We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hosts, great food. Excellent experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great location, great hosts, great food. Excellent experience.”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Innkeepers Susan and James have done an amazing job taking ownership of Carolina Bed & Breakfast. This was my first time to the Carolina bed & breakfast, but about my 10th time to Asheville. The experience I had here surpassed all of my previous trips. The combination of the amazing location with the lively conversation and attentiveness from the hosts made it an unforgettable experience. From a review perspective: perfectly clean rooms, great food (don't know how Susan does it all!), walking distance to downtown, well-kept backyard area, beautiful front porch area for sitting. Couldn't be more pleased.

Chalk this up as a must see in NC!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammerWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
505
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I took a mini road trip with my 10 year old son from Augusta to Charlotte. The highlight of the trip was our weekend in Asheville, in part due to our stay at the Carolina B&B. The room was perfect and the setting was great. The bed and breakfast is near to a many local attractions, either on foot or by car. Even though it was in the middle of summer, the Carolina B&B had enough shade around it to hangout outside and watch the world go by.

Our room was spacious and comfortable with an incredibly cozy bed.

Susan and James did a wonderful job of making us feel at home. They have done a wonderful job with the decor and and the breakfasts were fantastic.

If you ever go to Asheville, I would recommend staying here. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is a fairly new B&B and it shows. Not sure they are trying very hard either (yikes) With so many to choose from in Asheville I just simply wouldn't stay here again. We have stayed in much better places.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ArtLover335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smallblondemom, Owner at Carolina Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
James and I are very sorry to learn that you were not happy with your stay here. To date, feedback has been very positive and we are working very hard to make the Carolina Bed & Breakfast a special experience for all our guests. We would be most grateful if the reviewer would take a few minutes to call us on our toll-free number, 1-888-254-3608, to discuss specifics so that we can address your issues. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Perfect hosts, perfect house, perfect room, perfect fellow travelers, perfect breakfast, perfect happy hour, and perfect neighborhood. I picked this B&B because I wanted to be able to walk to some restaurants and trolley plus the rooms looked great on their website. The front porch is wonderful place to sit and watch all the adults/dogs out walking and babies getting fresh air in their strollers. Thank you James and Susan for taking such good care of me.....Jan in Florida

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetgrits1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

A unique feature of this B&B is the cottage. We booked it for our 17th wedding anniversary and were delighted by the appointments in our cozy weekend retreat. With Asheville within walking distance, we literally parked the car and never needed to get back into it until we left. With a gourmet breakfast of 2 courses prepared by Susan served by James, our hosts, and an early evening wine and hors deourves with the other guests, I hardly wanted anything else to eat while I was there, but I did force myself to a Mellow Mushroom pizza and few other restaurants in Asheville. The B&B was so good, even thought we were there during Bele Chere, we have decided to go back, with or without the festival. This will be one of our traditional B&B destinations, it ranks with the best of them!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ablubyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Carolina Inn was our home base for a recent 2 night, 3 day trip to Asheville. The house is well located in the historic Montford district but on a quiet street. You are an easy 10 minute walk from downtown and all the attractions. The rooms are beautifully appointed as well as being enhanced by the owners' personal art collection. Breakfasts were delicious and creative (first course of fresh berries on puff pastry with goat and marscapone cheese and a drizzle of honey was delicous!) and afternoon appetizers were creative and equally pleasing (homemade parmesan/pepper crackers!). The front porch was a lovely place to sit with wine or coffee, checking emails (yes, even on vacation) with the Inn's high-speed internet or watching neighbors walk by.
Susan and James are warm, helpful and interesting people and world travelers and are delighted to share information about Asheville, the house when you ask them. This would be an easy place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Since this was our first B&B experience, my wife and I were very hesitant. However, after arriving to a beautiful home and such a warm welcome, we were thoroughly pleased. We have already told all of our friends and family about it. Thanks so much for making our stay so wonderful. We will definitely be back!
-The Wingate Family
Florence, SC

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cawingate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
757 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
212 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing