We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place To Stay In Asheville NC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the perfect Bed and Breakfast. Everything was better then we expected from the location, to the quaint front porch, to the comfortable Victorian room to the delicious food. The location was so great we didn't have to fight traffic to get into town or to the tour trollies, we could simply walk everywhere. Susan and James are the best hosts, who have a lot to offer from wine/appetizers in the evening, to a fabulous breakfast in the morning. They are the best hosts. It is on the top of our "Must Go See" recommendations list.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Carolina Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 661 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

Both my wife and I are seasoned travelers who have stayed in some of the nicest (and some which were not so nice) places in the world. We found the Carolina Inn Bed and Breakfast on the internet and from the ease of registration through check-out this was one of the most pleasant and memorable travel experiences we have ever had. The inn itself is a stately, well furnished immaculate period home. The guest rooms are spacious and most comfortable with plush bedding and bathroom amenities. Our hosts James and Susan Murray were warm, friendly and went out of their way to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Susan is an accomplished chef and her breakfasts and afternoon "snacks" were exceptional. The grounds around the inn are well cared for and repleat with a wide array of flowers and foulage. There is abundant off street private parking and personal security is never an issue. The inn is located in a quite neighborhood within easy walking distance to downtown Ashville and just a short drive to all the other area sights. Without reservation we recommend the Carolina Inn bed and breakfast and look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdutko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This place is terrific! It's within walking distance of downtown Asheville yet tucked away in a quiet, classic neighborhood. It's also two blocks from one of the best restaurants in the city, 9 Mile. We stayed three days and breakfast was awesome every day. Also, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the evenings on the porch provided a great opportunity to meet the other guests. Susan and James Murray are great hosts. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneTJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Loved the cottage. It was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious as well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdentJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed over a long weekend at the B&B and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Asheville. Great location, within a walking distance of all kinds of restaurants and bars, and within a driving distance of beautiful parks. The innkeepers were fantastic, warm, and welcoming people who were able to share great stories and provide a wonderful experience. We would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Our stay at the Carolina B&B was excellent. The clean, charming room, extremely comfortable bed, truly gourmet breakfasts, afternoon wine and appetizers, location conducive to walking, fresh baked cookies in the evening, and friendly hosts all worked together to make this a lovely visit in Ashville. It seems the hosts thought of everything that would make our stay special. We would definitely recommend the Carolina B&B to anyone traveling to the Ashville area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We recently had a 2 night stay at this B and B - and really enjoyed ourselves. We were greeted on the first day after a long day of travel and house hunting with an offer of wine - and found some fresh cookies in our room - nice. We had emailed about our vegetarian diet - and Susan did a great job presenting breakfasts and afternoon snacks we could eat. The grounds were very nice - and we had some peaceful time on the front porch screen. Great location - easy walk to downtown, and right around the corner from a favorite restaurant - 9 Mile (which everyone should visit!).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikenology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
258 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
229 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $253 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing