The breakfasts were unbelievably delicious! I am trying to decide which was my favorite: the German egg with julienne potatoes or the toasted almond slivered french toast with country sausage patties. Yummy! Indeed, as all other reviews have stated, the breakfasts are very filling and the presentation makes it even more special. Can't say I've had breakfast with candlelight before;) I think I'll have to go on back to Cumberland Falls for southern hospitality at its finest!

So, if you're looking for a B&B where the proprietors are gracious and most solicitious of you, where the breakfasts can only be described as scrumptious elegance, and the accomodations are clean, comforting, and beautiful...Emphatically and unequivocally, I recommend you give Gary and Patti a call. You'll be so glad you did!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mcf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cumberland Falls for 3 nights. I had wanted the Garden room with the wonderful view of the back gardens, but as it was unavailable for the full 3 nights, we decided to start in the Mystic room and our hosts moved us the following day. Honestly, the Mystic room was so comfortable, we could have stayed there the whole time, but it was fun to try out the Garden Room as well! Both rooms are tasteful and comfortably appointed, with every need addressed. Breakfasts were a feast of 3 courses--be prepared to skip lunch! Gary and Patti are charming and professional hosts, extremely helpful in guiding our sight seeing and dinner plans. One of the great pleasures was meeting the interesting people who were also guests, and sharing our discoveries of the Asheville area. Loved the location, too.

Room Tip: The desk in the Garden room is handy. The bathroom in the Mystic room is over-the-top luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. We had originally planned on staying in a hotel, but decided on a B&B because we wanted a different Asheville experience. We stayed in the Natural Mystic room which has beautiful white and cream linens, jacuzzi tub for two, and a cute little fireplace on the second floor of the three story house. The surrounding property if beautifully landscaped with several great photo-op spots and is pretty centrally located to anything one wishes to do in Asheville. Breakfast was amazing, three courses leaving us full until mid-afternoon.I will highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Thanks Gary and Patti!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Patti & Gary's bnb. They made us feel truely welcomed.

The common areas of the home were very comfortable - including the parlor, porch, and gardens - calling you to sit and relax.

We stayed in the DayDream Room at the top of the house, which shares a floor with 1 other room that sits in the attic. It has windows of all sizes and at all heights including 3 or 4 skylights - it was very bright and cheery to wake up in - just watch your head with the angled walls. The whirpool tub with handheld shower is in the room - no seperate shower in the bathroom- this room IS for a couple. We stayed for 3 nights - and my husband had to work from the room one of those days - this was a GREAT room for our needs. The room has a microwave, sink, minifridge, and coffee maker which was ideal during which time my husband had to work, as was the cute sitting area in one of the gables - where he was able to set up his laptop and use the wifi.

Breakfast has 1 seating - at 9 which consisted of muffins, fruit course, and a hot entree (mushroom egg benadict, egg bake with scallopped potatoes, and waffles) across the length of our stay - did not eat much for the rest of the day after that! They took my husband up his breakfast so he wouldn't miss out.

We'd previously decided that we didn't care much for bnbs where the owners did not live onsite, but this is the exception to the rule although they do not live onsite they are the ones serving the yummy breakfast they make when you come downstairs in the morning and they send you in the right direction for your day, and I'd say they're around the bnb through the afternoon until most have checked in - we made a last minute reservation just before we arrived at 7, and Gary came by to greet us and show us around - no envelope left with instructions at the door here!

As for location, this is in a beautiful neighborhood that is about 6 blocks from the visitor's center and a bit further to downtown. I don't beleive there are any BnBs downtown but there are a few in this neighborhood. We walked to a neighborhood restaurant Gary recommended around the corner the first night, and to the visitor's center, but we drove downtown when we weren't getting on/off the trolley which stops running before 5.

When in Asheville next, there's no question where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a room I wouldn't want to stay in - well off street in a residential neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcatmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Though not an experienced bed and breakfaster, I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere presented by At Cumberland Falls! The accomodations were very nice...I could have slept forever in the bed in our room. However, it was easy to rouse myself when awakened to the aroma of a delicious breakfast, prepared flawlessly and served in elegant surroundings. The room was spacious, and the spa tub was most relaxing. At Cumberland Falls will remain on my short list when I return to Asheville!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Hunsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn; a National Registry home in the Montford historic district. Waterfall and garden retreat within walking distance of downtown Asheville and 3 miles to Biltmore Estate. Every detail perfect, unparalleled service, candlelit gourmet breakfast, fresh flowers, home baked treats and "at day's end", you in snuggly robes curled up in front of a fireplace after a relaxing Jacuzzi. Free on site WIFI, cable and Flatscreen Television in most rooms. Life is good At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your At Cumberland Falls Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Cumberland Falls b&b Inn
At Cumberland Falls Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing