We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint inn with extremely caring owners (and great food too)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My girlfriend and I recently enjoyed our Valentine's Day Weekend at the Carolina Bed and Breakfast in Asheville, NC. All aspects of our visit were great and the owners and staff were extremely attentive and caring. The rooms were great and the inn was extremely well-kept (and I hear additional renovations will be coming soon!). While I don't usually have three-course breakfasts, after this visit, I'm considering taking another look at my morning routines.

The city of Asheville has something for everyone and we even stumbled upon a Mardi Gras festival right in the middle of town! The town was within walking distance of the inn and offered many different dining options. We had both quiet and lively dinners and the shopping was great as well.

I would highly recommend a stay here for anyone interested in a cozy and unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicago8154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Carolina Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 661 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

A really nice little b&b just a minute or two from downtown, nestled in a nice, quiet neighborhood. The owner was very nice, and the room was great. Very comfy bed and beautiful bathroom with a whirlpool tub for two. And a fireplace in the room! Didn't get up in time for breakfast, but the whole house smelled delicious when I woke up. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph78671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We found the B&B to be very pleasant experience!

Sara (The Inn Keeper) was very pleasant and helpful. She provided maps, recommendations, and great service. She made us feel so welcome and at home. I can't say enough good things about her. She cooks a wonderful Breakfast. It was different both mornings, but equally as good. I loved she always had nuts, cookies, or chocolate available to satisfy any cravings.

Sara served us wine in the evenings by the fireplace. It was a perfect way to get ready for a nice dinner. The B&B was only a short cab drive or nice walk from many dinner choices. After Dinner we came back and relaxed by the fireplace again before retiring to Great beds. I loved they didn't skimp on the mattresses. Once in bed the glow of the in room fireplace put me to sleep. I slept like a baby:-) In the morning we were greeted by the smell of coffee and A wonderful Breakfast. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Located only a few minute's drive from downtown Asheville, this bed and breakfast is a great value and a wonderful and cozy place to spend your time in Western North Carolina. The bed and breakfast reserved our tickets for Biltmore,recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner, and even gave brought water to our rooms during our first night's stay. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Our room, the Mockingbird room, was large enough for two people with lots of luggage, and the bathroom was perfectly sized and extremely clean. My only complaint is that apparently not enough people know about this place, because it is great!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyleford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed in the Robin’s Nest room over the Thanksgiving weekend, from Friday to Sunday, and had a lovely time. The Inn Manager, Sarah, was a warm and unobtrusive hostess and her breakfast offerings were bountiful, creative, and delicious each day. Breakfast was a highlight of our trip on both days.

Our room was small and cozy and out of the way, which is just what we were looking for. The bed was plush and there is a great corner gas fireplace that kept the room toasty. The shower in the en-suite bathroom has strong water pressure, which is always a plus.

We were very pleased that the inn was such a short walk away from downtown and enjoyed strolling through the historic neighborhood on our way into town. We would book another stay at The Carolina House with no reservations.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DecaturMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed in the Appalachian cottage, which was adorable! The pictures do not do it justice - it is large, well decorated and luxurious. The daily breakfast was fantastic and we truly enjoyed the wine in the afternoon.

It is nestled in an cute neighborhood and is VERY close to downtown - you can walk everywhere. The innkeeper was helpful with restaurant recommendations.

This place is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erincamellal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The first impression upon walking in to the Carolina B&B is one of warmth and welcome. The house is delightfully decorated with items that are representative of reflect the history of the building as well as places where Susan and David have lived.
This first impression is confirmed as you experience that small touches that make all the difference: a comfortable and spacious room, finding cookies on the dresser, "help yourself" soda and water in the refrigerator near the kitchen, outstanding breakfasts in the dining room, "cocktail hour" nibbles in one of the front rooms and so on.
Sara was our housekeeper and host. She was marvellous; helpful with information etc. when needed but unobstrusive at the same time.
The "must stay connected" will appreciate the wireless internet access throughout the house.
Downtown Asheville is a pleasant 15 to 20 minute walk away through a residential area.
We will definitely stay at the Carolina B&B again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlchemyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
258 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
229 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $253 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing