We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing first B&B Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Amazing first B&B Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Where do I even begin! This was my first bed and breakfast experience, and now I think I will never go back to regular hotels. The location of the B&B was great- in the historic Montford district and within walking distance to the bus stop. The food was absolutely to die for. Each breakfast was a masterpiece with such unique touches, like cold peach soup and an amazingly light egg souffle. The owners mentioned they shopped at the local farmers market & it definitely showed! We stayed in the Gold Finch room and our bathroom was amazing with a soaking tub and separate luxurious shower. After check-in we were surprised to find a spread of hors d'oeurves and wine welcoming us before we went out for dinner. It included pancetta and cantaloupe skewers, chocolate covered almonds, and cheeses. This is offered nightly and is a great way to start your evening. We enjoyed talking with James about his travels and taking his recommendations for dinner while watching the sunset on the large front porch. Through the back door of the inn there is a terrace with grape vines and a zen garden with a fountain. When we thought this B&B couldn't get any better, James slipped printed directions under our door to the restaurant where we told him we had reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
487
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

My husband and I went to Asheville for the first time for a weekend getaway and we chose Carolina Bed and Breakfast because of the good reviews and the good price. The reviews were absolutely right: the place is charming, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect. The owners, James and Susan, really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The breakfasts were amazing and we really enjoyed the happy hour with appetizers and wine each evening. We stayed in the Miss Webb room which was the least expensive of all the rooms. It was plenty big and the bed was really comfortable. There were so many nice details at this B&B--like robes hanging in our closet to dessert waiting for us in our room each night. And the owners were also very helpful in pointing us where to go and what to do in Asheville. We had a great time at restaurants and at the Biltmore but I kept telling my husband, "I just want to go back to our B&B and relax!"

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Writinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This lovely B&B is within a 10-15 min. walk of downtown. Fabulous lodging, food, and hospitality. Very reasonably priced. Owners Jim and Susan offered great suggestions, interesting history on the town, and lots of personal touch. Susan does an amazing job at breakfast, utilizing international influences from their worldwide experiences. We chose this inn so that we would have a home away from home and we were not disappointed. We felt very comfortable relaxing, reading, and utilizing the wi-fi, but the location made it easy to get out and "do" when we were ready to do so. It was the perfect bed & breakfast experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelATLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Our stay at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast was wonderful! James and Susan were exceptional hosts and fascinating people. We really enjoyed getting to know them. The B&B was beautiful with well appointed, large rooms. Our room (Hummingbird) had a great gas fireplace which made things very cozy. Finally, the breakfasts and afternoon snacks were amazing. The pear/goat cheese tart was amazing and could only be topped by the mango upside down bread pudding. We will be returning to this awesome B&B in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

My Partner and I checked into the inn on December 28th, after having driven in form Savannah. We had spent two nights there on our way up from our hometown of Miami. I had been advised by the owners that they would be on holiday and that Sara would be taking care of us.

I cannot say enough about Sara! She is extremely professional, an amazing cook, and very good at running a bed and breakfast! When we arrived, she informed us that our room was ready and gave us a brief rundown on the where everything was etc.

Our room was the Hummingbird Room which was immaculately clean, and very spacious. We had a remote control fireplace which I thought was pretty cool. The bathroom as well was very clean and spacious with two chairs, and a beautiful claw foot tub with shower. The room includes a four poster bed, a vanity, and more than enough drawer space for two people.

The main points at this inn are the value for your money and the food! Oh, the food! To begin with, every night a special dessert is left in your room. We stayed there four nights and returned to triple chocolate chip cookies one night, oatmeal cranberry cookies another, frosted chocolate brownies yet another and, peanut butter chocolate bars for our last night, New Year's eve! This is such a simple gesture, but such a thoughtful one and we truly enjoyed it!

In the evenings, we also took part in the complimentary cocktail hour with appetizers. This really gave us a great chance to meet our fellow guests, enjoy wine from the Biltmore Estate as well as the delicious appetizers which Sara prepared nightly. On the topic of food, I must speak about the breakfasts! Each morning we awoke to fresh coffee and classical music playing in the very stately dining room. Breakfast ranged from vegetable quiche one day, to apple butter filled French toast another. There were always two courses, the first one usually being some sort of fresh fruit.

All in all, I must say this was a wonderful experience, and I will definitely return! Asheville is a wonderful city, and it can only be enhanced by staying here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiaguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smallblondemom, Owner at Carolina Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. We think very highly of Sara. She is one of the only people we trust to keep the Carolina running to a very high standard when we are absent. It is delightful to hear that our trust is well-placed. Hopefully you will return sometime and James and I can meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Cottage in early December for her birthday. The cottage is a separate building from the main house so we had a lot of privacy. The evening social times in the main house are nice as we got to meet most of the other guests. We also really enjoyed breakfast both of the mornings that we were in the home. On Sunday morning, we had breakfast delivered to the room (only available for the cottage). Even though it was very cold and snowing, James had no problem bringing us all courses that were still piping hot.

All in all we had a great experience and would definitely recommend Carolina BB to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mthompson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark Valley, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

James and Susan where outstanding hosts/owners of this wonderful B&B. The room, the house and the breakfast was top notch. We are not easily impressed but found ourselves thoroughly delighted with all aspects of our stay. They were very helpful in guiding us to the best sites and experiences of Asheville. A late afternoon wine and Hors d'oeuvres were relaxing and classy. Recommend the home and owners and a top place to stay.
Thanks James and Susan!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vb19vb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing