We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Intimate”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
509 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Romantic and Intimate”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and romantic Bed and Breakfast. Great personalized service. Wonderful wine, champaign and chocolate covered strawberries as well as cookies and muffins on arrival. Quaint, cozy room with a fireplace. Intimate sitting areas with fireplaces in the entrance and sitting rooms. Very good, fresh breakfast. The only negative was some noise from people walking up the stairs and talking and sirens going to and from the nearby hospital. But, overall, excellent!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    83
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
64
264
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This is our first stay here, and I would highly recommend it for B&B lovers. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. Really great breakfast. There was no request unanswered. Convenient location for Biltmore for couples or families with mature children. I will be staying here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dloubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stay at many B&Bs and this is truly one o the best that we have stayed at. The rooms are tastefully decorated. It is ideally located for those who want to visit the Biltmore House. We stayed the week before Christmas and it helped with the Christmas spirit by having beautiful decorations and playing traditional music in the sitting room. Afternoon, tea, wine pie and cookies were served and they were all good. Breakfast was fruit, muffins and an omlete, also very good. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only negative was that the beds were a little hard or our tastes. We'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

the hotel accommodations were top notch. only surpassed by the staff. we had a wonderful time there. and if any of you are interested in staying at a place that respects our environment, this is it. so do come and enjoy right in the heart of asheville.

Room Tip: the only room with a stand up shower and a kingsize bed is on the third floor. a trek but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our first time staying at this B&B and from the moment I saw it I was in love. The service was excellent and the room was quiet, cozy and very comfortable. We were not disappointed with any of the amenities and the location was ideal. Sabrina was very helpful in her suggestions of things to do. It was the perfect place for an amazingly romantic weekend! We will definitely add this one to our list of favorites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scflare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at this Bed & Breakfast Inn October 9 thru October 17,2013. (Our original reservation was for three nights.) The Staff was very friendly, the service was impecable, and the breakfast they serve is wonderful. The rooms are very well furnished and the mattress is comfortable. The location is GREAT and convenient to all parts of town. Guys if your wife wants to stay in a pink B&B I recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are looking for privacy "The Stables" is your ticket. It has a washer and dryer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bic740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohler, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The wait staff was very attentive! Sabrina was very inviting when she met us at the door upon our arrival and every time we encountered her at the house. The house is an amazing example of 19th century construction and the finish work details are exemplary. Each wood panel is placed with precision to create an impeccably warm and comfortable escape from the busy, and sometimes noisy, Biltmore Drive only steps away. We spent much of our time exploring the city and little time lounging about the house, but were thoroughly impressed with the space. Our stay was four days, from Sunday to Thursday, and we stayed in the Queen Anne room. The room was spacious and furnished with what appeared to be original furniture. The modern gas fireplace was a nice addition to the room even though the weather was too warm to use it. A king size bed is a requirement for our travel and this is the only room in the main house with a bed this size. The mattress was comfortable and the blankets made of quality materials. The sheets were soft, but had the distinct unpleasant, antiseptic smell of bleach that I would associate with a large chain hotel. The bathroom looked lovely, but was not comfortable and lacked space and amenities I would have expected. The free standing bath tub is a nice touch and time appropriate for the house construction period, but the temperature controls lacked refined adjustment and the shower seemed to be a handyman add on. I am six foot tall and could look down at the top of the showerhead. The wrap around shower curtain was shoulder height and always touching the occupant regardless of position or attempt to maneuver away from it. The towels were soft and clean but also smelled of bleach. The room was outfitted with a free standing air conditioner, but when running was so loud I imagined myself lying in bed in the middle of airport tarmac.
Breakfast was not served until 8:30am, but there was always a basket of fresh fruit and a plate of pastries available for guests. A small coffee pot was placed in the dining room for early riser's caffeine needs. When breakfast is in the title of the facility you're staying, a reasonable expectation can be drawn that you will be, at minimum, served a mid-range restaurant quality breakfast. I am not a gourmet chef, but proficient in the kitchen and very disappointed with the Cedar Crest's offerings. A disappointing fruit cup starts the meal, followed by an oily muffin baked from a boxed mixture. Our first two morning's entrees were runny scrambled eggs and sausage, which could have been substituted with jerky. We chose to skip our third morning breakfast and had a delightful breakfast at the Tupelo Honey Cafe (highly recommended) in downtown Asheville. Our last morning we decided that since we had paid for both the bed and breakfast that we should at least try the breakfast and were slightly more impressed with scrambled eggs mixed with mushroom, peppers, and onion, and a single strip of bacon. The breakfast left much to be desired and is certainly not what I would prepare for myself if they had allowed me to cook. I honestly would have bought my own groceries if I could have access to the kitchen.
There is a rack of brochures in the vestibule with all the appropriate tourist maps and happenings in the city, and the staff was eager and willing to provide information as needed. Two large binders filled with the city's restaurant menus can be found on the coffee table in front of the grand fireplace and this greatly helped in making meal decisions.
I thought the price ($275 per night) was a bit steep, but finding lodging in Asheville during this time of year (October) any cheaper than this will not be fruitful.
I had pictured the owners of the bed an breakfast pleasantly chatting with guests in the sitting rooms in the evening, but they were nowhere to be found during our stay. Complimentary wine was offered in the evenings, but the wine choices were limited to the Barefoot brand winery. Most of the other guests were very pleasant and what the breakfast lacked, we made up for conversation at the breakfast table.
Overall, our stay was nice, but there is not much that will draw me back the Cedar Crest in the future. There is plenty of other architecture, and astounding woodwork, to be found elsewhere in the city and I'm willing to bet I can find the same nostalgia elsewhere with some modern touches.
I had the opportunity to speak with Drew, the owner of the Cedar Crest Inn, after forwarding this review to him and he was very cordial and apologetic about the shortcomings of breakfast and the linens. He said he has already addressed some of the issues I listed above and I hope that future patrons will not have the same few instances of unpleasant hospitality we encountered.

Room Tip: The Queen Anne room is very pretty. If you are taller than 5'9", the bath/shower will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville Biltmore Village
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#32 of 65 in Asheville
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#21 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Property: Cedar Crest Inn
Address: 674 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28803-2513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#17 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing