We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Inn !”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    83
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
261
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2006

Our recent stay at the Cedar Crest Inn was delightful. The owners and staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfasts, afternoon snacks and evening desserts were delicious and something to look forward to every day. Our room was very confortable and spotless. Dining recommendations were all outstanding. We would defintiely stay there again.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The entry to the driveway - tricky
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skokie, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for 5 nights in the Arts & Crafts cottage over the Thanksgiving holiday. The main house was beautiful and well kept, the cottage was quaint and comfortable with a great fireplace, and the staff and innkeepers were gracicous and accommodating. A highlight of each day was the lively and interesting conversation with the other guests while enjoying Bruce's breakfast creations. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.
MW

  • Liked — innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mkwideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2006

My husband, daughter, and I just returned from staying overnight at this B&B, and it was bad from the time we arrived until the time we left this morning. I called them to book the William Breese room and told them that we had a 4-year-old and asked what things might be fun to do with her. Ruby, an employee, suggested going to the Grove Park Inn to see the gingerbread display (which is where we were having our Thanksgiving dinner) and then later on that same day when we called to schedule a hot air balloon ride, I spoke with the actual innkeeper, Rita, and asked her who to schedule to balloon ride with because we had a 4-year-old, so she was aware that we had a child. When we arrived yesterday morning, my husband got out to check us in while my daughter and I waited in the car. He said that Rita looked as if she would have a heart attack when he told her that we had a child with us. She said that the type of guests who stay there do not want children around and that had she known we had a child, she would have suggested another place to stay. She suggested to him that we stay in their cottage which is a seperate building on the grounds. I agreed to compromise until we got to the cottage. The cottage was a run down house in the middle of a lower class neighborhood, a tv with rabbit ears, the tiny room smelled of must, and there were bugs in the drawers and the sink. I told my husband no way were we staying there. The room we booked in the b&b was $175.00 and Rita said we could stay in the cottage for $165.00. My husband went back to her and told her the cottage was subpar and that we were going to stay in the room we booked. We got in our room, changed clothes, and went to the Grove Park Inn and stayed there the rest of the day and evening. Cedar Crest is right on the main road, so it is not quiet at all, and there is no central heating and air and not even a ceiling fan, so you have to open the windows to get any sort of air, and then you hear the noise from the traffic and the bums shouting on the street. Thank goodness it was November and cool this time of year. I feel for the people who stay there in July! It is in a bad part of town, there were bugs in our sink and shower, and the hospitality was horrendous. Our child was very quiet and is well-bahaved anyway, and Rita told us that if she heard her that she would ask us to leave. After we returned from the Grove Park Inn around 8:30 pm, we all went to sleep while the other guests stayed up late, talking loudly and playing music. However, they were not asked to leave I am sure. We have never felt so uncomfortable anywhere before, and we will never stay there again. There is nothing to see or do there, and it is located right next to some run down homes with questionable people. Not at all what it looks like in the pictures. The fireplace in the room was just an old coal heater and the shower is the size of a tiny closet. If you weigh more than 200 pounds, you will not be able to fit into the shower. With so many b&b's to choose from, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Innkeeper
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank caroline10202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

The mansion has absolutely beautiful interiors that are both authentic and of the period. The rooms were comfortable and bathrooms up to date. The breakfast and afternoon desserts were sumptuous. We quite enjoyed the staff, they all were very accommodating and gracious. I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The furnishings and decor of the period 1890
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — it's a very sharp right turn in a car from the highway, the left is easier from the other direction
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

I wanted to write a review on the Cedar Crest Inn as soon as I returned home because all the reviews listed were from 2005. I like to read recent reviews as well as older reviews when I am searching for a place to stay and I am sure others feel the same. With that said, let me just say, this was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we picked the right spot! Rita, Bruce and the staff they are truly nice and caring. Every morning there is breakfast and the food melts in your mouth! Oh gosh on the way home I told my husband I can still taste the muffins on my lips. The room we stayed in was lovely and then everynight between 6 and 9 there is a desert. Wow! I loved it and I highly recommend it. My stay was a thousand times better than staying in a regular hotel. It's more personal and I like it better that way. So for my first experience with a bed and breakfast Cedar Crest receives a 10 out of 10.
Mrs. L. Sams

Helpful?
2 Thank LSams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cedar Crest Inn for the first, and hopefully not the last, time.

We don't usually stay in B&Bs so we were a little apprehensive. Because of this, we chose to stay in the guest cottage that is located behind the main victorian house. It was fantastic! We had so much privacy, yet we were able to enjoy the morning breakfasts and evening desserts in the main house (on the stunning veranda). The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and the property is stunning.

We fell in love with Asheville---the Inn is only minutes away from the downtown area. There are AMAZING restaurants in town by the way---Tupelo Honey and Early Girl are both outstanding.

The Cedar Crest Inn is a great romantic escape!

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — fake flowers in the rooms instead of fresh!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank buddyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#34 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Property: Cedar Crest Inn
Address: 674 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28803-2513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#18 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing