We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Inn at a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Save
You added Cedar Crest Inn to your Saves list
674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was easy to find the Inn with the direction we where given, right on Biltmore Ave. Close to the Biltmore Estate and some great restaurants in walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helped us with planing our stay in Ashville. The home made breakfast was outstanding the rooms very nicely furnished and very clean. We had tea and coffie available and also complimentary wine and snacks. Overall a great B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms in the carriage house are further away from the street and therefor quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ungerhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    75
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
236
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just a couple of blocks from Biltmore Village, Biltmore House and I-40, as well as being just a 10 minute drive from downtown. I stayed in the “Carriage House” cabin off of the mains house, which offered a little more privacy than the main house, and allowed you more control over the temperature and audio systems. The main house has three fireplaces (one in the dining room, and one each in two first floor sitting rooms) that you can control. The Carriage House had its own fireplace and kitchen. The customer service was great, and did their best to accommodate special requests. No complaints here! Well, just one: they need to change the external color from pink to something else. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I researched various B&Bs for our last-minute trip to Asheville for our anniversary. I booked the Carriage House room #3 the evening before we left for a 7-hour drive to Asheville. We left home at 5am, and it wasn't until almost noon before the innkeeper called us to tell us there was one "small hitch".

It was that we had our 7 month old son staying with us, and the Cedar Crest Inn doesn't accept children under 10. We were told that since we were already on the way, they would make an "exception" and allow us to stay in the Cabin Room #1, which was private from all the other guests. That's fine, we like privacy, but they offered us a higher rate for that room which I was hesitant to pay. And when I asked about breakfast in the main house, which is an important part of a B&B experience, I was told that they would bring us out a "breakfast tray".

Obviously they were trying to maintain the "romantic" environment for other guests, but there's nothing unromantic about a family. Our son is very quiet, and likely makes less noise than most adults staying at the inn, and we are respectful people who would never let our son's cries be a nuisance to other guests. We were so incredibly offended that we would be treated like such outsiders at the inn during our stay just for the fact that we had our child with us, that we could not give our money to the Cedar Crest.

Had that policy been listed anywhere on the website or through the reservation process, we wouldn't have wasted our time planning to go here, and could have made prior arrangements with another B&B or hotel before we left. Instead, we had to find accommodations once we arrived in Asheville which was stressful for my wife.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
18 Thank AnonymousFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarcrestinn, Owner at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
The reviewer never had a confirmed reservation with us. They had submitted a reservation “request” which was never confirmed. We do requests only online to avoid exactly this. We reserve the right to refuse business to anyone. We do not permit young children under the age of 10 at our inn which is stated on our website. They are upset because their opinion differs from our policies, which is not a substantial argument. The review is written by the husband who we never interacted with, I know this because his last statement on the review is the following… “Instead, we had to find accommodations once we arrived in Asheville which was stressful for my wife.” The claims in this are false, we offered her a complimentary upgrade to another room that we could permit a child in and she declined. She also threatened that if we did not give her the room she wanted for cheaper because of her inconvenience she would write bad reviews everywhere… That is illegal and considered blackmail. Seeing that the reviewer was never a paying customer and never had a confirmed reservation, the review was written by someone else other than the person we briefly dealt with and they illegally threatened us with blackmail I kindly request that everyone takes their extremist ways and disregards this "review."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had hoped for a beautiful fall weekend in Asheville, but were there when Superstorm Sandy made her presence known. We did visit the Biltmore Estate but it was too cold for us to wander the town. The Inn proved a comfortable respite: blazing fire in the main room and a cozy fireplace in our bedroom (upgraded thanks to a tripadvisor coupon). The hostess also provided us with a space heater in the room and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The breakfasts were good but we weren't offered in any choices in our selections. There was coffee, dessert, and wine available each day until 8 PM. Our hostess also recommended restaurants two nights in a row, each worthy of the recommendation. We are sure if the weather had been nicer we would have enjoyed the welcoming porch as wll.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street but we were not bothered by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Cedar Crest Inn. Very comfortable, authentic, great breakfast and wonderful innkeepers. The Inn's preservation is amazing for a place over 100 years old. Centrally located to Biltmore Village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sitting in it's own grounds this beautiful looking house has real character. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, complimentary coffee, cookies and wine certainly helps the warm welcome. Our room was a victorian style which made a great change from the bland main street motels. You are a 5 minute walk (yes a walk, there are side walks here in Asheville) from the Biltmore Village which is all 1890 vintage and has all the best bars and restaurants. Loved this place, would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Why would anyone stay in a hotel when you can be in a beautiful historic house such as this! The interior of the main house is beautifully restored. I stayed in one of the guest cottage house rooms separate from the main house. It was charming, cozy, safe and private. The grounds are nice to wander and sit with a glass of wine (or two!). Breakfast was over the top every morning. The wrap around porch is one of the most relaxing places to rest after a long day of sightseeing, and is beautifully lit at night. The Inn's location is superb. Close to Biltmore estate and a short easy drive right up Biltmore Ave. into downtown Asheville. I cannot say enough about the wonderful, friendly, helpful staff here. Thank you Sabrina for making me feel welcomed and right at home there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepOnTruckin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#2 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#13 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.9 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#30 of 60 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Property: Cedar Crest Inn
Address: 674 Biltmore Ave., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#18 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Crest Inn is Asheville's premiere Inn offering the best in.(1) Value (2) Location: Literally the best location in town! We are just 2 turns or less from nearly everything Asheville has to offer... Downtown - 1 turn and 1.2 miles away! The Biltmore Estate - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! The Biltmore Village - 2 turns and only 3 blocks away! Downtown Asheville - 1 turn and only 1.2 miles away! The River Arts District - 2 turns and only 1.5 miles away! The Blue Ridge Parkway - 1 turn and only 3 miles away! (3) FREE Amenities included in EVERY stay: - A three course served breakfast. - A glass of wine in the evening. - An abundance of locally made desserts. - Fast Wi-Fi. - On site parking. (4) Well Reviewed: - We have remained in the top ten in Asheville hotels on Tripadvisor for years now. - We have been awarded with tripadvisors certificate of excellence every year they have given the award. - We have been voted year after year the most romantic hotel in Asheville. - We were named the hotel in Asheville to stay in on The Today Show in 2014. - We were featured on Good Morning America in 2012. - We have been featured in USA Today, Inns Magazine, Southern Living, Style Magazine and so many more. (5) Come stay where the celebrities stay: We have been fortunate enough to host multiple Grammy winning artists, famous actors from some of today's hottest shows on Television as well as timeless movies and we have even served as the main shoot location for a recent reality TV show. (6) Service: Nobody will offer you more honest and sincere service than we do here at the Cedar Crest Inn. We never put business relationships, financial gain or anything above providing our guests with the best local tips on where to eat, visit and hang out. We provide the perfect balances between authenticity and professionalism as well as hands on service and non evasiveness. BOTTOM LINE is if the pictures don't lure you in, our reputation doesn't convince you or these words don't sell you on this being the best choice in accommodations for your Asheville trip than you need to give us a call and allow us the opportunity to show you what makes us the most unique and ideal choice for lodging in Asheville and all of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1891 Cedar Crest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing